Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Lentil Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lentil Curry

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      On its own this would be good, however, I wanted more. I used this as a base. I added chopped green onion, mashed banana and some cumin and wrapped it in a tortilla and enjoyed it tremendously. I also have plenty of leftovers to do it again!! Thanks for posting this Sandra.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I loved this recipe! I didn't have chili powder, so I used cayenne. I also added some finely chopped (almost pureed in my food processor) carrots for a bit more flavour. I might add some different vegetables next time. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I randomly bought a bag of red lentils today and this was one of the first recipes my search engine provided me with, so I made it. SO IMPRESSED. I added a bit of garlic in with the onions, some ghost pepper and a little curry paste as well. I'll definitely be making this on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      My family enjoyed this recipe. I added two ribs of celery with the onion, used more spice than specified, and used yogurt instead of milk. It had enough heat, but it didn't have the complexity of flavor I usually enjoy in a curry. Next time, I will add raisins, and maybe some garam masala.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      I think if you liked lentils this would be great. Hubby and I did enjoy this with a little soy sauce and that made it nice. I don't know if I will make again but for an easy vegetarian meal, I would recommend anyone try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      I found this really good but a bit too spicy for me. Next time I'll try adding little less chili powder. Near the end of the meal I thought I'd try home-made plain yogurt on top it was very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2008

      I cook for the children at my son's school and adapted this recipe to feed 60. The kids all LOVED it and my home smelled yummy for HOURS after cooking this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      This is so easy and quick to make, I make it for lunch all the time now! It's also ridiculously healthy, (check out the fibre and protein on this baby!) and by using cooking spray instead of oil and using only water instead of milk, you can cut out a lot more calories - meaning since I've started eating this regularly I've lost some weight! Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Although I didn't eat this dish myself, I made it for my vegetarian daughter who thought it was excellent, and enjoyed it over brown rice. It gets top marks from me for the quick cooking time, and ease of preparation with ingredients we always have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      This was awesome!!! Easy to make, tasty..I needed more water and added to the milk too soon, but this over a bowl of brown rice..talk about comfort food!! Good for you, too!!! Can't beat that with a stick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Great flavor with a bit of zing. I substituted equal portions of coconut milk and water for the milk and water (my husband can't eat dairy). The slight coconut flavor complemented the dish perfectly. I used mustard powder assuming that if it meant prepared mustard it would have said so. Turned out great so I guess that was the right thing to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      The kids loved this. They said it had the taste of McDonalds chicken nuggets! (and for some reason I can't fathom, I agree ). I'm pleased that they will eat something that's both really healthy and easy to make. I made it just as the recipe said and wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      I didn\'t care for this on its own so I used Tebo\'s suggestion and added a mashed banana and chopped green onion. I also added some cream. My husband thought this was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2004

      This was excellent and a welcomed change from potato, rice or pasta. Our family loves baked beans but I got a few strange looks during preparation until everyone had tried it. As far as carbs go, if you're going to have a side dish, lentils is definitely the way to go. This recipe will definitely be one of those 'frequently requested' family carb alternatives!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lentil Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.6
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    23%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 4.2 mg
    1%
    Sodium 72.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 13.3 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites