Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Velvet Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Velvet Cake

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2002

      I never heard of Red Velvet Cake until my first experience in New Orleans recently. I came home and looked on Recipezaar and there it was! Thank you Sharlene for this amazingly delicious dessert. I made it today for my husband's birthday tomorrow! I only used two layers for his cake and saved the third one for him alone to enjoy. I tasted it and it is awesome. To ice the cake, I used a cream cheese icing and added some coconut and chopped nuts. Between the layers, I smeared a thin layer of the same icing and cut fresh strawberries slices to nestle in between. It came out absolutely delicious! I'll be making this over and over...Thank you again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      I made this cake and it came out perfectly! Looked delicious, tasted even better. :D The icing was very unique. Extremely smooth. It tasted a bit like vanilla ice cream and whipped cream to me. Delicious and not too sweet! It paired wonderfully with the cake - maybe even better than the cream cheese icing that I normally use!

      I made this cake for a friend's December birthday, and decorated it all christmassy. :) I even dyed the icing green to pair with the red of the cake - it came out beautifully - I'm uploading a picture as I write!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      THIS is the recipe to go with! I baked two 9" layers for about 28 min, and they couldn't have come out better. Cake was light and fluffy, but with rich flavor. The frosting was surprising. When refrigerated, it solidified to a perfect texture. My guests gobbled it up completely - will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      My 22 yr old daughter had heard about Red Velvet cake and was keen to try making it, so we tried this recipe, which overall has been well-reviewed. She chose to make it into cupcakes, as she wanted to share it with her friends. She found it easy to prepare, like some reviewers she found it a little dry, we dont know whether this could have been due to making cupcakes and adjusting the cooking time. However, my DH really enjoyed the cakes and felt they were perfect. She will definitely try this again, making a full cake next time. Thank you for sharing a good recipe, this was made for Think Pink, October 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This recipe was the best red velvet c.ake I have made. I got rave reviews and requests for more! I did not use the icing recipe because I covered the cake in fondant

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      I began dropping red food colouring in with the cocoa powder and ran out after a few drops. Decided there wasn't much point to it other than the shocking colour effect. I think there's too much flour in the recipe to balance out the eggs and buttermilk. Either lessen the flour by half a cup or increase the buttermilk by a quarter cup (50ml). Nice soft texture. The frosting didn't have much flavour in it, so I added a little more powdered sugar and a bit of lemon oil and lemon juice, which was fine. The frosting held together well on the cake overnight out on a cold balcony. Thank you for my first (non-)red velvet cake experience!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      Yum!!! i made this into red velvet cupcakes for valentine's day and they were delicious!!!! So now i'm making it again for our french club mardi gras party! Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      I amde this for my daughters 16th bday as a surprise and she loved it and so did we. I cooked three cakes for about 23 min and they came out perfect. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Instead of red velvet cupcakes, I made these into Green Velvet cupcakes by changing the food coloring from red to Green. I didn't have any cocoa in the house or spare $$ to go out and buy some, therefore, I substituted with 1/3 chocolate pudding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      Delicious! 35 minutes made it a little dry in my oven, but the flavor and texture were excellent. Next time, i am going to stop at 30 minutes and it will be PERFECT.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Great cake! It comes out moist and holds together very well. I used cream cheese frosting instead of the recipe listed. A big hit all around!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Make this for the Boyfriends Birthday per his request. The only adjustments I had to make came after they spent a touch too much time in the oven (Darn Multi-tasking). I Mixed a little amaretto and cherry juice and brushed it over the layers to give it a little extra moisture. I also used whip cream in between layers instead of all frosting. Thank you very much for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      This was the first Red Velvet cake that I made from scratch. It was delicious. I took it to work and there was not a piece left. Everyone kept telling me how delicious it was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      I made this for my step-daughter's birthday. i was really paranoid about a homemade cake b/c she's more of a box cake connoisseur (what 13 year old isn't these days?). Anyway, we didn't have 8" pans, so I did two 9" layers instead. I only cooked it for about 25 minutes. I found it to be delicious and moist. Even the birthday girl loved it! She had requested cream cheese frosting, so we used #6536 instead of the included white frosting recipe. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      This was wonderful. This was the first red velvet cake I made. Even though I forgot to do step 11 (add the vanilla and vinegar) it came out great. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      This cake looked fabulous and everyone loved it. Personally, I would have liked a little less sugar and a little more cocoa, but that can be fixed next time I make it (and I will). Many thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I made this cake, and it was moist and delicious! It was very unique here in Finland, where cakes typically are quite different. I'm sure I'll make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      This was delicious!! I chose to make this a 2 layered cake b/c I only had 2 8” pans. And it turned out really good. The cake was very moist and tasted great. With the frosting I used granulated sugar instead of confectioners sugar b/c I don’t like the taste of confectioners sugar and when I have made Red Velvet cake in the past the recipes called for granulated sugar so that is what my family likes. Also I didn’t use a full ¼ cup of red food coloring I only had 1/8 cup and it worked just fine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      My mom makes this cake every Christmas. It is a family favorite. She uses granulated sugar in the frosting though instead of powdered sugar, plus a tad more butter than is called for. We do 2 layers instead of 3. Thanks for posting. This is such a great cake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      This cake is amazing!!! I would recommend this recipe to any red velvet cake lover. I topped it with a white chocolate cream cheese frosting.......FABULOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Velvet Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 553.4
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    53%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 20.3 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 116.0 mg
    38%
    Sodium 480.1 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.8 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 35.9 g
    143%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes