Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Reduced-Calorie Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Reduced-Calorie Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2011

      Omg I loved this 5star rating for me

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Great recipe. I actually found it on bhg.com and was going to type it up here when I found this. I substituted sugar with the same amount of brown sugar (no health benefits, just what I had) and it added a nice, caramel-y dimension to the recipe. I also sprinkled the top with chopped walnuts before baking. Came out fantastic! Thanks for adding this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      Used the 3/4 cup of splenda and it almost glued my teeth together, I also subsituted the oil with the apple sauce. I should have taken Barb's advise and just use 1/4 cup of splenda. Will try the next time. I liked the texture of it, didnt have no cinnamon and will certainly try that next time too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I LOVE banana bread, but it's not very Weight Watchers friendly, which the diet of choice for my husband and I. This recipe was a great base, but I used whole wheat flour, used only 2 Tbls. of oil and instead upped the banana to 1 1/2 cups, I used Splenda (the full 3/4 cup) and I also added 2 tsp of vanilla. I knocked this recipe down to 100 cal. per serving, upped the fiber and for those familiar with WW made it a two point snack! It tasted great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2007

      I made this recipe into muffins today and they are GREAT!! I am trying to eat low Cal and these are great for that. I used whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of oil, Splenda (a little more than 1/3 cup), and added some nutmeg and vanilla. They came out nice and moist. My Kids loved them too! They figured out to be about 85 Calories per muffin!! Great for breakfast or a snack!! Thanks for the great Recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      very good! substituted oil for strong, brewed coffee, used whole wheat flour, and reduced sugar to 1/3 cup - turned out great! added a chocolate-coffee glaze on top for a little extra sweetness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      This was a really good recipe! I used whole wheat pastry flour, applesauce instead of the oil, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar and added a 1/2 cup blueberries. The recipe makes exactly 12 perfectly-sized muffins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      This is my favorite banana bread recipes. It's very easy to make and it's delicious. I subsitute 1/4 applesause for the oil, I used brown sugar and add 1/2 of nutmeg. Wonderful. My co-workers and family LOVE it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2007

      I used unbleached wheat flour and added 1/2 C of wheat bran and 1/4 tspn of nutmeg to the dry ingredients. I also added 1 Tspn of vanilla into the wet ingredients. I used one whole egg instead of the 2 egg whites called for and I added 1 C of blueberries (I dusted these with flour before I added them to the batter)at the very end and folded them into the batter. I made a topping (1/3 C brown sugar, 2 Tbspn flour, 2 Tbspn whole oats, 1/4 tspn cinnamon, 1 Tbspn butter) baked them in cupcakes. My kids and husband loved them. I had to make another double batch immediately as there were none left for breakfast tomorrow. Thank you for the lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      I added chocolate chips and a tablespoon of yogurt. I dropped the oil, added a tablespoon of butter and 3 tablespoons of applesauce. My oven is messed up so I had to make it in preheat. It was really dense and a little gooey (probably from my applesauce experimentation and a faulty oven) but wow! Even so its very yummy and filling. Thank you so much. It would have been interesting to add a little honey and sprinkle oatmeal streusal on top. I will try again, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I made this as muffins, to keep my oven on for less time in the summer! It took fifteen minutes. I also added less than a cup of chocolate chips. These are really great, and taste great with nut butter on them. Thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      Found this easy and devine, mase both loaf and muffins, both equally good, great was of treating my diabetic husband and of getting fruit into my sons. This is be a regular on my list of things to do. Helen Young, Waterford, Ireland

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I made this today with a few variations, and it was amazing! I have used different banana bread recipes in the past, but this will now be the one I turn to for the BEST! First of all, I made muffins instead of a loaf. They were so moist and flavorful! I used a flax seed vegan egg substitute for the eggs; three medium very ripe bananas; I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of turbinado sugar; I had canned pumpkin (tis the season), so instead of the oil I used about 1/4 cup of the canned pumpkin and just a tablespoon of oil. I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I found that my mixture was slightly too thick, so I used about three tablespoons of soy milk to thin it out. I added 1/4 cup of chocolate chips. This was a great recipe for me to work with and make my own, in a way...I will be looking forward to making this again soon! The entire family loved it! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Delish. This banana bread made me an instant fan. The container I used for making this the first time was a little small, so some of the bread overflowed and ended up burning on the oven floor. The second time I made this, I made them into muffins and baked them for about 20 minutes and they came out perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      Great recipe. I am usually not overly fond of banana bread, but really needed to use up some ripe bananas. I liked this because it was not overly sweet like many banana breads. I made a double batch and cooked them in 5 mini loaf pans. It still took about 45 minutes even in the small pans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Nice flavor. Best part was that it didn't crumble. (My bread always crumbles.) Sliced it about 20 minutes after pulling it out of the oven and got VERY nice slices. Beautiful! Thanks Barb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      I've made many points slimming recipes for my office but this was definitely one of our favorites. Noting your comment about the Splenda, I made my bread with 1/3 of the brown sugar variety. That turned out to be a little too sweet given the ripeness of my bananas. I also subbed out half the oil for prune baby puree. The results were moist and delicious. I especially liked the cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      I made this bread and was delighted with the taste and texture - we like these breads with icing so made a small amount of lemon icing and the zing was fantastic. a wonderfully simple yet yummy treat. Thank you so much for the recipe. Will definately be making it again as the urges to do so from the family are great! jmeyerc :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      Very good banana bread! I used 3/4 cup granulated Splenda, left out the cinnamon & used half rice flour & half AP flour. The bread is nice and moist, although it didn't rise as much as a regular banana bread. I will be making this again - thanks Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      I have made this many times now and I can't believe that I had not yed rated it. This is an excellent recipe that is just as moist as high calorie banana bread. I often add in blueberrie to. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Reduced-Calorie Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (618 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1918.7
     
    Calories from Fat 512
    26%
    Total Fat 56.9 g
    87%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1490.2 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 330.2 g
    110%
    Dietary Fiber 9.6 g
    38%
    Sugars 169.0 g
    676%
    Protein 28.2 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites