34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this cake 4 times since I found your recipe, but I didn't use food coloring. I used 2/3 cups pureed beets. I also wanted more of a chocolate flavor so I used 1/3 cup good quality cocoa powder. This cake is AMAZING!!! My family loves it! The frosting is real good too, I was unsure at first about the marshmallow, but it's really good. Tonight I'm making your cake with your frosting in between the layers and white chocolate ganache on top. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Got 4 Goldens December 12, 2010

This is sooooo good! I saw mediocre reviews for many red velvet cake recipes on the net and decided to go with this one and I'm so glad. It is moist and flavorful. The frosting is creamy and the marshmallow makes it a bit lighter than regular cream cheese frosting and it is fabulous! I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I will make this cake again and again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aheathcott September 25, 2009

I made this recipe as a sheet cake, using just a 9 x 13 glass dish, and I lowered the temp to around 335 F, and baked it longer. I used all-purpose flour & cornstarch to make my own cake flour. I also made my own buttermilk using milk & vinegar. Look up the directions on the internet. It's two ingredients that I didn't have to go out and buy! Although I did have to go to our craft store just to get the Wilton food coloring. The end result was DIVINE- everyone LOVED it, light and delicious with the frosting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammabella August 25, 2011

I decided today to have a Red Velvet Cake Off in my kitchen. I wanted to see how the four highest reviewed cakes on the Zaar stacked up against my Grandma's recipe. I made hers first and picked yours up just now and discovered it is exactly the same! Hers has always been my favorite, so I'm giving yours 5 stars! :). I have no doubts it will remain the best.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WishTrish June 15, 2010

I've never had nor made a red velvet cake before, but when I was recently asked to make one for a birthday I went recipe hunting. This one stood out to me, especially due to the unusual frosting recipe. The batter was a great consistency and very easy to work with, and rose beautifully in the oven (I used one 9x13 and baked my cake 35-40 mins). The frosting is a dream, one of the best cream cheese frostings I have made! The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla. I also made a simple sugar syrup (1 to 1 ratio of water to sugar, heated on low until uniform) which I brushed over the cake to keep it moist overnight. The entire cake turned out gorgeous and got rave reviews. Not overly sweet, light and moist, this is a wonderful recipe and the only one I'll use for red velvet! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachruiz1 March 18, 2011

I followed the recipe to a tee and this is a wonderfully light and moist cake which deserves 5 stars. The frosting, however, took it to another level! Not overly sweet, smooth and creamy. This is the best frosting I have tasted EVER (and I have tried many in over 20 years of baking) and will be my go to frosting recipe from now on.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stevoph February 14, 2011

WOW! This cake was UNBELIEVEABLE!!! I messed up the first time I tried but 2nd time was a keeper! I increased the baking cocoa to 1/3 cup, kept the 2 oz of red food coloring and used the frosting recipe included w/ marshmallow cream and it was DREAMY! The cake was good but with the frosting it is above and beyond delicious. I am DEFINITELY keeping this red velvet recipe. THANK YOU! Made this into cupcakes--pictures shown above & peppermint sprinkles tasted good well cake & frosting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss_heyrara February 10, 2011

This cake was AMAZING. It was very moist with great flavour. I used a different cream cheese icing, (one with less sugar) and chocolate ganache between the layers. Thank-you for posting this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winnipeg March 17, 2010

Awesome. I increased the cocoa to 3 tablespoons; used Wilton's "tasteless" icing color; baked the cake in three 8 oz. cake pans, and used another cream cheese frosting since I didn't have any of the marshmallow. I'll definitely be making this cake again and will certainly try your frosting recipe. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blockparty December 14, 2008

This cake recipe would be hard to improve on. I did eliminate 1 oz of the red food coloring and substituted 1/2 cup pureed beets (you can't taste the beets). It was super moist and light. It was just what a red velvet cake should be.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee September 08, 2007
Red Velvet Cake