9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Suprisingly full of flavour considering the simple list of ingredients. Very warming, great for a chilly day like today or for fighting off colds. My only problem with it is that it didn't make 4 servings. Partly due to me using fresh tomatoes I'm sure, but I think they were so nice in this I would do it the same way again. I ended up adding a cup of veg broth and it worked out well. Next time I would just make a double batch. Thanks Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner February 24, 2012

I've made this soup many times, it is fragrant, tasty and healthy. I usually omit milk and lemon and use a bit more spinach and peppercorns.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eva_anita September 09, 2011

This is really, really good! The only thing I changed is I added more peppercorns, (personal preference), and I added 2 tbsp of chopped fresh parsley. The texture, flavor, and ease of making - makes this a definite keeper. Next time I will make a bigger batch :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaldredey January 13, 2010

This was excellent. Now we just need to learn how to make naan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle from Central Time January 17, 2009

After all the great reviews, I was excited to try this recipe. What a disappointment! I found it to be low on flavor and even lower on presentation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aimeestoller April 04, 2006

This was great. I added cilantro and mint, used canned tomatos, and skipped the milk. The fresh herbs really added to the flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate's Kitchen March 16, 2006

This sounded so good and easy I just had to try it and we weren't disappointed. This made just enough for my husband and myself as part of our dinner tonight, with just enough leftover for my lunch tomorrow. The amount of salt wasn't listed so I added that and some pepper to taste. Delicious soup, thanks for posting this Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude October 12, 2005

Delicious and so easy! I picked this recipe in Zaar Tag to use up some red lentils I bought last year and was I glad I did. All my dh kept saying was this smells and tastes so good -- what's in it? This is so good and so good for you -- this will be a regular for us for no-meat night. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ October 10, 2005
Red Lentil, Tomato and Spinach Soup