11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUMMY ! Had some baby reds and good shallots, looking for a new way to serve. Couldn't put potatoes directly on oven rack, too small ! It worked to put them on cookie cooling rack. Cut the butter to 1/4 cup and diced 2 shallots. Taters soft at 30 min, combined everything and put on warming spot on range top while I got everything else together. Served with sauteed scallops and shrimp, and chard from the garden. Lovely, easy prep. Thanks for posting, Rita !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney May 26, 2013

This is quite a unique sauce recipe that is similar to piccata sauce used on chicken and fish. I baked the taters by cutting them in half first. I used green onion (on hand). Otherwise made to specs. Like the others, we also forgot the parmesan cheese. Hopefully next time we won't. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu February 22, 2010

Wow! This is so good. I don't know whats wrong with this recipe but I too forgot the Parmesan cheese. I will just have to make it again and see if adding the cheese takes it over the top. The capers give this such an unusual taste. Something you don't expect in potatoes. Thanks for posting. This is going in my best of 2009 cookbook. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas January 21, 2009

Thnx for posting such a tasty recipe, Rita. I love capers, and this was one of the better recipes using them. Will have this again, you can be sure, Rita.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter May 25, 2008

Wonderful flavor, simple to do and very attractive. Potatos do vary in size, I used right at a pound-then a half-cup butter seemed an awful lot, so I halved the liquid ingredients (you mention "caper juice" in the instructions step 3, but not in the ingredients list so I didn't add any) but followed everything else to the letter. Thanks for posting, Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx July 13, 2005

Excellent dish. As other reviewers have mentioned, the capers really are special in this. We love them, so used much more than called for (also used more shallot and less butter like others) and just a sprinkle of the salt. All the flavors went really well together to make this super delicious. We had this as our only side dish, so it served about 4 for us. I can see why this went into someone's best of the year cookbook, it was that good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito September 24, 2014

Wonderful & full of flavor! DH said we need to have friends over soon to wow them with your red potatoes. I too sliced & roasted my potatoes because I wanted some color on them. I also forgot the parmesan, but will not next time. I served the potatoes with blackened catfish & roasted asparagus. What a fantastic meal thank you so much for posting your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley52 December 04, 2013

Just DELISH! I used baby Yukon gold and OOOPS I forgot to top with parmesan too. I served with Butterflied Baked Jumbo Shrimp and used it on both the roasted potatoes & shrimp. So good! Thanks for another really great recipe Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour November 19, 2011

These were fantastic! I decided to just cut the potatoes up into cubes and roast them in a baking dish drizzled with olive oil for the 45 minutes. They turned out perfect that way and I really loved the sauce. Simple to make and packs a lot of flavor! I even forgot the parmesan cheese at the end and it was still wonderful! Served with Ww Shrimp With Cilanto and Lime - 5 Pts. for a fabulous meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryExplorer April 18, 2008

I love this recipe... i actually use the sauce over fish (my favourite is Mahi Mahi, first dipped in flour and egg and then fried) and serve on couscous. using postatoes and other veges as sides. Yummo! everyone loves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindt6 November 28, 2007
Red Potatoes Roasted With Lemon Caper Sauce