Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Wine & Rosemary Sauce over Linguine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Wine & Rosemary Sauce over Linguine

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2004

      I am not a red sauce lover but my family is. We all enjoyed it very much. I think in the future I may not put in as much honey or just add more wine! Very good though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      This is a WONDERFUL red sauce - super easy to prepare and VERY complex in taste. My husband & I will DEFINITELY be making this sauce again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      This is a VERY GOOD red sauce,easy to prepare. I used Syrah wine, my home canned crushed tomatoes. Served the sauce over Fusilli pasta, with homemade bread. DH loved it. Had some sauce left so I froze it for another meal. Thank you Heather for another delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      This sauce is pretty good. I doubled the rosemary and still couldn't even tell it was there. I will probably make this again, just adding more rosemary. Thanks for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      this was a really nice sauce. enjoyed the red wine flavor but thought it could use a bit more spice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      reduced a little more then called for and added an extra 1/4 cup of wine at the end. also increased rosemary to 2 tsp and basil to 3 tsp. added a touch of salt and pepper. nice smoky flavor. don't skip the real grated Parmesan! trust me! update: this time i was trying to save some of the parm for another projects so i also added some grated sharp light cheddar-this works just as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      So easy, and delicious. I always have that little bit of red wine that needs to be used, and this is definitely the recipe to use it up in! I didn't have crushed tomato so I used a can of diced and they worked perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      The red wine in this sauce was a nice addition over typical marinara sauces as others have mentioned. It was very easy to make and something I'd make again. I only gave four stars however because I feel it needs something to balance out the acidic flavors from both the wine and tomato sauce, perhaps just a bit of olive oil. Also, it did seem to benefit from some extra simmering. Thanks Heather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      made it and didnt think so much of it...then after it was gone i CRAVED it! gotta make it again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

    • on November 22, 2008

      This may well be my new favorite recipe. I didn't make any changes except to use fresh rosemary, and I'm glad I didn't change anything, because it is simply perfect the way it is. It tastes much more complex than it is, and the touch of sweetness is just enough without being too much. I can't wait to try this with some different wines.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This sauce I think is even better than my sauce and that is hard to say. This is really nice. I had to add about 3TBLS of sugar as it was tart, maybe from the shiraz, but I used quality tomatoes and paste! No oregano, that was surprising and it didnt need it! I can say enough how good this was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Great pasta. Nice alternative to a typical tomato sauce. Could taste the rosemary and wine. It was sweet and flavorful and easy to make. Thank you - will definitely be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      DH and I LOVED this, it was so differant from your usual tomatoe sauces, really easy to make and clear directions. The herbs really came out and the red wine (I used a Washington State Shiraz) added that something special. This is a real guest recipe that I'll be proud to show off. I served with warm Rustic Country Sourdough Bread by Nimz and it was a perfect dinner. It made plenty and I've frozen the left overs and will be anxious to see how it defrosts. Thanks HF for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Thanks for a great recipe! The flavor was very unique, nice for a change of pace from the regular tomato-based pasta sauce. I used Shiraz wine and crushed fresh red tomatoes into the sauce. I added some shrimp cooked in extra garlic on top, which were really good in this. Great meal with some veggies on the side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I've made this twice: first time with crushed tomatoes only (a little thick like pizza sauce) and the second time with diced tomatoes only, omitting the paste both times. My daughter loves marinara sauce but does not like real thick sauce generally, really enjoyed both versions of this sauce (her first time liking a thicker textured sauce)! The sauce has such a rich flavor with the rosemary that makes it deluctable! Thanks HeatherFeather, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      This was good, I liked the sweetness of it and the rosemary flavor, makes plenty of sauce. However, I have a red pasta sauce recipe I like better. But the reason i gave this 5 stars is: This would make an awesome dipping sauce for breadsticks or fried mozarella sticks! Almost like fancy marinara sauce. Maybe even for breaded and fried chicken tenders, onion rings or clamari. I added some mushrooms. Next time I will cut them really small and fry them in a little butter with minced onions or green onions, and that should make a great dipping sauce! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      Great red sauce with a personality. I served it with Olive Garden Stuffed Chicken Parmigiana and sauteed spinach. I only had fresh rosemary, so I just used the equivilent and added it towards the end of cooking. I also added a few chopped red onions, and thought they added depth. Thanks for a great sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      Very tasty and unique sauce! Shiraz taste really comes through. I doubled the recipe so my wife and I can enjoy leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      We loved this sauce. Some family members rated it 5 stars others 4 stars as they found the wine flavour too much. I used a shiraz and maybe next time I will try with 1/2 cup wine. I suppose it depends on the wine used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Wine & Rosemary Sauce over Linguine

    Serving Size: 1 (414 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.8
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    89%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 603.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.5 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 17.7 g
    70%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites