Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Lentil & Caramelised Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lentil & Caramelised Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2012

      We did not care for it - my husband called it "cumin soup". He tried to eat it, the rest of us went with a frozen pizza. Some notes: I put the rice on to cook first since it takes longer, then added the lentils. I had to google "fresh coriander" to find that it was cilantro. I used yellow onions since I don't know what brown onions are. Overall I'm really annoyed to be throwing out a huge batch of soup after crying over the onions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      If I could I would give this a 3.5 star rating...unfortunately that's not possible! As a whole I liked the fact that this soup was filling and healthy but I wasn't keen on the combination of the onions and the lentils. It still made a nice lunch with massive portions! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I followed the advice from canthelpmyself and cooked the onions first then added the stock, lentils and rice, etc.. As I had leftover chorizo sausages I added 3 of them (chopped up) as well as some achiote seasoning and turmeric. This was very easy to make and extremely tasty. Thank you very much for posting this recip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      was just a little too sweet. Almost liked it better before adding the onions. Does get very thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      A very hearty soup. To me this kind of tasted like French Onion soup without the cheese and bread and with lentils. Very very filling, a wonderful winter soup. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      I have made this heaps of times! It is so yummy and healthy. I have never had the fresh coriander for it though and I skip the cumin. I also made it easier by caramelising the onions and then adding everything else and cooking till the brown rice splits. It is so easy this way. I just stick it on and leave it! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      We really liked it but found the caramelised onions a bit strong tasting. Next time I will reduce the amount of vinegar and sugar. I took stardustannie's advice and cooked the rice longer which was necessary. The lentil, rice, stock and cumin combination is simple but really wholesome tasting and the rice gives it texture. The kids wouldn't eat it but who's surprised!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      This is a very simple but tasty soup. As brown rice takes a lot longer to cook than 15 minutes I would suggest you partly cook the rice before adding the red lentils. Do take the time to caramilise your onions correctly as this makes a diffence in the end result. Another great soup added to my collection, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lentil & Caramelised Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (463 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 536.3
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    15%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 76.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 90.3 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 12.9 g
    51%
    Sugars 10.6 g
    42%
    Protein 27.2 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes