Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Rice (Salsa Rice) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Rice (Salsa Rice)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2011

      Tweaked it a bit: 1 3/4 c. chicken broth, 3/4 c. hot salsa, pinch of salt, T butter, 1 c. long grain rice. Bring all but rice to boil, then add rice and simmer for 15 minutes. Place in casserole dish, sprinkle with Mexican Cheese, cover, place in oven at 250* to keep warm and melt cheese while preparing the rest of the meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      This was good and easy. I took some suggestions and used about 1 cup of salsa. I also used a vegetable bouillon cube (1/2 of a Knorr cube) and a cube of cilantro (also like a bouillon cube from Knorr). I cooked it in my rice cooker (my favorite kitchen appliance. I can't cook rice to save my life! Hail to the rice cooker! LOL) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      A nice, simple, complimenting sidedish for our chicken tacos. I would recommend increasing the amount of salsa to 3/4 - 1 cup, as it loses it's bite with cooking. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      This gets 5 starts with my few easy changes/additions. I've been preparing Mexican rice this way for years. The exceptions include sauteeing the rice with some chopped onion and a couple cloves of finely chopped garlic in about a tablespoon of cooking oil until rice is nicely toasted (not dark, just tan). I either use a salsa (I like medium heat) or a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilis -- choose your heat level. Add enough water to your salsa or Rotel to equal a bit more than 2 cups of liquid. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, add a lid to your pot and set timer for 20 minutes -- no peeking. Awesome Mexican Rice is the result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      This was a nice simple way to give plain rice a bit of flavor. I eyeballed the amount of salsa I put in, but I think I went with a bit more than it called for. It went VERY well with Cheesy Mexican Chicken and some refried beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This was very good, and I followed the measurements exactly. But then I tasted it, and realized that the salsa lost a bit of its bite, so i added a bit more to the whole batch and the taste improved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      It was ok. We ate it but I am not sure I am going to make it again. Reason being it tasted kinda plain to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      This was super easy. I served it as a side dish for tacos. I made mine in the microwave, because I prefer that to stoptop. I put all the ingredients in a microwave bowl covered and pushed my rice button. SOOOOO Easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      Very easy recipe, using ingredients which are probably already in your cupboard, to give your simple rice dish a kick. I added more salsa as well, about 3/4 cup. I would also recommend using vegetable broth instead of the water, and adding a little cheese if you wish, but it was just fine as is. I ate mine with lots of hot sauce:D Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      Real simple and delicious! I did add 3/4 cup salsa after reading the other reviews. I also just tossed it all in my rice cooker, stirred it up and turned it on. It came out perfect! Thanks Mandy, this one will be made again and again at our house. And I can see the variations you can make with different salsas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      blam!!!done .really easy really good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Simple and tasty. I too will add more salsa next time. Thanks lucid for a quick and great side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Wonderful! This is one of those recipes that I'll go back to many, many times because it takes no longer to make than plain rice and I always have salsa in the house. For once I had no complaints about having rice. We are salsa lovers and I'll probably add more next time. Thanks, Lucid!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Rice (Salsa Rice)

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    75%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 243.8 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites