Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Lentil Pate Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lentil Pate

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2009

      I love this! It's great for parties, but when making it at home I use a muffin tin so the leftovers are easy to store! Speaking of leftovers... this makes a killer stuffing for cabbage rolls!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      Okay, this one had me right from "hello"!!! I have NEVER rated a recipe before making it, but I adore lentils so darn much, and am so impressed by the ingredients in this, that I can tell it will go into the permie file...making some this very day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      My husband & I are very health conscious vegans who eat lentils all the time. My husband, who usually eats anything, refused to eat this meal. He kept remarking about how gross it was. I thought it was OK smothered with some tasty gravy but by itself it was mush and bland.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      So simple yet so delicious! It's addictive and I can't stop! I lined by loaf tin with bacon (English bacon not the fatty American stuff) and it was fabulous! Next time I might add some cheddar cheese to experiment but it's perfect just the way it is. Thank you! Really economical too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I have been making this recipe on average twice a week for the past few months, but forgot to review it until now. This pate is great! My husband mixes it into mashed potatoes, we have added leftovers into the gravy for vegan shepherd's pie, my kids like it just by itself (although with a little barbeque sauce to dip it into). Fantastically versatile and healthy vegan recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      First class, I was really surprised how easy it was to make such a delicious pate. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      TASTY! I made this as directed with the sesame oil, double the panko whole wheat bread crumbs and regular rice vinegar with a packet of Splenda. I also coated greased muffin tins with toasted wheat germ instead of bread crumbs. I think the veggie stock amount was too much because my lentils were soupy at 20 minutes...I had to cook them longer to evaporate out the liquid. The onions, garlic and herbs smelled really good while being sauteed. These worked out great as little muffin loafs, half a recipe filled 6 muffin tins. Made for the Holiday tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Wow! Fantastic Pate! I used wheat germ in place of bread crumbs (I always do...), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was fantastic. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      I thought this was somewhat bland like one reviewer stated. That being said, my boyfriend and I ate almost all 10 servings in one sitting! We usually don't eat leftovers either, but he went back and ate them all. It's bland, but extremely comforting and filling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2005

      Don't ya just hate it when you are the only one to give a recipe a low review? I had high expectations of this pate, but we thought the results were bland and relatively tasteless...sort of like baby food. In fact, I fed some to my 12 month old grandson, who ate a few bites before turning up his nose at the stuff. We spread it on bread and on veggies, but just couldn't get excited about it. Sorry Sharon...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

      Herbs and onion combination made this taste great, so I give this 5 stars wholeheartedly. Only problem for me was that it did not stick together at all. With no binder, such as an egg or two, this didn't surprise me too much. My prepared recipe filled a single loaf pan to the top. I also drained lentils even though the recipe didn't specify, and used half olive and half sesame oil and vegetable broth not water. Very tasty recipe, I recommend this highly. Thanks Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2005

      Very good. I used chicken broth to cook the lentils. This has a great flavor. I baked mine in a loaf pan and a mini loaf pan. I should have baked the mini loaf longer than 20 minutes. I have been eating it on Wasa whole grain crackers with Laughing Cow Lite cheese wedges. It's very satisfying, too. Thanks for a healthy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      More than 5 stars. This is one of the best I have ever made on the site. Easy, cheap and fast to do. I made the recipe which gave me 3 mini loaves. We ate half of one hot from the oven. It was mush, but delicious mush. It set up as it went room temp and it is just fantastic. The tastiest veggie thing I have made in a long time. I made it exactly as posted, wouldn't change a thing. I hope it freezes well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      This recipe is delicious! It's perfect for taking to work for lunch. Just for something different, I'm going to try substituting the italian herbs for indian herbs and parsley for coriander.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2005

      Excellent and easy. I actually doubled the recipe and it made a huge batch!!! It produced 4 mini loaf pans (and looked beautiful on the platter) and one regular loaf pan. I gave one mini pate loaf away for a book club meeting (everyone loved)I kept one mini for myself and I am going to freeze ( vaccuum sealed)the remaining as a test. I will re-review how well this works frozen. Thanks Again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      this is an excellent vegetarian recipe. even though i halved the measurements, the result was a pretty chunky loaf, and we tucked into it as is. i didn't think it needed crackers or anything, it's just so delicious that it stands its own ground. my lentils didn't mash too easily (or is it my biceps that need working on), so i used my blender to get a nice smooth texture. i also agree with roosie about the fresh parsley being crucial to the flavor. will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      Wow, what an excellent flavour from something really rather simple. It didn't say to strain the cooked lentils, but I did. I also baked it longer than called for. The end result was moist, although a teeny bit crumbly (possibly because I used RyeVita crumbs instead of breadcrumbs.) I also used a mixture of chicken stock and water to cook the lentils. This is really great. I will be making it regularly for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2004

      Mmmmmm! I halved the recipe, but it still made quite a lot (filled my 9x5 loaf pan about 1-2 inches high). Luckily, it is delicious! We had it on Trader Joe's mini-toasts, which was quite good. BF just had a sandwich with it on rye with mozzarella, olive oil and balsamic and alfalfa sprouts. It has a lovely sweet oniony flavor. I followed the recipe precisely, using half olive oil, half toasted sesame oil, seasoned rice vinegar, homemade whole wheat bread crumbs, chicken broth (I used 1 tsp Better Than Boullion for the 2 1/2 cups water, so it was fairly mild) and split red lentils. I wasn't really sure how watery the lentils were supposed to be, so I just cooked them until they were thick applesauce consistancy (Just so that if I stirred, the lentils would pull away from the bottom of the pot, but farily quickly settle back). Just really lovely! Lovely flavor- pretty orangey-pinkish color. The fresh parsley adds amazing flavor, so I would not leave that out. This was just terrific! Thanks!! Will make again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2004

      This was excellent. I had to use dried parsley and I did not have any vinegar, unfourtunately. I will get some, though, for next time. This has a lovely flavor and texture and was excellent on crackers. I used olive oil infused with garlic (that I got in a food swap!) and it added a little extra garlic-ness. Very nice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lentil Pate

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.3
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    18%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 268.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoned rice vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites