44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! So easy and so delicious. I made this with a wonderful Holiday red wine from a local vendor so it had a comforting Christmasy taste. the gravy is WONDERFUL!!!! The meat was a little dry, which could have been my fault. But the gravy makes up for it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking4AFHubby November 24, 2009

excellent recipe-I loved it ! I made this exactly as recommended but I used a 7-bone chuck roast-I served this ( sauce and all) over egg noodles.Thanks bekha!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover May 05, 2009

I thought this was very good. I followed the recipe just as written and had a wonderful result. I thickened the juices just enough to go over some potatoes, not quite as thick as gravy but not as thin as au jus either. Very good, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL March 13, 2009

I loved this and mine turned out exactly like the picture just falling apart! I used a rump roast cut. I only used 1 cup of wine because my crock pot generates a lot of liquid and it was still very good. We just used it as au'jus rather than make the gray. The wine was a cabernet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OCMom1 January 14, 2009

I dont understand, recipe was to the T and it tasted as plain as can be. I have made two pot roasts using onion mix and both were plain. Used a good shiraz too and nothing. Sorry but no.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rennug September 22, 2008

At first we thought this was okay and then we notice the red wine was just was overpowing for this. I will try one more time with adding a can of beef broth to the mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zillien's Girl March 14, 2008

This was just ok in my opinion. I'm sure it would have been better if I had used another type of wine and a better cut of meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jared.l.ramsey January 28, 2007

We didn't care so much for this recipe. The Rosemary is what we didn't care for. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn May 01, 2006

I dont know if it was my cut of beef or not, but I followed exactly and the meat was really dry after 9 hours on low. The sauce was great however!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thomasjj93 s March 13, 2006

Mmmm...Surprised to read some of the reviews stating that this was dry, this was so fork tender that as you can see from the photo it literally fell apart coming out of the crockpot! Very moist. Prepared exactly as written. Used Cabernet Sauvignon. Thank You Bekah!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat March 06, 2006
Red Wine Crock Pot Roast