Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2010

      I've made this cake 4 times since I found your recipe, but I didn't use food coloring. I used 2/3 cups pureed beets. I also wanted more of a chocolate flavor so I used 1/3 cup good quality cocoa powder. This cake is AMAZING!!! My family loves it! The frosting is real good too, I was unsure at first about the marshmallow, but it's really good. Tonight I'm making your cake with your frosting in between the layers and white chocolate ganache on top. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2009

      This is sooooo good! I saw mediocre reviews for many red velvet cake recipes on the net and decided to go with this one and I'm so glad. It is moist and flavorful. The frosting is creamy and the marshmallow makes it a bit lighter than regular cream cheese frosting and it is fabulous! I added an extra tablespoon of cocoa, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I will make this cake again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      I made this recipe as a sheet cake, using just a 9 x 13 glass dish, and I lowered the temp to around 335 F, and baked it longer. I used all-purpose flour & cornstarch to make my own cake flour. I also made my own buttermilk using milk & vinegar. Look up the directions on the internet. It's two ingredients that I didn't have to go out and buy! Although I did have to go to our craft store just to get the Wilton food coloring. The end result was DIVINE- everyone LOVED it, light and delicious with the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      I decided today to have a Red Velvet Cake Off in my kitchen. I wanted to see how the four highest reviewed cakes on the Zaar stacked up against my Grandma's recipe. I made hers first and picked yours up just now and discovered it is exactly the same! Hers has always been my favorite, so I'm giving yours 5 stars! :). I have no doubts it will remain the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      I've never had nor made a red velvet cake before, but when I was recently asked to make one for a birthday I went recipe hunting. This one stood out to me, especially due to the unusual frosting recipe. The batter was a great consistency and very easy to work with, and rose beautifully in the oven (I used one 9x13 and baked my cake 35-40 mins). The frosting is a dream, one of the best cream cheese frostings I have made! The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla. I also made a simple sugar syrup (1 to 1 ratio of water to sugar, heated on low until uniform) which I brushed over the cake to keep it moist overnight. The entire cake turned out gorgeous and got rave reviews. Not overly sweet, light and moist, this is a wonderful recipe and the only one I'll use for red velvet! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I followed the recipe to a tee and this is a wonderfully light and moist cake which deserves 5 stars. The frosting, however, took it to another level! Not overly sweet, smooth and creamy. This is the best frosting I have tasted EVER (and I have tried many in over 20 years of baking) and will be my go to frosting recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2011

      WOW! This cake was UNBELIEVEABLE!!! I messed up the first time I tried but 2nd time was a keeper! I increased the baking cocoa to 1/3 cup, kept the 2 oz of red food coloring and used the frosting recipe included w/ marshmallow cream and it was DREAMY! The cake was good but with the frosting it is above and beyond delicious. I am DEFINITELY keeping this red velvet recipe. THANK YOU! Made this into cupcakes--pictures shown above & peppermint sprinkles tasted good well cake & frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This cake was AMAZING. It was very moist with great flavour. I used a different cream cheese icing, (one with less sugar) and chocolate ganache between the layers. Thank-you for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Awesome. I increased the cocoa to 3 tablespoons; used Wilton's "tasteless" icing color; baked the cake in three 8 oz. cake pans, and used another cream cheese frosting since I didn't have any of the marshmallow. I'll definitely be making this cake again and will certainly try your frosting recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This cake recipe would be hard to improve on. I did eliminate 1 oz of the red food coloring and substituted 1/2 cup pureed beets (you can't taste the beets). It was super moist and light. It was just what a red velvet cake should be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      well i had two recipes i had to choose from to make a red velvet cake and when i looked closer i found they were identical except the other one only used 1/2 tsp salt.. so i went with that! i didnt make this frosting though just my regular cream cheese frosting and boy did people love this cake! i actually made a small cake and a dozen cupcakes for a class and i've never seen cupcakes dissapear so fast i could have easily fed them another dozen! this was a very simple cake to make so i am going to save it as my staple red velvet recipe! thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Made this cake for a birthday. My family never liked Red Velvet until they had this cake. It won them over! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      What a delicious and beautiful cake. I'm going to a Christmas party in a couple weeks where I'm responsible for bringing dessert and I thought this would be a perfect cake to bring. I made it this past weekend as a test to see if I liked it. Well it passed the test! The color is such a beautiful ruby red and it's moist and has wonderful flavor. In fact, it tasted even better the second day so I would recommend making it the night before you need it. In making the frosting, I found the microwave was the best way to melt the marshmallows.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      This recipe is the best! The cake was moist and delicious! I have been baking for years and this is the best cake recipe I have ever used. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      This is DELICIOUS. Made these into cupcakes, and it made exactly 24. Easy to make, moist and perfect. I used 1/3 cup cocoa as some other reviewers suggested and I personally feel that if I had used any less than that, it would not be chocolately enough. I also tasted the icing first and then decided to add 1 tsp vanilla to it and it tasted much better after the addition of the vanilla. The marshmallow makes for a fluffier but still very creamy icing. It's AWESOME. I don't have a flour sifter, just used cake flour and they came out perfect! Thanks for sharing :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      I have been searching for years for the perfect red velvet recipe... and this is it! The batter is so easy to work with, and makes a very very moist cake. I did cupcakes - this made 12 regular sized and 24 minis. I like that the recipe uses butter in stead of oil. Don't worry about the amount of salt - it's perfect. Thanks for the amazing recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      I also was looking for a special birthday cake recipe. The frosting recipe also got my attention. The cake and the frosting are wonderful! Enjoyed it very much. You could use this yummy frosting on other cakes like carrot cake yum yum! Thanks for finding this recipe and sharing it here with us. It was worth the obession. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      I tried this recipe yesterday for my husband's birthday party the cake turned out okay, my guests loved it, but I still did not find the cake as moist as expected. Maybe, next time I would like to use oil instead of butter just to compare the consistency. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Forgot to rate this! Made for my daughter's engagement. First time making red velvet, so nothing to compare it to, but it was really nice. Made exactly as directed, encountered no problems, and was blessed with a lovely and very delicious cake. Thanks for posting, will make again! ~Messy44

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      This is perfect! I used all purpose (all I had...but did the minus 2 tbls for each cup) So good...followed recipe exactly but did not use that frosting (had no ingredients for that...) This was not super dense like the ones they have in restaurants...which was nice. I made a mistake though....forgot to grease the pans!! DO NOT FORGET! It was very delicious...just a little misshaped. I would highly recommend using wax paper to just pop them out of the pans though. I used a 7 minute frosting for it. Half the cake is already gone and I made it today

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 970.3
     
    Calories from Fat 401
    41%
    Total Fat 44.5 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 21.6 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 139.9 mg
    46%
    Sodium 745.0 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 138.1 g
    46%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 99.6 g
    398%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites