Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Wine Vinegar (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Wine Vinegar (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2010

      Wow! Like many other reviewers I had no idea red wine vinegar was so easy to make. I will not be buying this stuff in the stores anymore! This was just too good when I used it in a salad vinaigrette dressing. I also noticed that I had a bottle of purchased red wine vinegar in the pantry with just about 1/4 cup left in it. I sat the two next to each other, dipped a little piece of bread in each to see how they compared straight across. This version was so much better than the purchased stuff - and the color was far more vibrant and intense as well. Thanks twissis for sharing this wonderful copycat. Congrats again on your Week 9 win in the Football Pool!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Thanks so much for posting this. They charge ridiculous prices for red wine vinegar in the supermarkets. And this tastes 1000% better. You've done a wonderful service to humanity! Bless you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      This is a gread red wine vinegar. I used merlot red wine. Thanks twissis :) Made for I Recommend tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Wow, twissis, I sure wish I had found this recipe earlier (or even thought to look for it :-( ) Simple and easy, this will most certainly save me a trip the the store! Perfect! I will keep this recipe close at hand, for future recipes! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      I never remember to buy wine vinegar so when I saw this I got very excited. This is clearly a 5 star recipe. Thanks for sharing. Made for Football Pool 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Thank you so very much for posting this. Usually make my own and for some reason it has totally slipped my brain on the ratio of wine/vinegar...keeping this in my cook book for 'future forgetfulness' ...;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      Can't get easier than this! Very handy recipe.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      It can't possibly be this easy, can it? It sure can! I wish I'd found this little gem a long time ago! Thanks for posting. Made for Football Pool week 14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Thank you for a great recipe I used white wine vinegar and a burgundy it was excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I will never buy red wine vinegar from the store again! I had no idea making red wine vinegar could be as simple as combining red wine and, go figure, vinegar! I used some of this and combined it with a little olive oil, salt & pepper to top my green salad. YUM! I made a larger batch and have it stored for future use. twissis, thank you for posting this little gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This red wine vinegar turned out really great. I doubled the red wine and white vinegar ingredients and infused the mixture with: (1) shallot clove, (1) garlic clove, and several sprigs each of rosemary, thyme, and marjarom. I left these in the vinegar mixture for 24 hours and then strained them out with a coffee filter. I then made a zesty Italian salad dressing with the infused vinegar and it was delicious!! Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe...it is definitely a keeper!! *Made for 2008 Football Pool*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Followed this exactly, with the ratio 1:3 and it was delicious. I guess I didn't even realize this could be done, with a large amount of "processing" (factory) but I am glad that the home cook can make this simply delicious and not very time consuming vinegar. I have my second carafe going now, with some garlic cloves. Very tasty indeed, twissis! Thank you! Made for *I Recommend* January 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      I needed some red wine vinegar and I didn't have any in the house. It's snowing and I wasn't going to run to the store. Came across this recipe and it worked perfectly. Made as a pressie for the Aus/NZ swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      This was really good! Very simple and will use it often. Congrats on your football pool win!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      A great technique thanks Twissis! I usually make my own red wine vinegar by decanting all the dregs of red wine bottles into a special crock, the only problem is that there are not many dregs left in the bottles in this household! So, this was a good recipe to tag and try out. I used a nice everyday vin de pays red wine, and some white wine vinegar. No wine was wasted or abused in the making of this red wine vinegar, and I have saved this for the future - thanks very much! Made for Holiday Tag - merci encore ma leeetle Iclandic sister! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Wine Vinegar (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 21.6
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes