13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tweaked it a bit: 1 3/4 c. chicken broth, 3/4 c. hot salsa, pinch of salt, T butter, 1 c. long grain rice. Bring all but rice to boil, then add rice and simmer for 15 minutes. Place in casserole dish, sprinkle with Mexican Cheese, cover, place in oven at 250* to keep warm and melt cheese while preparing the rest of the meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmeadors6158 March 26, 2011

This was good and easy. I took some suggestions and used about 1 cup of salsa. I also used a vegetable bouillon cube (1/2 of a Knorr cube) and a cube of cilantro (also like a bouillon cube from Knorr). I cooked it in my rice cooker (my favorite kitchen appliance. I can't cook rice to save my life! Hail to the rice cooker! LOL) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chele D June 23, 2009

A nice, simple, complimenting sidedish for our chicken tacos. I would recommend increasing the amount of salsa to 3/4 - 1 cup, as it loses it's bite with cooking. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ June 23, 2008

This gets 5 starts with my few easy changes/additions. I've been preparing Mexican rice this way for years. The exceptions include sauteeing the rice with some chopped onion and a couple cloves of finely chopped garlic in about a tablespoon of cooking oil until rice is nicely toasted (not dark, just tan). I either use a salsa (I like medium heat) or a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilis -- choose your heat level. Add enough water to your salsa or Rotel to equal a bit more than 2 cups of liquid. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, add a lid to your pot and set timer for 20 minutes -- no peeking. Awesome Mexican Rice is the result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie March 28, 2008

This was a nice simple way to give plain rice a bit of flavor. I eyeballed the amount of salsa I put in, but I think I went with a bit more than it called for. It went VERY well with Cheesy Mexican Chicken and some refried beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer March 25, 2008

This was very good, and I followed the measurements exactly. But then I tasted it, and realized that the salsa lost a bit of its bite, so i added a bit more to the whole batch and the taste improved.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef March 05, 2008

It was ok. We ate it but I am not sure I am going to make it again. Reason being it tasted kinda plain to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bovibovi25 October 24, 2007

This was super easy. I served it as a side dish for tacos. I made mine in the microwave, because I prefer that to stoptop. I put all the ingredients in a microwave bowl covered and pushed my rice button. SOOOOO Easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsSally June 26, 2007

Very easy recipe, using ingredients which are probably already in your cupboard, to give your simple rice dish a kick. I added more salsa as well, about 3/4 cup. I would also recommend using vegetable broth instead of the water, and adding a little cheese if you wish, but it was just fine as is. I ate mine with lots of hot sauce:D Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend June 24, 2007

Real simple and delicious! I did add 3/4 cup salsa after reading the other reviews. I also just tossed it all in my rice cooker, stirred it up and turned it on. It came out perfect! Thanks Mandy, this one will be made again and again at our house. And I can see the variations you can make with different salsas!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alskann June 20, 2007
Red Rice (Salsa Rice)