132 Reviews

Absolutely marvellous! Like Dorothy, I've stayed away from Alfredo sauces because they're usually so heavy. I used this recipe as a side with a German Pasta dish, and it was great! The only problem I had was: Since I'd scaled it down to 1 serving (there's always a limit to how much you can scale a recipe!) and was probably too "patient" while cooking, the sauce turned out a bit too thick and I had to "loosen" it up a bit with some extra milk. But I'm definitely going to try this one again... it's a sure winner!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu November 26, 2001

This is good !! Love Alfredo but it is usually so heavy in calories. I put it over linguine and added some chopped black olives on top, also sprinkled some more parmesan on top. Used 2% milk, didn't have 1%. A very good supper, thank-you Jellybean, it will be a repeat!! Dorothy

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf October 05, 2001

I lost my low fat Alfredo recipe and was glad to have seen this one! Sooo much better than mine! This recipe doubled very easily. You can't tell at all that it's low fat! Unbelievable! The only thing it needed was salt. I served this over chicken and Penne with spinach.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara March 06, 2003

I followed this recipe and it was tasteless. I was very disappointed. I added some salt and a little bit more cheese thinking that would help. It didn't. Maybe adding more garlic would help. I would not recommend this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MMoore6765 January 31, 2011

This was good but not as good as I was hoping based on reviews. I followed the recipe very closely, the only difference was adding an extra tablespoon of parmesan. My husband was a bit disappointed because he loves alfredo dishes (the full fat kind). I give this recipe an A for simplicity, having ingredients on hand, and easy to follow directions for a new cook. The taste only gets about a B-. I ended up throwing some extra parmesan and some mozzerella into my dinner bowl and microwaving it for 30 seconds to get some extra cheesiness/flavor. The recipe is a keeper though.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmt425 August 30, 2010

sorry to leave a low rating, we just didn't think this was very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama October 22, 2008

OK, let's be real here. This is basically a bechamel sauce that is a very useful basis for many different dishes. For example, add some sherry and you have a great sauce for tetrazzini. Add cheddar and you have the sauce to bake a macaroni and cheese. As an alfredo sauce it leaves much to be desired. Maybe because it doesn't have the chance to bake into a dish? Having said that I'll probably make it again because I wanted a lower fat version of the classic. yes, it is smooth, but not "creamy" (unless I let it cook too long? In any case, I added a pinch of fresh nutmeg, lot of pepper and lots of additional parmesan. I ate it with linguini and sauteed shrimp. As I said, it wasn't bad, but it fell short of the expectations I had from the other reviews.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evil Genius January 28, 2007

Really great sauce! You can't even tell it was low fat. I cooked the base for three minutes without the cheese and it came out the perfect texture just like sauce from a jar! I did add some minced garlic to the butter at the beginning and some Italian seasoning. I did discover that it was not a very good texture (it still tasted good) when warmed up. Next time I will cut the recipe in half as to not have leftovers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colleencaffey January 18, 2016

My kids helped create this sauce(11). Love the idea of Skim vs heavy cream. We are a house of Athletes but still have a full flavour palatte. We added Fresh Basil and skipped the Pepper for a more Kid friendly experience.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigWylie December 07, 2015

This recipe didnt work out so well for me so i had to improvise and change everything, but thank you though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda A. November 19, 2015
Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce