115 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Had a hankering for franks n' beans so when I saw this recipe and photos, went right to the grocery store for the fixings. Used 2 cans Bush's bourbon & brown sugar baked beans (with added ketchup and mustard) in 13x9 baking dish, pkg of 7 Hebrew National beef franks, and shredded cheddar-jack. As suggested in some of the reviews, I pre-baked the tater tots for extra crispiness. Turned out yummy! Not exactly healthy, but every now and then you just gotta have some ooey-gooey comfort food. Will make again, it's a keeper and you can do endless variations.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PinkSkeleton September 12, 2011

Made it for Christmas dinner and it was well received by adults and kids alike. Nothing beats fancy beanie weenie for comfort food. :) Will definitely make again. Most of it was gone which is saying something with as much food as was brought.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplerich January 02, 2011

i loved it, my wife thought it was ok -- i used vegi dogs instead of hot dogs and vegetarian baked beans. the second time i added some chili and onions since my wife likes chili dogs and she liked it much better

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual May 01, 2010

Good and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada November 03, 2012

Here is deal, I was skeptical and thought my husband looked interested turned out I liked it and he was like OK I will eat this because you made it. Sort of funny, I probably would not make it again because of that reason. He said if you made hot dogs, baked beans and tater tots on the side I would love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DPar October 16, 2012

We make this recipe often in our house. It is fast and simple to throw together, satisfies a comfort-food craving, and it can be easily increased to feed a crowd when the gang's all here. Ore-Ida crispy crowns make for a crunchy tot topping, but I am ok with regular tots that break apart when mixed in...yum! I always use the 28 oz large can of Bush's Maple baked beans and never have any leftover. I have used regular hotdogs, keilbasa, bratwursts, cheddarwursts, and lil smokies depending on what was in the house. Here in upstate NY we have a local favorite known as a coney which is a white hot dog made from pork and veal--not to be confused with the downstate NY chili-sauced coney dog--which is also excellent as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drama2ueen October 12, 2012

I made this a couple weeks ago. It was something fun for DH and myself to eat. Kind of made us feel like kids again. I bet it would be really good with a splash of BBQ sauce in the beans. I'll put this one in my keeper file because I think there's all kinds of ways to play with this. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SloppyJoe December 07, 2011

I have made this for the kids a BIG hit in our house! I plan on making this soon with left over chili. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texanmom September 11, 2011

Easy to put together but needs a little "something". We will make this again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty9901 June 05, 2011

I was running low on groceries, and I had no idea what to make for dinner one night, then I remembered this recipe! It definitely can't be passed off as a gourmet meal, but it was pretty good & filling! Only change I made: instead of cut up hot dogs, I had half a kielbasa/sausage left, so I used it instead. It added some extra flavor.. not sure how I'd like the recipe with plain hot dogs though. I also added some finely chopped onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. June 05, 2011
Redneck Casserole