Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Wine Crock Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Wine Crock Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2009

      Great recipe! So easy and so delicious. I made this with a wonderful Holiday red wine from a local vendor so it had a comforting Christmasy taste. the gravy is WONDERFUL!!!! The meat was a little dry, which could have been my fault. But the gravy makes up for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      excellent recipe-I loved it ! I made this exactly as recommended but I used a 7-bone chuck roast-I served this ( sauce and all) over egg noodles.Thanks bekha!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      I thought this was very good. I followed the recipe just as written and had a wonderful result. I thickened the juices just enough to go over some potatoes, not quite as thick as gravy but not as thin as au jus either. Very good, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I loved this and mine turned out exactly like the picture just falling apart! I used a rump roast cut. I only used 1 cup of wine because my crock pot generates a lot of liquid and it was still very good. We just used it as au'jus rather than make the gray. The wine was a cabernet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      I dont understand, recipe was to the T and it tasted as plain as can be. I have made two pot roasts using onion mix and both were plain. Used a good shiraz too and nothing. Sorry but no.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      At first we thought this was okay and then we notice the red wine was just was overpowing for this. I will try one more time with adding a can of beef broth to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This was just ok in my opinion. I'm sure it would have been better if I had used another type of wine and a better cut of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      We didn't care so much for this recipe. The Rosemary is what we didn't care for. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      I dont know if it was my cut of beef or not, but I followed exactly and the meat was really dry after 9 hours on low. The sauce was great however!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      Mmmm...Surprised to read some of the reviews stating that this was dry, this was so fork tender that as you can see from the photo it literally fell apart coming out of the crockpot! Very moist. Prepared exactly as written. Used Cabernet Sauvignon. Thank You Bekah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Excellent roast, don't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      One of the BEST roast recipes out there. I forgot the brown sugar, but didn't affect the flavor & substituted thyme for the rosemary. I added carrots & 1 cup onions the last hour raising temp to high and then added fresh mushrooms the last 30 mins. Served with mashed potatoes because the gravy is soooooo good. ~Bekah~, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2005

      I had about a 2 3/4 pound roast. I used just about a 1 1/2 cups wine and no water.1 whole package Lipton onion gravy mix,a pinch of rosemary. I used the 1 tablespoon brown sugar but that was a little to sweet for the amount of meat and juice I had. My fault there. It turned out very well and I did add about 1/2 cup water which I mixed with the corn starch before adding to the gravy and cooking that till it thickened. It probably cooked for about 4 hours on low and was nice and tender, thanks for a great recipe Becka.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2005

      This was a wonderful change of pace for roasts! I didn't have any onion soup mix so just kind of winged it with onion powder, garlic powder, and a few other spices (although I only had a 2 lb roast so only had to come up with 1/2 envelope worth of spices). I tossed in some baby carrots, too. It took less than 5 minutes to prepare and smelled so good when we walked back in the house later! Everyone had seconds and even thirds...the recipe was too good to have leftovers. ;o) I didn't have any trouble with it being dry or tough, even though I cooked it for a shorter time on 'high.' This will probably become my new standard recipe ~ thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      I'm afraid my roast was very dry and tough. We did enjoy the flavor, if not the color, of the sauce. I didn't change anything in the recipe and cooked it for 6 hours. Wish I knew how to improve on the results...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      I made this recipe early this morning so when I came home for a late lunch it was ready to go. I really enjoyed the roast. I sliced a bit off and made a sandwich and used some of the juices for dipping. With a green crispy salad this is wonderful and very satisfying too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      This was really good!! I only had a 2 lb roast so I halved the recipe. I also added baby carrots and fresh sliced mushrooms. The carrots were the best part of the meal! My picky toddler even ate the carrots. The roast was a tiny bit dry, but we had plenty of gravy to pour over it, so it was no problem. Thanks, Bekah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      I've gotten tired of the dry onion soup & cream of mushroom soup combination. This is a very nice variation. Very tasty. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      Tried this today and we all liked it. I have been searching for EASY recipes for the crockpot so that I don't have to work hard after "work" just to eat. This was very easy to assemble. I added fresh mushrooms to the pot and as I didn't have the onion soup mix but I did have dry vegetable soup mix, I added it in place of. The meat was tender and the gravy, after I thickened it with a slurry of cornstarch, was very tasty and "just right". I will definitely add this to my crockpot repertoire. Served with a baked potato and green beans. Ate it all up! Thanx for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      This was excellent! Smelled wonderful cooking and the gravy from it was wonderful also. Will make this again! Used a Merlot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Wine Crock Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    23%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 524.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites