20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was very good! I didn't find it to be bland, but I made very tiny modifications. I used extra celery in place of some of the carrots (grating baby carrots takes too much patience), instead of regular vegetable broth, I used beef-style veg broth, and as suggested by LuckyDog, added a tiny bit of garlic powder. I only had whole wheat cous cous, so I used that as well. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danakscully64 December 14, 2008

As some other reviewers said, I found this soup to be a bit bland, at first. I threw in some chopped fresh tomato, for color, and added the following to kick up the flavor a bit: garlic powder, onion powder, lemon juice & a bit of curry powder. I never even added the cous cous because I realized I didn't have any. But, once I added the other spices, the soup was really good. My 4 & 3 year olds loved it - with lots of fresh bread to soak up the broth!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyDog September 06, 2008

What a lovely soup! It was so tasty I actually said Wow! after I tried it. I did make a couple modifications. I didn't have zucchini, so I added extra celery. Also I was worried there wasn't going to be enough flavor so I added 2 garlic cloves (to the recipe halved). The garlic probably wasn't necessary, but was really good in this. I also used beef broth instead of vegetable. I, like Annisette don't usually like celery, but even with the extra, since I diced it all really small and cooked it down with the onions, it was just in the background and added to the flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MC Baker July 01, 2008

Excellent. I diced the carrots and zucchini and used chicken broth but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Made for my Nana's recovery from surgery and she loved it. Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz July 25, 2013

Great healthy soup. Added lemon juice, cilantro, and curry. I used chicken broth too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Libbythecook February 06, 2012

Very nice soup! I used my immersion blender to puree the veggies a bit (fussy kids) and I added one large spoonful of pesto for a bit more flavour. Everyone enjoyed it!
Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lunarbean January 21, 2012

Made this tonight with a few modifications. Only grated one large carrot and two smaller zucchini, but two stalks celery. Added about 1-2 t. curry powder, 1/2 t. cayenne pepper, onion powder and two cloves garlic. It turned out quite good and was pretty easy to make. Very good with the garlic potato stuffed naan my neighbor brought over!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bipbip December 04, 2011

This is a good soup. It is probably supposed to be very mild, but we found it a little plain and lacking in flavor. This is with using the broth and adding 2 cloves of garlic, lemon juice and fresh parsley. I also used whole wheat couscous and less salt. DH could not tell there was couscous in this (even when I told him there was). Fed 4-6 people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 30, 2008

This was terrific soup! Very delicious!! Used the vegetable broth option instead of the water and fresh fennel instead of celery (only because I don't care much for celery). Made for the ZWT4 CAFE ZMAAK Gypsies team!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annisette June 26, 2008
Red Lentil, Zucchini & Couscous Soup