Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Lentil Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lentil Loaf

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2010

      Great recipe, I did add sauteed onions and a lot more garlic to it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      I am not a vegetarian or vegan. That being said, I used an egg and added 1/3 of a cup of parmesan cheese and 1/4 cup of ketchup and served a slice of this loaf along side a piece of meat. I enjoyed it and my husband said it was OK and ate it (which is saying a lot). I cant wait to have the left overs for lunch. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      Minus the oats. Add 1 cup bread crumbs. Add 1 jar of tomato sauce and yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Thanks, this was great! I omitted the egg and used my own brown rice "mix" which includes equal parts of brown rice, barley and bulgur. I topped it with my own homemade BBQ sauce (which I will post one of these days!!) It turned out wonderfully. We took it to an after church potluck and it was a hit with everyone! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      This was alright in my opinion, buy my family loved it. It turned out kind of dry and broke in half when taking out of the pan. I probably contributed to the dryness, i squeezed the carrots and let the lentils drain really well. The soy sauce i think is what made the taste i didn't like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      Step one: Cook your lentils. I will have to make note of that NEXT time I make this. Cook your lentils. I'll update when I re-make this. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Yum!! I had never had or made lentil loaf before and boy was I missing out! The only change I made to the recipe was to take the adice of the other reviwers and added 1 tsp of thyme and an extra garlic clove. I also made Roasted Red Pepper Sauce and served that on top of the lentil loaf. This is definately a keeper that I will be making again! Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Very good. Have made it twice. The first time it was a bit too loose so the second time I added the optional breadcrumbs. That came out perfectly. As I found it a bit on the bland side the first time I decided to up the spices the second time I made it. Added one finely diced jalapeno pepper, two more garlic cloves and a tsp thyme. Will stick with that combination the next time I make it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      We are not vegetarians though we eat a lot of meatless meals. Still, my 7 year olf's favorite foods are in the "pizza, chicken nuggets, french fry" department. So the fact that he loved this as much as he did makes it a winner with me! I used egg whites, leeks instead of scallions, a penzey's spice mix with sage as the first ingredient, and used the optional breadcrumbs. This was beautiful and came out of my well sprayed loaf pan with absolutely no problem. I do think a sauce would only have enhanced this loaf, though I served mine with Sauteed Garlic Mushrooms, applesauce, and stuffing with fruit mixed in. A wonderful meal with the cold weather upon us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lentil Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 216.4
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    56%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 218.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 12.4 g
    49%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites