21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

"Damn yummy"! That's what the husband said and I have to agree. The family sucked it down and was scraping the platter for the extra sauce. I served it on a bed of linguine with cauliflower and a green salad. Followed the recipe exactly except due to the abundance of tomatos in my garden use fresh instead of canned.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Junction City, OR September 02, 2010

Wonderful! I made this according to the recipe, except I added about 4 times the amount of red pepper. Hubby agreed, this one is a keeper! Thanks-

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon January 14, 2010

I accidentally thought I'd purchased red snapper... and realized when I took it out of the fridge, it was cod! Let me tell you, however... this dish worked WONDERFULLY with cod. It was 'steakish' like and both DH and I adored it. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 November 18, 2006

Greeeat recipe. A true super-food entre. I love the presentation. Kinda like a genovese I have done with Mahi. If you don't like olives you could use artichoke heart and maintain the zesty taste. Thanks for sharing gibson

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dontsay123 January 16, 2006

This was very, very good!! I may try doing a whole snapper and stuff it with the mixture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitina November 13, 2002

Very good made with whiting fillet using canned tomatoes ( Hunts spicy) and the cilantro sub for parsley added great flavor. I also simmered (covered) on the stove top for about 15-20 min instead of oven baked and served with mashed potatoes for a quick weeknight meal. We also tried whole snapper but preferred the whiting for taste and convinence

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez 4411 chef August 04, 2014

I did this recipe on the grill wrapped in foil. Used cod and added capers, not too much liquid. Great summertime meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marich July 05, 2011

This recipe was good, but I would likely try something different with the Snapper next time. I omitted the olives, as i do not like them. I even added salt tand pepper, but still found it to be a bit bland. The fish was tender, however and tasted good with the tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenmiller_thyme February 15, 2011

Love this recipe!!! What a great way to use fish!! I am unable to eat garlic due to an allergy :( but my husband and I still found this flavorful without it. I also subbed out Kalamata olives for black ones, and I added green olives instead of capers (personal preferrence). We also loved the heat of the red pepper in it. Served it over a bed of white rice, absolutely delicious! I think I may also try adding some feta as mentioned, sounds good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garnet415 July 29, 2010

I personally thought this was great. My husband and son were ambivalent. I may not have used enough tomatoes -- I was trying to use up cherry tomatoes from my garden. I subbed Kalamata olives for the black olives and a little feta cheese too as other reviewers suggested. I also added some white wine to make it a little "saucier" since my fresh tomatoes weren't as juicy. All in all a good recipe that would probably be good for company.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCinLA July 28, 2010
Red Snapper Livornese