Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Root Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Root Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2011

      Wow, this was incredible. Took over an hour to chop everything, but that was with a 3-year-old and a 6-year-old "helping". I did add a bit of salt in addition to using regular-sodium vegetable broth, and topped with sour cream and pepper. Immersion blender was a dream for this. Kids hated it, but we'll still be making it again, it was SO good. Served it with the beet greens sauteed and whole wheat rolls.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2010

      What a beautiful healthy soup! This does take awhile to make, but is totally worth it. After adding the curry, I gave it a taste and threw in some additional salt... more curry might have done the trick but I was afraid it would get too spicy for DS. Makes a great big pot with very few calories - that's my kinda meal! I'd make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2010

      Made this great tasting soup pretty much as given, but I did substitute a homemade vegetable broth for the chicken kind (keeping my family's vegetarians in mind)! I was particularly impressed with the flavor combo (beets, carrots, potatoes) & another time I might just use a large russet along with a sweet potato ~ Love those veggies! Thanks for a great soup! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Great Halloween soup for the color. I didn't have leeks or shallots, so substituted 5 onions. Should have used 4 onions, and I should have sauteed them first. I added two extra potatoes. I made the whole soup non-dairy, then added a spoonful or two of goats milk yogurt to each bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      This is a nice, healthy soup. I used my crock pot to cook the vegetables overnight (8 hours on low), then blended it and added the milk the next day. I could tell, a little bit, that there was no fat at all in the soup...I might mix in a little bit of sour cream next time I make this. Other than that, I really liked this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I used a small white onion for the shallots and green onions for the leeks. I may try this again when I get shallots and leeks in my co-op box (and hopefully beets too). I added 2 stalks celery and 1 more cup of chicken broth. It has a nice red color, but I felt it needed a bit more flavor (even with the curry and 1 added tsp salt). I added a dollop of curry sauce and yogurt to my bowl and that seemed to perk it up. Maybe I'm just not used to the beet flavor. I used my hand blender to blend everything in the pot (love that thing!) It does make a lot, so I'll have to freeze the finished product.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      Mmmm... this is very good! It is so simple and so healthy and so comforting and so easy (okay, I'll stop now) I'll be making this frequently when fall comes! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly, and it was surprisingly easy. I would say that when the recipe says to use a large pot, it means LARGE. I'm so used to cooking in a 2 qt pot that I started with a 6 qt, and it was definitely too small. Use a large stock pot. The soup comes out a pretty red color, and is a great low cal healthy soup full of veggies. Unless you serve huge bowls of soup, I would guess this at more like 12 servings. I filled 4 small cartons & a Cool Whip carton after having a hearty bowl for dinner. I'll be freezing a bunch and giving some away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Root Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (453 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 195.2
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    26%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 159.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    48%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites