Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Lobster Parrot Bay Coconut Shrimp by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lobster Parrot Bay Coconut Shrimp by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2011

      This is close to the actual recipe Red Lobster uses, from their executive chef. Their dipping sauce does not have sugar in it, but the juice of a whole lemon.. Also, their batter does not use milk, it's the pina colada mix instead. I love this recipe, but does take a little time to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      After reading the first few reviews I had to find out for myself the ingredients of the sauce. I have been a server at Red Lobster for 16 years and never knew the ingredients. As one reviewer said there is nothing sour about this sauce, and I also, would have bet that is was not made with sour cream. Although there is no way of knowing the exact recipe because it is not made in store, the ingredients are listed on the shipping box. The first two ingredients are pineapple and sour cream!!! The recipe for the shrimp is very similar as to how they make them in the store though. I don't know why a server would have told anyone that it is made with yogurt. Personally, that sounds really delicious though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Served this for an appetizer for Easter and got nothing but raves!! Everyone loved this and couldn't get enough!! The only change I did was instead of the sour cream, I used Fat Free Vanilla Yogurt as another reviewer suggested. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! This is my favorite thing to order at Red Lobster. For the sauce, I substituted vanilla yogurt for the sour cream, used creme of coconut in place of the pina colada mix and omitted the sugar. It was all I could do to not eat all the dipping sauce before I even got to preparing the shrimp! For the shrimp, I substituted 1 Tbsp of vanilla rum that I had on hand and 1 Tbsp of the creme of cocunut in place of the coconut rum. The first six shrimp were goners as I didn't use a fryer and didn't know for sure what the temp of my oil was and I charred them in less than a minute as well as set off my smoke detector! But, once I got the temperature right, oh my! Heavenly! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Very close to the original. The dipping recipe makes a LOT. (Anyone have an idea how long it keeps?) Since others said the shrimp recipe was somewhat labor intensive, I used a pound of large shrimp, which is about a triple recipe. (I had to make extra coating mix to coat them all.) I fried half a pound tonight and froze the other half. That way, next time it's nearly no work! thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2013

      really needs 10 stars. Only bad thing to say is that I didn't have enough and they were gone. Next time making more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      Just a suggestion: You can use smaller shrimp -take tails off. Put a number into the flour, then the milk mixture and then put them into bowl of coconut/panco mixture. Place on a parchment lined pan and continue this procedure with remaining shrimp. Therefore no need to butterfly them. But do use fresh shrimp. Sauce is a home run and no need to mess with it except maybe vanilla yogart can be used in place of sour cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      Wow! What s recipe. My daughter and I prepared this for the first time on Valentines'. Wwe haad a house filled with guests and the shrimp were the appetizer. I had what I thought was ample amount of large shrimp. Well I couldnt take the dipping sauce out of the fridge fast enough. Awesome recipe! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Delicious sauce! If you sub the vanilla yogurt in for the sour cream do not add the sugar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      This is a delicious recipe...it wasn't exactly like Red Lobster, but a great substitute!! I don't own a deep-fryer so I found a recipe for baked coconut shrimp to see how to bake it in the oven instead. I found a recipe that said to bake 10 minutes/side at 375 degrees and that worked great! The shrimp turned out crispy and they were amazing dipped in the pina colada dipping sauce. Awesome recipe...I can't wait to make it again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2012

