26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am not a red sauce lover but my family is. We all enjoyed it very much. I think in the future I may not put in as much honey or just add more wine! Very good though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat Rahal February 26, 2004

This is a WONDERFUL red sauce - super easy to prepare and VERY complex in taste. My husband & I will DEFINITELY be making this sauce again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ennoia February 16, 2004

This is a VERY GOOD red sauce,easy to prepare. I used Syrah wine, my home canned crushed tomatoes. Served the sauce over Fusilli pasta, with homemade bread. DH loved it. Had some sauce left so I froze it for another meal. Thank you Heather for another delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 04, 2004

This sauce is pretty good. I doubled the rosemary and still couldn't even tell it was there. I will probably make this again, just adding more rosemary. Thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle July 03, 2012

this was a really nice sauce. enjoyed the red wine flavor but thought it could use a bit more spice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. March 12, 2011

reduced a little more then called for and added an extra 1/4 cup of wine at the end. also increased rosemary to 2 tsp and basil to 3 tsp. added a touch of salt and pepper. nice smoky flavor. don't skip the real grated Parmesan! trust me! update: this time i was trying to save some of the parm for another projects so i also added some grated sharp light cheddar-this works just as well!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto June 21, 2010

So easy, and delicious. I always have that little bit of red wine that needs to be used, and this is definitely the recipe to use it up in! I didn't have crushed tomato so I used a can of diced and they worked perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u February 05, 2010

The red wine in this sauce was a nice addition over typical marinara sauces as others have mentioned. It was very easy to make and something I'd make again. I only gave four stars however because I feel it needs something to balance out the acidic flavors from both the wine and tomato sauce, perhaps just a bit of olive oil. Also, it did seem to benefit from some extra simmering. Thanks Heather!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SHankDeadleft January 18, 2010

made it and didnt think so much of it...then after it was gone i CRAVED it! gotta make it again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Threepoundog November 10, 2009
Red Wine & Rosemary Sauce over Linguine