Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Zinger Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Zinger Cake

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2011

      Soooo good! I love raspberry zingers & this tastes just like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Quick, easy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Okay, hands down, this is a totally delicious cake, especially if you love raspberry and coconut or red zingers like me! You could definitely make this in two 9 inch round cake pans (I did as a very special birthday cake for someone). Absolutely scrumptious! I can't wait to have an excuse to make this cake again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This really is better than a red zinger! My only advice would be to pour a little at a time of the sweet milk, so it has time to seep into the cake and dosen't collect at the sides, (I've made that mistake before). This was really good, I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      This is such a great cake! Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      What a great, flavorful and moist cake recipe. This cake really did remind me of a Hostess Zinger which I haven't had for over ten years. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. Made for August, 2008 Bevy Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Made this cake for a very special occasion and it is wonderful. The jam is what makes the difference, it adds a unique texture and flavor to what might otherwise be boring. Only difference was I used cherry jello because I couldn't find raspberry and I warmed the jam a few seconds in the microwave to make it more spreadable. Very easy, very yummy, very pretty cake. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      An easy, tasty and decorative cake. The Cool Whip, raspberry jam and condensed milk make a nice topping. Thanks, Chef V, even though I've never heard of a zinger until now. So glad to learn about them from your recipe, and not Hostess products.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      FABULOUS! I made this months ago & forgot to rate it. The only change I made was to use a Strawberry cake mix. I will be making this again for Christmas guest & think I'll color the coconut green for a festive look! Thank you so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Made as directed and loved this cake, I always loved zingers and this is even better. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      Wow what a great cake.No complaints or changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I made this cake for my dad for his birthday and it got great reviews! It was moist and delicious and had a very nice flavor. It was also very easy to make. I forgot to add the gelatin to the cake mix (oops) so I added a little bit of it to the condensed milk. I also added a tablespoon or so of the Chambord to the Cool Whip along with adding it to the raspberry preserves. I will definitely be making this recipe again! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2007

      very sweet, and delicious. i used low fat condensed milk, lite cool whip but made no other changes. easy to make with a great presentation. thanks vseward.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      this was a very easy and moist cake....tried to cut down on the sugar as much as possible by using sugar free cool whip and jelly...was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      I love Hostess Zingers. Really, really love them. Well, now so do my two sons. And my husband. So, I figured I'd better learn to make some in bigger portions, and Voila! Here it was. This is heavenly. I used Raspberry extract instead of liquor. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      This tasted quite good~ the sweetened condensed milk made it taste quite rich-not sure I'm crazy about that part. I did have to use jam with seeds, but it was fine. The cake stayed amazingly moist and looked very pretty. I think I might be tempted to just eliminate the scmilk and try some different variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Everyone really liked this! I forgot to mix in the rasberry jello, but it was still really good. Next time, I would like to try it with strawberry jello & preserves. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      My Boyfriend cannot stop talking about how good this cake is! It is so easy to make because it starts with a boxed cake mix. I forgot to put the jello in the batter, so I added it to the sweetened condensed milk and it gave it some pretty pink stripes. I used non-fat condensed milk and lite cool whip. I think this cake will be a real crowd pleaser. It really does taste like a zinger!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Zinger Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 564.0
     
    Calories from Fat 231
    41%
    Total Fat 25.7 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 58.6 mg
    19%
    Sodium 377.8 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.2 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 57.3 g
    229%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    raspberry gelatin powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites