Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Copycat Restaurant Recipes

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    Top 20 Restaurant Clones

    From Cheesecake Factory to IHOP
    Red Lobster Remakes

    Red Lobster Remakes

    Make Your Own Cheddar Bay Biscuits
    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    15 Best Starbucks Copycats

    Skip the Morning Coffee Run
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Lobster Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lobster Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on October 20, 2009

      Good recipe but I prefer more clams. I added many more in addition to 12 additional oz. of bottled clam juice which added much more flavor (had to use a little more thickener after doing this). Also, FYI, if using ground thyme reduce to 1/4 tsp. I also added parsley just as the restraunt and liked this extra touch. It's definitely the best clam chowder recipe I've ever used and will surely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2013

      It needs Clams, stock or clam juice, forget the milk, whipping cream now days is already light enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      I usually don't modify recipes until I make them at least once. We were on evacuation alert for forest fires so I didn't want to stray too far from home. I only had about half the leek I needed, and I accidentally poured out half of the clam juice before I noticed that you use it in the recipe. The only other change was I added some chopped bacon. It is a wonderful chowder (even with my mistakes), we had it with Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits TSR Version of Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits by Todd Wilbur. Divine!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      What a wonderful recipe. I didn't have leeks and omitted the clams. I thought it was to die for. My husband and step-children only found it okay, but I would recommend this recipe to anyone. It is very yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      1 tablespoon of salt ????????????????? WAY TO SALTY! I didn't want to throw it away so I added 3 potatoes, can of corn, grated carrot, 3 to 4 cups of water then I made a paste, I melted some margarine in a sauce pan, added flour and some milk then added it to the soup to thicken it up. I topped it off with some bacon bits. I told my husband it was now a vegetable clam chowder. I gave him a taste, he liked it, and so I didn't have to throw it away after all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      Good recipe. Reduced the salt since I added old bay seasoning. Didn't have leeks but found the soup was good without them. Will make sure I have leeks next time. Replaced the butter with bacon fat for flavour. Made the soup with a copycat recipe of the red lobster biscuits. Yummy!! Husband made sure I printed this recipe off!!! Thanks for the post!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2014

      This is very good and one of the few recipes that doesn't call for some kind of salted pork. however there is waaayyy too much salt in this. I am wondering if it was a typo and should have been a tsp, not a tbles. Otherwise, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      DH & I both did not care for this recipe at all. I followed the recipe exact except doubled the clams. All I could taste was the thyme and onions. Ended up throwing it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2012

      My son was begging me to make chowder, and this is the recipe he picked! We doubled the clams and even added a can of those tiny shrimp (he loves his seafood). Added a bit of extra cream as well. He loved it, three bowls. Thanks for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      I reduced the salt to 1 tsp and added just a pinch of thyme as a personal preference. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This was a pretty good recipe. I liked the celery and leeks as well as the nice creamy base. A few changes for me. I reduced the amount of milk and added some white wine and clam juice. Added fresh thyme and most importantly doubled the clams. A fresh squeeze of lemon at the end of cooking brightened the flavor.
      But an easy recipe with very nice flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Yummmmy!!! We don't get many cold days in Southern California but when we do this is what we crave. Thanks for posting it. Halo Pinero/Corona CA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      this was really easy and delicious. i doubled the and left out the cream entirely. it was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      I was looking for a broth-like clam chowder and this is definitely it. I added two 142 g cans of baby clams and the juice inside and I omitted the heavy cream. I used 2% milk and added another tablespoon of butter at the beginning. Just excellent! Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      This was awful. I was SO looking forward to making this and what a disappointment. I do believe though I learned a lesson in thyme. Dried is obviously different than powdered, which I have here. ?? All I tasted was thyme and this wasn't even edible. I ended up adding sour cream, cream cheese, cheddar cheese, garlic salt, salt and pepper. THEN it was edible and everyone loved it! I didn't, guess the let down of this dish ruined my appetite. :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      This was delicious! And it was even better the next few days for lunch with sandwich or soup! I made as directed, but will try to thicken it some next time! Yummy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Definitely worthy of 5 stars! I'm sorry to say that I forgot to purchase some leeks, so they were omitted from this. Otherwise, the recipe was made as directed. I gotta tell ya, this tasted quite a bit like the clam chowder you get at Red Lobster. I, too, always substitute a cup of the chowder for the salad when we go there. If you've ever had their salad, you know why. Without a doubt, I will make this over and over, it's fabulous! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      I was really looking forward to trying this recipe but was a little disappointed with it. Unless I knew there were clams in the recipe I would not have known. They got totally lost in amongst the other ingredients. Having said that, it was a very nice chowder and I did use less salt as recommended by PaulaG. If I made it again I would double the quantity of clams.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Clam Chowder is one of DH's favorite things and I knew I would have to make this. I did cook 2 slices of bacon until crisp tender, drained off all but a small amount of fat, reserved the bacon for garnish and cooked the diced vegetables in the bacon fat in place of the butter. The recipe calls for 1 cup of minced clams and since my clams came in a 6 oz can I used 2 cans. Definitely used much less salt than the recipe called for. I don't remember ever tasting Red Lobster's chowder but with the changes I made, this is delicious. This was served with crusty bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      very good flavor. I altered the recipe into a low cholestrol veriosn. I replaced butter to olive oil. and I skip the heavy cream. It still taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lobster Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (1724 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 436.0
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    54%
    Total Fat 26.5 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 16.2 g
    81%
    Cholesterol 110.1 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1986.9 mg
    82%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 20.2 g
    40%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites