32 Reviews

We loved this salad. I have never made a potato salad with pickle juice and chopped up dills. DH kept eating and eating and eating, that to me is the biggest compliment. Thank you for sharing, its a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 12, 2013

Great potato salad. Loved all the dill flavors. Served it chilled, will try warm next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound September 02, 2012

Oh my gosh is this potato salad good! I always make my grandma's recipe that my mom taught me how to make and we love that and this one is right up there with grandma's. Wouldnt have a problem serving this one warm especially with my DH always wanting a "taste" which is a small bowl full. Liked using the red potatoes for a change, not a lot of hard boiled eggs, the red onion has a milder flavor, and love dijon mustard. This potato salad will be made often! Thank you hon for sharing your recipe! Made and reviewed for the Australian/NewZealand Forum's Recipe Swap #65 - June 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 July 01, 2012

I really wasn't sure about this one, but decided to try it. WOW am I glad. I don't think I let the potatoes drain quite enough, but no problem. They still soaked up the dill juice (and maybe a little water). I think I added the mayo mixture before they were cool enough, but again, no problem. I couldn't wait to try it, and even warm, delicious!!! Can't wait for this bowl of potato salad to get cold, and sit a while. I used Nathan's pickles and pickle juice, and Kraft mayo, and made my own buttermilk. Wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ June 04, 2012

Super easy! I was looking for something just a little bit different that my usual recipe and this is a keeper. I didn't have buttermilk and only had normal potatoes but still turned out fab. I upped the amount of mustard but that is just personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zamgirl September 23, 2011

WOW - I'm not usually a fan of potato salad - would leave it at a potluck for sure....but was intreaged by this because I love dill pickles....now I only used a 2 lb bag of small red potatoes as we are a small family and YES it's wonderful warm or at room temp - probably better than cold! Very easy to make as well. Also, I used dill relish rather than cutting up dill pickles for convenience.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook April 30, 2011

Yum! Almost ashamed to admit but when I tasted it while warm to check seasoning.....why do you have to cool it down anyways? It was great warm. It is equally delicious cold. I just came in to post my five star review and that I had followed the recipe exactly and in reading the other reviews realized I had not added mustard. I went back and added it and yep....still a FIVE! I've spent fifteen years trying to duplicate my husband's Mom's potato salad and now....I'm claiming my own "style" and this is it. Maybe someday my son can tell his wife she can't make potato salad like his mom did! :) Thanks for a great recipe. It was for tomorrow's Easter meal but I have a feeling we will have only macaroni salad left.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen April 23, 2011

We really liked this recipe. Not too many ingredients to overwhelm you in this, just enough. Really great flavor, I made as is with adding a little more mustard and salt to taste. Thanks for posting, this may be my "go to" potato salad recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetcakes September 09, 2010

It was very good I like the buttermilk. I think that made a diffrence. I left out the eggs, I am not a big fan of them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hprothero August 23, 2010

this potato salad was out of this world!! made as written but omitted the egg and sugar, personal pref. i also used a a bit more mustard, a combination of whole grain and dijon. yummy!!! this is a great addition to any bbq! will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KPD June 30, 2010
Red Skin Dill Potato Salad