Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Wine Crock Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Wine Crock Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2003

      This was outstanding. The beef was tender and the gravy was delicious. Next time, I will let out the rosemary for it did give a stronger flavor to the beef. Served it with mashed potatoes and butter glazed carrots. I didn't add the water because the 2 cups of wine was plenty. With crockpot cooking, you don't need as much liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2003

      This was sooo good. I used white wine instead of red wine. Since this was my first cooking with wine experience, I used 1 cup of wine to 1 cup of water. I had about 1-1/2 pounds of beef...2 at the very most. At the last 45 minutes or so I added 2 medium sized red potatoes that I had cut into quarters. The juices picked up a little bit of the potato taste. I think next time I make this I will use red wine and cook the potatoes separately. I liked the flavor of the juices before I added the potatoes a bit better. When I do the recipe again, I will review it again to let you know how it turns out. Thanks Rebekah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2003

      Outstanding! My 3 lb roast was still somewhat frozen so cooked on high and was ready in just over 3 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      Rebekah, I made this EXACTLY as the recipe calls for it to be made,I would not change a thing,it was delishous,and since it is made in a crockpot,it was so easy,and my Sunday dinner was a success. Thanks,Darlene Summers

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      This was really good. I usually try to avoid canned soups and powdered mixes, but I wanted to try this. I think the onion soup mix added a little bit of a chemical flavor. I will make this again and try using a mix of spices and regular sliced onion. I also used 1/2 marsala and 1/2 red wine as a PP suggested, and as that was all the red wine I had. That definitely bloomed out the flavor! This is a keeper, I think I'll just make subs for the onion soup mix and re-post. Thanks Bekah!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      I'm happily giving this five stars on flavor! I didn't add the water and used a little less wine. I have no idea how much. I just eyeballed it. I also omitted the rosemary. It was delicious. I dumped butter gold potatos and carrots in the crockpot as well. It went on low for 8 hours. I tasted it at 6 hours and it was a little dry. So, I rearranged everything and 2 hours later it was perfect... so tender and so moist. My husband thought that there could be a little less red wine. But, I thought that it was perfect. I couldn't get the sauce to thicken in the crockpot. So, I just poured it in a saucepan on the stove to finish it up. I brought it to a boil and whisked it. Thanks for something other than cream of "something" condensed soup!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      The only "complaint" I have about this terrific recipe is the amount of gravy it produces. Much more than needed but it is just as good over rice, noodles, chicken etc. so it does not go to watse. This was a great meal with mashed potatoes, baked carrots and peas. Thanks Bekah

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      I made this the other morning when I got home from work, by the time I got up the house smelled wonderful! I used a California red cabernet, and I forgot to add the Rosemary (too tired!) but it turned out fantastic. The meat was tender and moist, I loved the flavour of the sauce. I served it with mashed potatoes and lightly steamed broccoli.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      MAde this exactly as directed, except for substituting thyme for rosemary. I used a nice merlot for the wine. It turned out really delicious. The gravy was one of the best that I have ever tried. Served with roast potatoes and brussel sprouts for a truly delicious meal. Next time I will make mashed potatoes to soak up that fabulous gravy. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2004

      This was really good. Usually I cook my roasts so they are a little pink. We like them a bit rare. When I first carved it I thought oh it's overcooked. It was sooooo tender though and the gravy was delicious. I will certainly make it this way again. Thanks for posting this recipe Bekah.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      Wow, this roast was SO good!! I made it exactly as it said and this is now our favorite roast recipe. Thanks for the great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2003

      I made this recipe exactly as written and it was soooo good. Such a nice change from the normal "gravy" roasts. The smell alone is worth making this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      This was awful. Literally, the worst roast I have ever tasted. I've made several and this one was incredibly wine-y and just dry (cooked on low in a slow cooker). I should've known that this wouldn't be a good recipe when it didn't even call for garlic (I added some anyways). C'est la vie, I suppose. Not everyone has the same taste in what they consider "delicious".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      I read alot of the reviews on this recipes and all the 5 stars convinced me to try it. I was kinda bummed at the result though. I think it was just my personal taste on this one. I added some baby carrots to the wine mixture and alcohol was almost over powering. Maybe I just used crappy wine. Maybe if I try this again I'll cut the wine down and add an onion. Overall this wasn't a a bad meal, just not my taste. The leftovers had a better flavor the next day too, so gives me hope for next time. Oh well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      This was both my first roast and crock pot recipe I ever made. It was for my husbands birthday and it was yummy. I did not use the soup mix but du Ted and peppered the roast and pan sirred. I used fresh tyme, onions and garlic. I added quartered potatos and some baby carrots an hour before cooking was complete. It cooked for closer to seven hours (2ibs) roast. It was so tender that we did not need a knife. I used beef stock and a pior noir. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Wonderful! I cut up the roast into beef cubes and browned them in vegetable oil. All I added was carrots and onions to the crock pot. Delicious. My husband loved it too. Served with buttermilk mashed potatoes and bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Our favorite recipe. Replaced soup mix with celery seed and onions and some veggie broth. Super delicious and gone right away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I did the following: 6¼ hours plus | 10 min prep SERVES 8 •2 cups Cabernet Sauvignon (or more! It's good for you!) •1/2 cup water or beef broth •1 (1 1/4 ounce) envelope dry onion soup mix •1 tablespoon brown sugar •1 teaspoon dried rosemary or fresh rosemary •1 large. onion, chopped •4 med. carrots, washed, pared & sliced •1 clove garlic (or table spoon crushed) •1 bay leaf •2 tsp. salt •1/4 tsp. pepper •1 teaspoon crushed red pepper •5 tops (first 3 inches) and leafy greens of celery roughly chopped •4 small red potatoes •4 small Yukon gold •2 beef bullion cubes •2 boxes mushrooms •2 small cans mushroom soup •4 lbs or more trimmed beef roast •1-2 teaspoon cornstarch (for au jus) 1.Place roast in crock pot and season with pepper. 2.Mix rest of ingredients together and pour over roast. 3.Cover top with mushrooms and add bay leaf 4.Cover and cook on low 6-9 hours. 5.Remove roast to rest on platter. 6.Discard Bay Leaf 7.Turn crock pot to high. 8.Whisk cornstarch into juices to thicken. 9.This makes a wonderfully tasty au jus, or over mashed potatoes. 10.Enjoy! 11.You can easily make additions to this: pearl onions,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Excellent!! I do not care for steak or roast, but finally a way that I enjoy it and can actually eat it in front of the kids without making funny faces!! Everyone enjoyed it. I did not have any rosemary so I left that out. The first time I made this I just used the red wine and it was very good. This time I only had 1 cup of red wine left so I also added 1 cup of marsala also and it was EXCELLENT!!! Thank you for a great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      This was Fantastic!! I added an onion and some mushrooms for extra flavor and WOW! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Wine Crock Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    23%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 524.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 49.4 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites