20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for DH's Birthday and it was so good. Loved the red velvet flavor and the the cream cheese frosting really set it off. Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. The color is so intense and the texture nice. Made an impressive presentation for his special day

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 October 05, 2014

I, too, took this to work today for a Christmas party potluck. Although there were quite a few leftover desserts, this one did not last! I think this is a delicious cheesecake. Because of its intense color, I would serve it for Christmas, New Year's, or Valentine's Day. [Original review 12/18/07 under chef KCShell.]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 06, 2013

This recipe is fantastic!
Ive never ever baked in my life and i decided to go for it! The cheesecake came out great! no cracks! good texture and so yummy. My family loved it.
I didnt follow the recipe exactly to the letter. i replaced graham crackers with digestive, and used one bottle of food coloring and i got a very rich, deep red yummy cheesecake. i'm defo going to make it again. Thank u.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nsoob August 15, 2012

I love Christmas in July!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 10, 2011

We loved it! Good flavor, good texture.
I used paste food coloring until the batter was pretty intensely red, but I don't think I got anywhere near the two bottles (!) stated. I'm not a huge fan of food coloring, so I didn't tint about a third of the batter and used that to make a swirl pattern. I omitted the topping and just used some plain, lightly sweetened whipped cream to dress it up (see photo).

My husband is gluten intolerant so I subbed crushed Glutino gluten-free "oreos" for the chocolate graham crumbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
besidethebox May 04, 2011

Fabulous!!!! I made this for Christmas dinner, and it was a huge hit. I couldn't find chocolate graham crackers so I improvised and used what I had on hand which was Oreo cookies(I had made another cheesecake for Christmas Eve Dinner at a family members!). I also had to cook this for about half hour longer, but in my oven I have to cook longer with anything. This cheesecake is very rich and creamy. A great way to end a wonderful dinner. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Husker Fan December 25, 2010

I baked this for a family gathering. The cake was gobbled up in less than 10 minutes! Everyone loved it, but some complained that there was too much coloring. I'm a huge fan of red velvet and usually just bake red velvet cupcakes. I must say I love this recipe more! I love the cheesy + cocoay taste it gives. Would love to bake this again! Heck, one's baking now in the oven!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hazel.ab September 06, 2009

This was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firems911 April 14, 2009

5 star taste- 4 star presentation. We are Red velvet cake lovers and include it every holiday. Tried this cheesecake to blend the best of both worlds at the last family get together. Taste- awesome. Texture-mush. I will play w/ the recipe next time. There will be a next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camaro Chic April 08, 2009

This was a huge hit at our family Christmas dinner. It was just sweet enough and very creamy. I baked it for an extra half hour as it wasn't set enough for the time suggested. I will make this again. Yummo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsMargo December 26, 2008
Red Velvet Cheesecake