21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so delicious. Thanks Inez for another simple is better recipe. The lemon butter sauce over the pan-seered red snapper was just fabulous. Couldn't have been any easier. My family and I loved this. ;)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 02, 2002

Just like the stars state...perfect! Guess I could use a wee bit less butter for the final stage each time I make it. BUT, this is the fish that your remember in your best restaurants. I did add almonds to the final stage of browning the snapper and it was a wonderful thing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homegourmet February 25, 2010

Boy, am I glad I found this recipe! We were given a large amount of snapper that had to be fixed fast. This was PERFECT! Sooo quick and easy, the kids 'snapped' it up, and even the person who gave us the snapper (our bene'fish'iary??!) said it was the only fish dinner they'd ever actually liked. We had it three times that week, trying to use up all the snapper, and dh and the kids raved about it every time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki November 27, 2003

Great simple and not salty. Husband who does not care for fish liked it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twaym April 09, 2008

What a fantastic easy recipe with great taste! This is a snap to prepare! Because I received a long distance phone call while browning the fillets, I pre-heated the oven to 250 degrees to keep the red snapper warm until I was ready to make the lemon butter sauce. I browned the fllets exactly 3 minutes/side and they were perfect! I like to sprinkle Old Bay Seasoning on my fish which I did after drizzling on the sauce. Try it - you might enjoy it!We believe this is a fish dish we will proud to serve to guests. This recipe is a keeper - thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debaylady January 29, 2008

This is the best!!! The time was way off, but then again we had some fresh caught snapper and it was about 4 inches thick. It was my fault never really thought about the size difference. Anyways it still turned out GREAT and the sauce was the best. We just keep eating to get more of the sauce. The BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oopsmakes3 January 11, 2004

Absolutely wonderful!!! My son loves snapper and he thought this was wonderful, as did the rest of us!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitina June 05, 2002

We cook a ton of trout which certainly has a stronger "fish" flavor and I have several favorite recipes which are pretty good. We've never had snapper previously and I was skeptical. However, this recipe was so good that I'm afraid my wife will start making me leave my caught trout in the stream. Thanks a lot, I think. <br/><br/>The Snapper had a very subtle blend of lemon and butter which did overload the fish. Made with flash frozen Snapper caught in a BC fishing excursion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitterhill August 08, 2014

What a winner!!! When the canola oil was running low in the pan, I added 99% fat free and 66% sodium free chicken stock. When the fish was cooked I set them on a plate while I prepared the lemon butter sauce. Instead of real butter I used Smart Balance Original. The fresh squeezed lemon juice brought it to perfection. I transferred the fish back to the pan with the sauce. I served the fish with small red new potatoes and green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beloved1023 December 12, 2013

This recipe was very easy and really good! I had a small problem with my fish not being totally cooked, was going to finish it in the oven, but at the last minute I decided to just throw it into the pan with the lemon sauce and cook it a little more. It was fantastic! My kids (even my daughters who are not fish fans) loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly H. November 15, 2013
Red Snapper With Lemon Butter