      this recipe is extremely fab!! I have made this several times, I found that useing the "EXTRA JUMBO" size shrimp lets you get a mouthful size bite I have also made this recipe with the vanilla yogurt and not the sour cream, the sauce is to die for all by its self. It does take a little more than a small bit of time to make but is to soooo worth it when its done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Looooooved it! Especially the dipping sauce. I used fat free vanilla yogurt as recommended by other users, and it was simply amazing! I also had to make my own pina colada mix because I couldn't find a non alcoholic one. I mixed cream of coconut with pineapple juice. Splendid! I moved to UK and im missing red lobster something terrible! I used a deep fryer so that I wouldn't overheat the oil and burn the shrimp, and they came out perfectly golden brown. The only downfall is the amount of time it takes to make. Will definitely save this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Only made the dipping sauce with another breading. Thank you past reviews I changed it up from the original recipe per your suggestions. Used Vanilla yogurt, cream of coconut ( make sure to whisk the entire can together and take out the measurement you need), crushed pineapple and 1T Sugar. Awesome. Wonderful flavor, not sweet correct balance of slight tart and sweet with the shrimp. Thank you all for the tips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      As the last person i have been craving this also but red lobster is not really close to where i live. The Shrimp turned out perfect. I didn't add the rum to the batter casue i wouldn't see myself using again so i used 2 tbsp of the Pina colada drink mix. as for the dip i didn't see the other suggestion about useing vanilla yogart, which i would have much rather used than sour cream(as why i didn't give 5 stars), it wasn't bad but not as good a dip as i remember. It also ended up a little bit running. since i made like 36 shrimp im going to make more dip tomorrow and try w the yogart recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Wow. I only made thew sauce and added a twist. I served it on coconut chicken strips. I was in heaven. It tasted as if I was at red lobster eating their dipping sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Delicious! For the dip, I used 1/2 c vanilla yogurt, 1/4 c coconut milk and 1/4 pineapple instead, it tasted a little vanillay but was really good. I made 1lb of shrimp instead of half a pound and had plenty of the wet batter but had to make more panko breading. Im glad I made a whole pound though! They went fast. This recipe was really easy, and really wasnt too time consuming in my opinion, just be sure to get all the shrimp breaded before you start frying them unless you have someone helping. I'll be making these again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Always a hit! We did bite size bits of chicken breast this time as well as another reviewer suggested and everyone loved them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I used spiced rum and coconut cream for an added kick. Other than that, this is top notch! Great posting. I served this all out for some missionaries as a side with capraise, prime rib roast, and tiramisu. All the different flavors...I almost had them converted!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      The Shrimp recipe is a right on target match - excellent! As other reviewers have said - after you butterfly the shrimp - press flat near the tail to break the tissue and it will curl less. The Dipping Sauce: Tried the recipe while having some of the "real sauce" to compare to. In my humble opinion, the base for this dipping sauce is vanilla yogurt since I made one up, based on other reviewers, just to compare all . I did not tweak anything other than a simple 1 vs 1 replacement of sour cream vs. vanilla yogurt. Net result for my tastebuds - vanilla yogurt won hands down in comparing to the "real' sauce". One quirk, both homemade sauces were not as thick as the "real sauce" even after cooling. The home sauces were like kethcup rather than like a chip dip. Maybe....? Since the Pina Colada mix I used was rather watery I tried one more time by thickening it with cornstarch whisking all the time, since it seemed to break, to the consistency of honey then letting it cool, about 110F/43C, so I didn't mess up the yogurt when added. After mixing and chilling - it seemed to work for me. Big question.. Would I go through the effort of thickening the sauce again to exactly mimic the "real sauce"??? Nope! The "real sauce" is actually too thick and only good for scooping, not dipping those great shrimp! IMHO. btw, eat the sauce, it's only; yogurt, pineapple and some coconut flavoring. I do. Lastly, the Cheese Biscuits Follow the recipe on the Bisquick Box for drop biscuits. Here's the twist beyond the recipe on the box. 1. Add an additional 1/4 OR 1/2 tsp garlic powder to the flour. Also, add to the flour - 1/4+ cup of solid shorting - DON'T use liquid. Cut in with your fingers, best tools, until you have only a bunch of pea sized lumps and a lot of additional powder. Now, add the milk and shredded cheeze then combine by hand until you get a paste, about under 2 minutes or less. Just want to mix in the cheeze throughout the batter. 2. Brush the tops with the butter/garlic sauce ( 1/4 cup butter and 1 T garlic powder) BEFORE being baked not after. 3. Increase baking time by a couple minutes to taken into account adding cheeze. When using a 400F+ oven (204C) things can go up in smoke quickly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      This is a delicious recipe. Simple to make, although a bit time consuming. My husband & I made this tonight together and enjoyed preparing it almost as much as eating it! I used vanilla yogurt instead of sour cream, and eliminated the sugar in the sauce. It was fabulous! Next time I will make up some extra and throw them in the freezer for later. Y-U-M!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lobster Parrot Bay Coconut Shrimp by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (527 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 537.8
     
    Calories from Fat 141
    26%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 61.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 490.5 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.9 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 26.8 g
    107%
    Protein 14.4 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pina colada nonalcoholic drink mix

    Captain Morgan Parrot Bay Coconut Rum


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes