8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We did not care for it - my husband called it "cumin soup". He tried to eat it, the rest of us went with a frozen pizza. Some notes: I put the rice on to cook first since it takes longer, then added the lentils. I had to google "fresh coriander" to find that it was cilantro. I used yellow onions since I don't know what brown onions are. Overall I'm really annoyed to be throwing out a huge batch of soup after crying over the onions!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loralieva November 15, 2012

If I could I would give this a 3.5 star rating...unfortunately that's not possible! As a whole I liked the fact that this soup was filling and healthy but I wasn't keen on the combination of the onions and the lentils. It still made a nice lunch with massive portions! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose June 18, 2009

I followed the advice from canthelpmyself and cooked the onions first then added the stock, lentils and rice, etc.. As I had leftover chorizo sausages I added 3 of them (chopped up) as well as some achiote seasoning and turmeric. This was very easy to make and extremely tasty. Thank you very much for posting this recip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieD Oz November 30, 2008

was just a little too sweet. Almost liked it better before adding the onions. Does get very thick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 March 16, 2008

A very hearty soup. To me this kind of tasted like French Onion soup without the cheese and bread and with lentils. Very very filling, a wonderful winter soup. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am January 09, 2008

I have made this heaps of times! It is so yummy and healthy. I have never had the fresh coriander for it though and I skip the cumin. I also made it easier by caramelising the onions and then adding everything else and cooking till the brown rice splits. It is so easy this way. I just stick it on and leave it! Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself April 16, 2007

We really liked it but found the caramelised onions a bit strong tasting. Next time I will reduce the amount of vinegar and sugar. I took stardustannie's advice and cooked the rice longer which was necessary. The lentil, rice, stock and cumin combination is simple but really wholesome tasting and the rice gives it texture. The kids wouldn't eat it but who's surprised!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef @Oz September 08, 2006

This is a very simple but tasty soup. As brown rice takes a lot longer to cook than 15 minutes I would suggest you partly cook the rice before adding the red lentils. Do take the time to caramilise your onions correctly as this makes a diffence in the end result. Another great soup added to my collection, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie June 03, 2006
Red Lentil & Caramelised Onion Soup