14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of those 'traditional' desserts, and oh so yummy! I was a little worried it would all fit in the pan, and it does (within about 1/4"). I recommend pouring the top layer while the pan is IN the fridge to avoid sloshy spills. Also, I wasn't sure if I was supposed to follow the "traditional" preparation method on the jello (versus quick set or jigglers), but I did, and turned out fine so I guess that was right! I used one large box for the blue and red. Happy 4th! (The second photo I uploaded was from this year when I put them in 2oz shot glasses and served with demitasse spoons. so great for the kids! After 12 glasses, I still had enough to make a 8x8 pan as well).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jswinks July 05, 2011

Made a fun and festive dessert for 4th of July. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 28, 2010

Such a pretty salad. The kids loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour November 09, 2014

Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patsy A. June 19, 2014

A cute, festive dessert for the 4th of July.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj July 04, 2013

I have made this, but if I am taking it to a outdoor function, I add 2 packages of Knox Unflavored Gelatin to EACH layer.<br/>This allows it to keep its form much longer.<br/>I also make it in an metal pan, then place it in a ice bath. The metal pan allows for the ice to keep it cool, unlike plastic or glass, which are poor heat (cold) conductors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meschow63 June 25, 2013

I made this yesterday for a family 4th of July picnic. I wish I could say it was a success, but it was not. The heat caused the layers to melt together in a matter of 15 minutes into a sticky, soupy mess - even with the pan bottom on ice and in the shade. I can't comment on the flavor since I thew the whole pan away and I'm holding off on rating this recipe for that reason. I am writing this review to caution others that this is NOT a good dish to take to an outdoor picnic if it will not be consumed immediately.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebe00 July 05, 2012

I loved this recipe! I made it completely sugar-free for my diabetic father, (including using sugar-free cool whip) and used orange and red for Thanksgiving (fall colors). I also used the quick set method for all but the lemon middle. Everyone liked this and didn't think it tasted sugar free. I'm going to make this again for Christmas with red & green.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tajgood1 December 03, 2009

I'm a little late reviewing but I made this for the 4th and it was delicious. I don't even like jello but I made it for the kids that were coming, I think I may have eaten more than they did! I used the quick set method for the jello and it worked out. So I guess you could do it either way. I loved it and it looked great. I used watermelon jello for the red though, and it was deelish. Thanks for an awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julia Lynn July 23, 2009
Red, White, and Blue Jello