Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2001

      Absolutely marvellous! Like Dorothy, I've stayed away from Alfredo sauces because they're usually so heavy. I used this recipe as a side with a German Pasta dish, and it was great! The only problem I had was: Since I'd scaled it down to 1 serving (there's always a limit to how much you can scale a recipe!) and was probably too "patient" while cooking, the sauce turned out a bit too thick and I had to "loosen" it up a bit with some extra milk. But I'm definitely going to try this one again... it's a sure winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2001

      This is good !! Love Alfredo but it is usually so heavy in calories. I put it over linguine and added some chopped black olives on top, also sprinkled some more parmesan on top. Used 2% milk, didn't have 1%. A very good supper, thank-you Jellybean, it will be a repeat!! Dorothy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      I lost my low fat Alfredo recipe and was glad to have seen this one! Sooo much better than mine! This recipe doubled very easily. You can't tell at all that it's low fat! Unbelievable! The only thing it needed was salt. I served this over chicken and Penne with spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I followed this recipe and it was tasteless. I was very disappointed. I added some salt and a little bit more cheese thinking that would help. It didn't. Maybe adding more garlic would help. I would not recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      This was good but not as good as I was hoping based on reviews. I followed the recipe very closely, the only difference was adding an extra tablespoon of parmesan. My husband was a bit disappointed because he loves alfredo dishes (the full fat kind). I give this recipe an A for simplicity, having ingredients on hand, and easy to follow directions for a new cook. The taste only gets about a B-. I ended up throwing some extra parmesan and some mozzerella into my dinner bowl and microwaving it for 30 seconds to get some extra cheesiness/flavor. The recipe is a keeper though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      sorry to leave a low rating, we just didn't think this was very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      I made this to go over a chicken and veggie Alfredo dish I made up. I didn't have cream or cream cheese and didn't feel like a run to the grocery store. I made with 2% milk since that is what I had on hand. I added in some dried parsley, oregano and basil to the flour, and used a bit more minced garlic in my butter roux. The extra spices add some flavor and helped me from adding more salt, which I need to stay away from. I liked this so much better than the rich Alfredo sauces, as did my son and even my husband. I believe this will be my go to Alfredo recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2014

      My review is long overdue. Sorry :( I've used the Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce many times. The last time was with Zucchini Noodles Low-Carb (#341916) It was another "perfect match". The sauce deserves more than 5 stars & I would give them, if I could. It has also replaced my standard white sauce recipe because of: easy making, dependable texture, taste, flexibility of use, (Add a spice or topping such as chopped parsley, chives, spring onion or your choice) and low fat and low carbs. Hubby is a Diabetic. We have had to change lifestyle and "diet"! Thank You PrincessCalynn for helping us to make "Low Fat" & "Low Carb" easier to do and still taste great. PS: I use 2% milk. All I have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      Amazing to say the least.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      I made this in the same pan that I sauteed the mushrooms in, and added onion powder and garlic powder to it with a little cayenne pepper for a kick. It was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2013

      Delicious!! My husband said that it was very good about 5 times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      I tried this recipe for the first time. I was definitely impressed. We only drink skim milk so I used that. I especially heeded the direction to make this recipe slowly and even using skim milk it became nice and thick. Next time I try this I do want to add salt, more parmesan and more garlic. My husband loves alfredo sauce so this is a great alternative, that as many others said, did not sit in our stomachs like a lump! It only made enough for us two, so if you are serving more people, you might want to double or triple the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I just made this and it was ridiculously good. I would never guess it was low fat if I hadn't cooked it myself. I added a little more garlic and parmesan, used lemon pepper and a dash of hot sauce and served it over linguine and shrimp topped with fresh basil. Thank you so much for posting this. I love alfredo sauce and I usually don't care about fat content, but i hate feeling like I ate a bag of rocks and like i need a nap after I eat. Right now I just feel satisfied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      This was really good and easy to make. I followed the recipe as written other then I went a bit heavier with the parmesan cheese. I also used 2% milk instead of 1% as that is what I buy. We all enjoyed this. I used this in Ruby Tuesday's New Orleans Seafood - Copycat

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      We started out with every intention of making this low-fat. Then we bought some goat's milk to make cheese and found that it was ultra-pasteurized and couldn't be used to make cheese. So we used it for this recipe and, while it was not low-fat, it was DELICIOUS!!! We used this in a lobster lasagna recipe that was just fabulous. Thanks so much for posting this. I'll never buy bottled alfredo sauce again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      I absolutely love this sauce!!!!! I have used this many times already. My favorite way is as a pizza sauce, with chicken breast and spinach as toppings! My family couldn't get enough! Thank you for this amazing sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      Very good sauce! I avoid alfredo sauce because it's so unhealthy and I never feel good after eating it. I thought I would give this a try and it turned out rich and creamy without it leaving me feeling weighed down. Looking forward to trying it to top spaghetti squash. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      I've made this twice now. The first time, I let the milk mixture thicken too much, which made the "sauce" pretty floury and almost, stiff, for lack of a better word. This time, with that experience to work on, I barely let the milk sit at all before adding the cheese. (This could have something to do with the fact that I'm cooking on a gas stove.) Now that I know how to do it right, this recipe is really easy, simple, and tasty. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      For a lighter version of alfredo sauce, this was good. I used 2% milk and about twice the butter and flour. I just added milk sporadically every few minutes as the sauce thickened while I was preparing the rest of the meal. A cream-based alfredo often tastes too rich. This was a nice alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Great base, what i use as usual aside from heavy whipping cream vs milk, i didn't even know what i was making originally was reduced fat?? I always use milk if i have no heavy whipping cream, although I was kind of saddened because the milk for some reason made the sauce sweet, even following the recipe to the T. Even after adding, salt, pepper, more salt, onion powder, garlic, more garlic, AND lemon juice it has no bite at all, not the usual twang you get from Parmesan. An I personally could not taste even the slightest hint of Parmesan from the original recipe so the 3 tbsp. Turned into more like 1 cup of grated cheese x_X??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reduced Fat Alfredo Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.2
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    59%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 17.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 122.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites