7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These cupcakes were pretty good. However, I think it's too sweet. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gabrielakim March 14, 2013

Amazing!! So easy to make and so delish!! Thanks for the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knd75 February 22, 2013

Super easy recipe! The cupcakes come out moist, and fluffy. I made mini cupcakes, and i skipped the food coloring... I just couldn't get myself to use the stuff i got at walmart with red #40 and red #3 and other chemicals. The ingredients in this recipe are so simple, so in the future I'd make an effort to buy some natural organic red food coloring if it exists.

I can't say people weren't apprehensive to trying mine at a party I went to, especially since someone brought a package of store bought red velvet mini cupcakes that were way more attractive than mine, and they were red. But mine were made with these simple ingredients, and those had a list of at least 30 ingredients! I'll stick with home made. Apparently other people felt the same way because all of mine got eaten... eventually... when the others ran out... but that's not the point!

I also agree that the frosting recipe calls for a bit too much sugar. I only used 1 cup of powdered sugar, it allowed for more "cream cheese" taste in the frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenItchin September 29, 2012

I made these tonight for my wife's birthday and she loves them! This was my very first vegan baking venture so I wasn't sure what to expect. For this reason I followed the recipe exactly and picked up all the different extracts even though some reviewers left some out. You honestly wouldn't know they were vegan! My wife is from Tennessee and is somewhat of a Red Velvet consissuer. The only thing she said she'd want different is a little bit stronger cream cheese flavor in the frosting. I agree so next time I'll adjust the recipe accordingly. I'm also planning on making then for a Bridal Shower I'm hosting in a few months. I'm going to add some blue food coloring too since the theme color is purple :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganWife0123 July 23, 2012

I love this recipe so much, I don't know where to begin. First of all, these cupcakes are absolutely delicious. Non vegans loved them and did not realize they were vegan. Secondly, this recipe is easy. Chocolate extract is my new favorite thing. I found it on Amazon. Thank you so much for this recipe, as I recently turned vegan 2 months ago and have been missing red velvet cupcakes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
golfpunk1 June 26, 2011

I made them green velvet for St. Patrick's Day. I couldn't find chocolate extract without going online (and I didn't plan ahead), so I had to omit that. They were still awesome and I am sure the non-vegans will enjoy them at St. Patrick's Day dinner tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messystation March 16, 2010

Oh, yum! these are delish. Easy to make and the color is beautiful. The only thing I left out was the chocolate extract; Iwill keep my eye out for it for next time. Thanks for the recipe! It was a big valentines hit in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker February 15, 2010
Red Velvet Cupcakes With Cream Cheese Frosting (Vegan)