82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is close to the actual recipe Red Lobster uses, from their executive chef. Their dipping sauce does not have sugar in it, but the juice of a whole lemon.. Also, their batter does not use milk, it's the pina colada mix instead. I love this recipe, but does take a little time to make.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katluvr_12087985 March 07, 2011

After reading the first few reviews I had to find out for myself the ingredients of the sauce. I have been a server at Red Lobster for 16 years and never knew the ingredients. As one reviewer said there is nothing sour about this sauce, and I also, would have bet that is was not made with sour cream. Although there is no way of knowing the exact recipe because it is not made in store, the ingredients are listed on the shipping box. The first two ingredients are pineapple and sour cream!!! The recipe for the shrimp is very similar as to how they make them in the store though. I don't know why a server would have told anyone that it is made with yogurt. Personally, that sounds really delicious though!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sadlbum January 26, 2010

Served this for an appetizer for Easter and got nothing but raves!! Everyone loved this and couldn't get enough!! The only change I did was instead of the sour cream, I used Fat Free Vanilla Yogurt as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_78 April 09, 2010

Absolutely delicious! This is my favorite thing to order at Red Lobster. For the sauce, I substituted vanilla yogurt for the sour cream, used creme of coconut in place of the pina colada mix and omitted the sugar. It was all I could do to not eat all the dipping sauce before I even got to preparing the shrimp! For the shrimp, I substituted 1 Tbsp of vanilla rum that I had on hand and 1 Tbsp of the creme of cocunut in place of the coconut rum. The first six shrimp were goners as I didn't use a fryer and didn't know for sure what the temp of my oil was and I charred them in less than a minute as well as set off my smoke detector! But, once I got the temperature right, oh my! Heavenly! Thanks so much for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Laurel November 19, 2009

Very close to the original. The dipping recipe makes a LOT. (Anyone have an idea how long it keeps?) Since others said the shrimp recipe was somewhat labor intensive, I used a pound of large shrimp, which is about a triple recipe. (I had to make extra coating mix to coat them all.) I fried half a pound tonight and froze the other half. That way, next time it's nearly no work! thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"Mrs. Hoops" March 29, 2009

really needs 10 stars. Only bad thing to say is that I didn't have enough and they were gone. Next time making more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbenjamin5 May 14, 2013

Just a suggestion: You can use smaller shrimp -take tails off. Put a number into the flour, then the milk mixture and then put them into bowl of coconut/panco mixture. Place on a parchment lined pan and continue this procedure with remaining shrimp. Therefore no need to butterfly them. But do use fresh shrimp. Sauce is a home run and no need to mess with it except maybe vanilla yogart can be used in place of sour cream.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starcomet2 April 23, 2013

Wow! What s recipe. My daughter and I prepared this for the first time on Valentines'. Wwe haad a house filled with guests and the shrimp were the appetizer. I had what I thought was ample amount of large shrimp. Well I couldnt take the dipping sauce out of the fridge fast enough. Awesome recipe! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Keilty March 03, 2013

Delicious sauce! If you sub the vanilla yogurt in for the sour cream do not add the sugar!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NCSouthernBelle October 14, 2012

This is a delicious recipe...it wasn't exactly like Red Lobster, but a great substitute!! I don't own a deep-fryer so I found a recipe for baked coconut shrimp to see how to bake it in the oven instead. I found a recipe that said to bake 10 minutes/side at 375 degrees and that worked great! The shrimp turned out crispy and they were amazing dipped in the pina colada dipping sauce. Awesome recipe...I can't wait to make it again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nkoprince08 September 29, 2012
Red Lobster Parrot Bay Coconut Shrimp by Todd Wilbur