Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Velvet Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Velvet Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2013

      I, too, took this to work today for a Christmas party potluck. Although there were quite a few leftover desserts, this one did not last! I think this is a delicious cheesecake. Because of its intense color, I would serve it for Christmas, New Year's, or Valentine's Day. [Original review 12/18/07 under chef KCShell.]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      This recipe is fantastic!
      Ive never ever baked in my life and i decided to go for it! The cheesecake came out great! no cracks! good texture and so yummy. My family loved it.
      I didnt follow the recipe exactly to the letter. i replaced graham crackers with digestive, and used one bottle of food coloring and i got a very rich, deep red yummy cheesecake. i'm defo going to make it again. Thank u.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      I love Christmas in July!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      We loved it! Good flavor, good texture.
      I used paste food coloring until the batter was pretty intensely red, but I don't think I got anywhere near the two bottles (!) stated. I'm not a huge fan of food coloring, so I didn't tint about a third of the batter and used that to make a swirl pattern. I omitted the topping and just used some plain, lightly sweetened whipped cream to dress it up (see photo).

      My husband is gluten intolerant so I subbed crushed Glutino gluten-free "oreos" for the chocolate graham crumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      Fabulous!!!! I made this for Christmas dinner, and it was a huge hit. I couldn't find chocolate graham crackers so I improvised and used what I had on hand which was Oreo cookies(I had made another cheesecake for Christmas Eve Dinner at a family members!). I also had to cook this for about half hour longer, but in my oven I have to cook longer with anything. This cheesecake is very rich and creamy. A great way to end a wonderful dinner. Thank you for posting this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      I baked this for a family gathering. The cake was gobbled up in less than 10 minutes! Everyone loved it, but some complained that there was too much coloring. I'm a huge fan of red velvet and usually just bake red velvet cupcakes. I must say I love this recipe more! I love the cheesy + cocoay taste it gives. Would love to bake this again! Heck, one's baking now in the oven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      This was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      5 star taste- 4 star presentation. We are Red velvet cake lovers and include it every holiday. Tried this cheesecake to blend the best of both worlds at the last family get together. Taste- awesome. Texture-mush. I will play w/ the recipe next time. There will be a next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This was a huge hit at our family Christmas dinner. It was just sweet enough and very creamy. I baked it for an extra half hour as it wasn't set enough for the time suggested. I will make this again. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      This was a very good cheesecake. everyone loved the deep rich color. I thought my batter was way too liquidy and it seemed like it was too moist for a cheesecake. All in all it was a hit. I gave it 4 stars becuase it didnt taste like what I thought it would. Good recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      Made 3 cheesecakes for a fancy 5 course meal to serve 25. I garnised the slices with chocolate swirls, mint leaves and a strawberry dipped in chocolate. This is the first cheesecake I have ever made(I am a cake baker) and I was very pleased with the results. Everyone raved about it. I baked according to the directions(took about 5-8 minutes longer than time specified), but I let it cool completely on a wire rack before chilling. Two of the cakes did crack, but that weasn't a problem because of the topping. I will definetly make this cake again and again. It was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      To die for!!! This is absolutely delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

    • on September 15, 2006

      A yummy, rich, lovely cheesecake! Shared some with our business partner, and he has called to see if there is any left that he can have! Even my non-sweet eating DH said it was good. I really like this twist on the red velvet cake. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2006

      This cheesecake was wonderful. I took it to work and everyone loved it. The texture is very creamy and the sweetness was just right.It is a beautiful cake. I did not find it too difficult to make. I wrapped the pan with aluminum foil and put it in a water bath.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      I made this recipe when it was #107604, which was made with plain graham crackers, not chocolate. It also only used 2 ONE ounce bottles of red food coloring, not 2 two ounce bottles. The orginal recipe is the one I took my photo of. Fortunately, I still had that recipe (which I tried to find today) and will continue to make. The original recipe was very good, but I did use a water bath so it wouldn't crack. I can't give this recipe any stars, as it was different than the recipe this one replaced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2005

      Wow! I am all for desserts that look as good as they taste. Will make again soon. You could also make this for fourth of july or valentine's day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      I made this for a Christmas party at my in-laws. It was decadent and made a beautiful presentation. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      I made this for Christmas, and it was absolutely divine! Everybody loved it! It tastes just like a red velvet cake in cheesecake form. One note: this is pretty sweet, maybe too sweet for some people (but not me or anyone else in MY family). Also, mine cracked badly, but I was able to kind of smoosh it closed after it cooled, and then you couldn't tell at all after the topping was put on. This went into my keeper file; I think my family will be insisting on having this every Christmas from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Velvet Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 864.5
     
    Calories from Fat 488
    56%
    Total Fat 54.2 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 30.2 g
    151%
    Cholesterol 243.8 mg
    81%
    Sodium 544.1 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.3 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 77.6 g
    310%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    whole buttermilk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites