17 Reviews

Wow! Like many other reviewers I had no idea red wine vinegar was so easy to make. I will not be buying this stuff in the stores anymore! This was just too good when I used it in a salad vinaigrette dressing. I also noticed that I had a bottle of purchased red wine vinegar in the pantry with just about 1/4 cup left in it. I sat the two next to each other, dipped a little piece of bread in each to see how they compared straight across. This version was so much better than the purchased stuff - and the color was far more vibrant and intense as well. Thanks twissis for sharing this wonderful copycat. Congrats again on your Week 9 win in the Football Pool!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 12, 2010

My biggest complaint about this recipe - Why haven't I been using this for years? : ) I ran out of red wine vinegar for a creamy garlic salad dressing that I was making. I remember years ago a coworker telling me that she makes her own red wine vinegar. I didn't pursue it then but I remembered today. This turned out great! And now that I know the ratio is 3 to 1, I can mix up as much as I need at any one time. The recipe says it makes 1 1/4 cups. But it should really say that it makes 1/4 cup of red wine vinegar. 1 tablespoon red wine + 3 Tablespoons vinegar = 4 tablespoons = 1/4 c.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon January 31, 2016

Simply delicious. I mashed three cloves of garlic and let them sit in a 1:3 ratio for about 6 hours. Delicious! Next time, I'll experiment with different herbs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lborges175 August 13, 2015

Thanks so much for posting this. They charge ridiculous prices for red wine vinegar in the supermarkets. And this tastes 1000% better. You've done a wonderful service to humanity! Bless you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CalGal February 15, 2014

This is a gread red wine vinegar. I used merlot red wine. Thanks twissis :) Made for I Recommend tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 25, 2011

Wow, twissis, I sure wish I had found this recipe earlier (or even thought to look for it :-( ) Simple and easy, this will most certainly save me a trip the the store! Perfect! I will keep this recipe close at hand, for future recipes! Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl November 12, 2010

I never remember to buy wine vinegar so when I saw this I got very excited. This is clearly a 5 star recipe. Thanks for sharing. Made for Football Pool 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY November 11, 2010

Thank you so very much for posting this. Usually make my own and for some reason it has totally slipped my brain on the ratio of wine/vinegar...keeping this in my cook book for 'future forgetfulness' ...;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama~Kitty May 30, 2010

Can't get easier than this! Very handy recipe.Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia March 11, 2010

It can't possibly be this easy, can it? It sure can! I wish I'd found this little gem a long time ago! Thanks for posting. Made for Football Pool week 14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl December 14, 2009
Red Wine Vinegar (Copycat)