24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I never heard of Red Velvet Cake until my first experience in New Orleans recently. I came home and looked on Recipezaar and there it was! Thank you Sharlene for this amazingly delicious dessert. I made it today for my husband's birthday tomorrow! I only used two layers for his cake and saved the third one for him alone to enjoy. I tasted it and it is awesome. To ice the cake, I used a cream cheese icing and added some coconut and chopped nuts. Between the layers, I smeared a thin layer of the same icing and cut fresh strawberries slices to nestle in between. It came out absolutely delicious! I'll be making this over and over...Thank you again!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingerbee April 29, 2002

I made this cake and it came out perfectly! Looked delicious, tasted even better. :D The icing was very unique. Extremely smooth. It tasted a bit like vanilla ice cream and whipped cream to me. Delicious and not too sweet! It paired wonderfully with the cake - maybe even better than the cream cheese icing that I normally use!

I made this cake for a friend's December birthday, and decorated it all christmassy. :) I even dyed the icing green to pair with the red of the cake - it came out beautifully - I'm uploading a picture as I write!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crys804 December 11, 2010

THIS is the recipe to go with! I baked two 9" layers for about 28 min, and they couldn't have come out better. Cake was light and fluffy, but with rich flavor. The frosting was surprising. When refrigerated, it solidified to a perfect texture. My guests gobbled it up completely - will definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpants February 25, 2009

My 22 yr old daughter had heard about Red Velvet cake and was keen to try making it, so we tried this recipe, which overall has been well-reviewed. She chose to make it into cupcakes, as she wanted to share it with her friends. She found it easy to prepare, like some reviewers she found it a little dry, we dont know whether this could have been due to making cupcakes and adjusting the cooking time. However, my DH really enjoyed the cakes and felt they were perfect. She will definitely try this again, making a full cake next time. Thank you for sharing a good recipe, this was made for Think Pink, October 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth October 10, 2011

This recipe was the best red velvet c.ake I have made. I got rave reviews and requests for more! I did not use the icing recipe because I covered the cake in fondant

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PharmDoni December 13, 2010

I began dropping red food colouring in with the cocoa powder and ran out after a few drops. Decided there wasn't much point to it other than the shocking colour effect. I think there's too much flour in the recipe to balance out the eggs and buttermilk. Either lessen the flour by half a cup or increase the buttermilk by a quarter cup (50ml). Nice soft texture. The frosting didn't have much flavour in it, so I added a little more powdered sugar and a bit of lemon oil and lemon juice, which was fine. The frosting held together well on the cake overnight out on a cold balcony. Thank you for my first (non-)red velvet cake experience!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RotiJala November 09, 2010

Yum!!! i made this into red velvet cupcakes for valentine's day and they were delicious!!!! So now i'm making it again for our french club mardi gras party! Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil'chef_3 February 22, 2009

I amde this for my daughters 16th bday as a surprise and she loved it and so did we. I cooked three cakes for about 23 min and they came out perfect. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mxmxn02 December 12, 2008

Instead of red velvet cupcakes, I made these into Green Velvet cupcakes by changing the food coloring from red to Green. I didn't have any cocoa in the house or spare $$ to go out and buy some, therefore, I substituted with 1/3 chocolate pudding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isabelle Guns November 16, 2008

Delicious! 35 minutes made it a little dry in my oven, but the flavor and texture were excellent. Next time, i am going to stop at 30 minutes and it will be PERFECT.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dirty Bird November 14, 2008
Red Velvet Cake