44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, this roast was SO good!! I made it exactly as it said and this is now our favorite roast recipe. Thanks for the great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvmythomas December 30, 2003

I made this recipe exactly as written and it was soooo good. Such a nice change from the normal "gravy" roasts. The smell alone is worth making this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie July 16, 2003

This was awful. Literally, the worst roast I have ever tasted. I've made several and this one was incredibly wine-y and just dry (cooked on low in a slow cooker). I should've known that this wouldn't be a good recipe when it didn't even call for garlic (I added some anyways). C'est la vie, I suppose. Not everyone has the same taste in what they consider "delicious".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbhartu April 29, 2013

I read alot of the reviews on this recipes and all the 5 stars convinced me to try it. I was kinda bummed at the result though. I think it was just my personal taste on this one. I added some baby carrots to the wine mixture and alcohol was almost over powering. Maybe I just used crappy wine. Maybe if I try this again I'll cut the wine down and add an onion. Overall this wasn't a a bad meal, just not my taste. The leftovers had a better flavor the next day too, so gives me hope for next time. Oh well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TN Hill Cook January 24, 2012

This was both my first roast and crock pot recipe I ever made. It was for my husbands birthday and it was yummy. I did not use the soup mix but du Ted and peppered the roast and pan sirred. I used fresh tyme, onions and garlic. I added quartered potatos and some baby carrots an hour before cooking was complete. It cooked for closer to seven hours (2ibs) roast. It was so tender that we did not need a knife. I used beef stock and a pior noir. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dermarienkafer@yahoo.com October 16, 2011

Wonderful! I cut up the roast into beef cubes and browned them in vegetable oil. All I added was carrots and onions to the crock pot. Delicious. My husband loved it too. Served with buttermilk mashed potatoes and bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STACY S. January 09, 2011

Our favorite recipe. Replaced soup mix with celery seed and onions and some veggie broth. Super delicious and gone right away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieKris April 02, 2010

I did the following: 6¼ hours plus | 10 min prep SERVES 8 •2 cups Cabernet Sauvignon (or more! It's good for you!) •1/2 cup water or beef broth •1 (1 1/4 ounce) envelope dry onion soup mix •1 tablespoon brown sugar •1 teaspoon dried rosemary or fresh rosemary •1 large. onion, chopped •4 med. carrots, washed, pared & sliced •1 clove garlic (or table spoon crushed) •1 bay leaf •2 tsp. salt •1/4 tsp. pepper •1 teaspoon crushed red pepper •5 tops (first 3 inches) and leafy greens of celery roughly chopped •4 small red potatoes •4 small Yukon gold •2 beef bullion cubes •2 boxes mushrooms •2 small cans mushroom soup •4 lbs or more trimmed beef roast •1-2 teaspoon cornstarch (for au jus) 1.Place roast in crock pot and season with pepper. 2.Mix rest of ingredients together and pour over roast. 3.Cover top with mushrooms and add bay leaf 4.Cover and cook on low 6-9 hours. 5.Remove roast to rest on platter. 6.Discard Bay Leaf 7.Turn crock pot to high. 8.Whisk cornstarch into juices to thicken. 9.This makes a wonderfully tasty au jus, or over mashed potatoes. 10.Enjoy! 11.You can easily make additions to this: pearl onions,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keepnupncali January 24, 2010

Excellent!! I do not care for steak or roast, but finally a way that I enjoy it and can actually eat it in front of the kids without making funny faces!! Everyone enjoyed it. I did not have any rosemary so I left that out. The first time I made this I just used the red wine and it was very good. This time I only had 1 cup of red wine left so I also added 1 cup of marsala also and it was EXCELLENT!!! Thank you for a great dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef BBB January 21, 2010

This was Fantastic!! I added an onion and some mushrooms for extra flavor and WOW! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoeStl January 14, 2010
Red Wine Crock Pot Roast