20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this! It's great for parties, but when making it at home I use a muffin tin so the leftovers are easy to store! Speaking of leftovers... this makes a killer stuffing for cabbage rolls!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
freshstuff September 26, 2009

Okay, this one had me right from "hello"!!! I have NEVER rated a recipe before making it, but I adore lentils so darn much, and am so impressed by the ingredients in this, that I can tell it will go into the permie file...making some this very day!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante September 11, 2012

My husband & I are very health conscious vegans who eat lentils all the time. My husband, who usually eats anything, refused to eat this meal. He kept remarking about how gross it was. I thought it was OK smothered with some tasty gravy but by itself it was mush and bland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happyherbivore December 02, 2009

So simple yet so delicious! It's addictive and I can't stop! I lined by loaf tin with bacon (English bacon not the fatty American stuff) and it was fabulous! Next time I might add some cheddar cheese to experiment but it's perfect just the way it is. Thank you! Really economical too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sc4r1ett May 10, 2009

I have been making this recipe on average twice a week for the past few months, but forgot to review it until now. This pate is great! My husband mixes it into mashed potatoes, we have added leftovers into the gravy for vegan shepherd's pie, my kids like it just by itself (although with a little barbeque sauce to dip it into). Fantastically versatile and healthy vegan recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
raspberryjello February 22, 2009

First class, I was really surprised how easy it was to make such a delicious pate. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelabaines November 22, 2008

TASTY! I made this as directed with the sesame oil, double the panko whole wheat bread crumbs and regular rice vinegar with a packet of Splenda. I also coated greased muffin tins with toasted wheat germ instead of bread crumbs. I think the veggie stock amount was too much because my lentils were soupy at 20 minutes...I had to cook them longer to evaporate out the liquid. The onions, garlic and herbs smelled really good while being sauteed. These worked out great as little muffin loafs, half a recipe filled 6 muffin tins. Made for the Holiday tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed February 24, 2008

Wow! Fantastic Pate! I used wheat germ in place of bread crumbs (I always do...), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was fantastic. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AspiringCookie July 12, 2007

I thought this was somewhat bland like one reviewer stated. That being said, my boyfriend and I ate almost all 10 servings in one sitting! We usually don't eat leftovers either, but he went back and ate them all. It's bland, but extremely comforting and filling.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samsara October 23, 2006

Don't ya just hate it when you are the only one to give a recipe a low review? I had high expectations of this pate, but we thought the results were bland and relatively tasteless...sort of like baby food. In fact, I fed some to my 12 month old grandson, who ate a few bites before turning up his nose at the stuff. We spread it on bread and on veggies, but just couldn't get excited about it. Sorry Sharon...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema December 31, 2005
Red Lentil Pate