Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Lentil, Zucchini & Couscous Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lentil, Zucchini & Couscous Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on December 14, 2008

      This recipe was very good! I didn't find it to be bland, but I made very tiny modifications. I used extra celery in place of some of the carrots (grating baby carrots takes too much patience), instead of regular vegetable broth, I used beef-style veg broth, and as suggested by LuckyDog, added a tiny bit of garlic powder. I only had whole wheat cous cous, so I used that as well. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      As some other reviewers said, I found this soup to be a bit bland, at first. I threw in some chopped fresh tomato, for color, and added the following to kick up the flavor a bit: garlic powder, onion powder, lemon juice & a bit of curry powder. I never even added the cous cous because I realized I didn't have any. But, once I added the other spices, the soup was really good. My 4 & 3 year olds loved it - with lots of fresh bread to soak up the broth!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      What a lovely soup! It was so tasty I actually said Wow! after I tried it. I did make a couple modifications. I didn't have zucchini, so I added extra celery. Also I was worried there wasn't going to be enough flavor so I added 2 garlic cloves (to the recipe halved). The garlic probably wasn't necessary, but was really good in this. I also used beef broth instead of vegetable. I, like Annisette don't usually like celery, but even with the extra, since I diced it all really small and cooked it down with the onions, it was just in the background and added to the flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      Excellent. I diced the carrots and zucchini and used chicken broth but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Made for my Nana's recovery from surgery and she loved it. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Great healthy soup. Added lemon juice, cilantro, and curry. I used chicken broth too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Very nice soup! I used my immersion blender to puree the veggies a bit (fussy kids) and I added one large spoonful of pesto for a bit more flavour. Everyone enjoyed it!
      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Made this tonight with a few modifications. Only grated one large carrot and two smaller zucchini, but two stalks celery. Added about 1-2 t. curry powder, 1/2 t. cayenne pepper, onion powder and two cloves garlic. It turned out quite good and was pretty easy to make. Very good with the garlic potato stuffed naan my neighbor brought over!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

    • on July 30, 2008

      This is a good soup. It is probably supposed to be very mild, but we found it a little plain and lacking in flavor. This is with using the broth and adding 2 cloves of garlic, lemon juice and fresh parsley. I also used whole wheat couscous and less salt. DH could not tell there was couscous in this (even when I told him there was). Fed 4-6 people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      This was terrific soup! Very delicious!! Used the vegetable broth option instead of the water and fresh fennel instead of celery (only because I don't care much for celery). Made for the ZWT4 CAFE ZMAAK Gypsies team!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      YUMMY! I love eating healthy soups and this was so delicious and different than soups I usually make! It's a balanced meal in a bowl with full of the vitamins and nutrients you need. :) I used fresh basil instead of dried and broth instead of water. We enjoyed this with some homemade bread. Thanks! Made for ZWT4 - Los Jefes de la Cocina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I loved this soup and I especially loved the couscous in it - beautiful texture, healthy and warming on a winters night . I topped mine with grated cheese. made for ZWT 4 so many thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      This soup was delicious; the couscous added a nice texture. I omitted the carrots and celery (I didn't have any on hand), and used dried parsley and oregano in place of the basil. I would definitely make this one again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      To be honest I was a bit dubious about what this was going to taste like but it turned out to be a really yummy soup. Even my brother who doesn't usually like couscous and celery enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      There is nothing wrong with this soup. (Well, perhaps I would use a bit less salt) It's healthy,good for you, and filling. It just didn't "get me", or I didn't get it. It's nothing I would crave, so I can't give it 5 stars. My husband liked it better, so I'll keep the recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2006

      Just a wonderful soup - never would have thought of adding couscous to soup, but it certainly does work. I did add some fresh parsley, but am not sure that it made a difference. Love the soup! A keeper. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Delicious!! This soup went down a treat, thanks so much for sharing it. It's tasty virtually fat free and very good for you. I cooked mine a lot less than stated but otherwised made it as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2006

      I looked at this recipe this morning and thought, mmmm this will be a nice soup for dinner tonight, well I was wrong..this soup was DELICIOUS! We all loved the flavours and the consistency with the added lentils and couscous. I used chicken stock as I had no vegetable broth, straight to my favourite file, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This was great! Since I love zucchini, I left out the carrots and added more zucchini. Also, before I added the couscous, I blended the soup(I like soups smoother). Other than that, I followed the recipe and it was delicious! Thank you so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2006

      Yum! This is really good, despite its short list of ingredients. Plus, it costs practically nothing to make, and by my calculations is only 150 calories. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lentil, Zucchini & Couscous Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.4
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    66%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 32.1 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites