44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was outstanding. The beef was tender and the gravy was delicious. Next time, I will let out the rosemary for it did give a stronger flavor to the beef. Served it with mashed potatoes and butter glazed carrots. I didn't add the water because the 2 cups of wine was plenty. With crockpot cooking, you don't need as much liquid.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M September 23, 2003

This was sooo good. I used white wine instead of red wine. Since this was my first cooking with wine experience, I used 1 cup of wine to 1 cup of water. I had about 1-1/2 pounds of beef...2 at the very most. At the last 45 minutes or so I added 2 medium sized red potatoes that I had cut into quarters. The juices picked up a little bit of the potato taste. I think next time I make this I will use red wine and cook the potatoes separately. I liked the flavor of the juices before I added the potatoes a bit better. When I do the recipe again, I will review it again to let you know how it turns out. Thanks Rebekah!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof July 07, 2003

Outstanding! My 3 lb roast was still somewhat frozen so cooked on high and was ready in just over 3 hours.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay September 29, 2003

Rebekah, I made this EXACTLY as the recipe calls for it to be made,I would not change a thing,it was delishous,and since it is made in a crockpot,it was so easy,and my Sunday dinner was a success. Thanks,Darlene Summers

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers July 14, 2003

This was really good. I usually try to avoid canned soups and powdered mixes, but I wanted to try this. I think the onion soup mix added a little bit of a chemical flavor. I will make this again and try using a mix of spices and regular sliced onion. I also used 1/2 marsala and 1/2 red wine as a PP suggested, and as that was all the red wine I had. That definitely bloomed out the flavor! This is a keeper, I think I'll just make subs for the onion soup mix and re-post. Thanks Bekah!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz February 04, 2010

I'm happily giving this five stars on flavor! I didn't add the water and used a little less wine. I have no idea how much. I just eyeballed it. I also omitted the rosemary. It was delicious. I dumped butter gold potatos and carrots in the crockpot as well. It went on low for 8 hours. I tasted it at 6 hours and it was a little dry. So, I rearranged everything and 2 hours later it was perfect... so tender and so moist. My husband thought that there could be a little less red wine. But, I thought that it was perfect. I couldn't get the sauce to thicken in the crockpot. So, I just poured it in a saucepan on the stove to finish it up. I brought it to a boil and whisked it. Thanks for something other than cream of "something" condensed soup!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha Cooks! September 09, 2008

The only "complaint" I have about this terrific recipe is the amount of gravy it produces. Much more than needed but it is just as good over rice, noodles, chicken etc. so it does not go to watse. This was a great meal with mashed potatoes, baked carrots and peas. Thanks Bekah

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo December 11, 2005

I made this the other morning when I got home from work, by the time I got up the house smelled wonderful! I used a California red cabernet, and I forgot to add the Rosemary (too tired!) but it turned out fantastic. The meat was tender and moist, I loved the flavour of the sauce. I served it with mashed potatoes and lightly steamed broccoli.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen1 January 17, 2004

MAde this exactly as directed, except for substituting thyme for rosemary. I used a nice merlot for the wine. It turned out really delicious. The gravy was one of the best that I have ever tried. Served with roast potatoes and brussel sprouts for a truly delicious meal. Next time I will make mashed potatoes to soak up that fabulous gravy. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl January 11, 2004

This was really good. Usually I cook my roasts so they are a little pink. We like them a bit rare. When I first carved it I thought oh it's overcooked. It was sooooo tender though and the gravy was delicious. I will certainly make it this way again. Thanks for posting this recipe Bekah.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fluffy January 04, 2004
Red Wine Crock Pot Roast