Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Lentil and Swiss Chard Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Lentil and Swiss Chard Stew

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2011

      This recipe kicks serious butt! We went back for seconds last night and I know it will not last long enough to freeze leftovers. I love the way the red lentils cook to nothing and then thicken the %u201Cbroth%u201D. My variations:
      I used 2cups Trader Joe's low sodium chicken broth 1cup water, then added a bit of salt when done. I used 1T butter 1T olive oil. I actually first saw the recipe somewhere else where it is posted exactly the same except it added a comment about the chard "about 12 cups" which I appreciate because there is so much room for variability in "bunches" and I like things to be exact. I also used a different order for adding ingredients. I like to use the stalks as well as leaves of chard but tend to like the stalk cooked more therefore I added the chopped stalks of chard about 10min after onion. Five minutes after that added broth, lentils and garbanzos and brought to boil. After simmering 10 min I then added Chard leaves as I prefer then not overcooked. I did not garnish with yogurt or jalapenos. This really is a stew, not a soup, it is very thick and at first I thought the pot would not take the 8 or so cups of chopped chard leaves I had but it did ( added 3 cups of chopped stalk earlier = 12 cups).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      Five stars for an easy,filling, healthy recipe that is quick to make! None of our (two) grocery stores here had chard so I used spinach, adding it to the pot at the very end, letting it wilt before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      Better the second day!
      So you know, the lentils don't stay we'll formed; they rather dissolve and form the basis of the stew.
      We're curry newbies, so used only 3 tsp and got a gentle kick w/ out added hot sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      This was super easy and really delicious! I used "No Chicken" broth and red chard, served it with toasted naan bread. Yum! Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Great on a cold day! Delicious, quick and healthy, who could want more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      We had a bunch of swiss chard to get rid of at home and I'm trying to practise my cooking, so I thought I'd try out this recipe. It turned out great, and so easy, too! I omitted the chickpeas only because we didn't have any at home, but it was fine without them. I also used a can of brown lentils (rinsed), since that's what we had already. I love the spicy flavour and how nutritious it is! Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2014

      Does freeze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2014

      I made this dish for supper and we loved it! I added a little garam masala and turmeric as well as some salt and pepper. Served it over brown rice - it's definitely a new favourite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2014

      We eat some sort of greens at least once a week.. I saw this recipe and had to try it, I used 1 bunch of organic rainbow swiss chard, that's what I had in the fridge. The bunch consistated of 5 stalks of greens, I too chopped the stems, as I would celery, and added them in with the onion & garlic. I added the curry powder, caynene, black pepper,and 3 ramen packets; 2 oriental and 1 chicken flavor, I hate to waste seasonings, I did not add ANY salt. Added the lentils, chard leaves and 8 cups of water, I also added some leftover mini chicken meatballs, and red sauce I needed to use. Did not use chickpeas, we're not big fans. Simmering now for 17 minutes and ...... WOW! The lentil's desinagrated, into what looks like short grain rice, which is'nt a bad thing. I added alittle more cayane pepper, I really liked this recipe, now I have to try it on the hubby!!!!!! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      Wow!!!!! This is so easy and sooooooooo good!!! I used beet greens in place of chard only because I have a garden full of beautiful beet greens and it's still WONDERFUL!! I also used chicken broth but otherwise stuck to the recipe as stated. I was hesitant to try it but man oh man am I glad I did. I can't wait to make it again and serve it up to my friends and out of town family when they come to visit. Thank you so much for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      WOW, I didn't review this yet. I made this soup this summer when my chard was going crazy. We ate about 1/2 of it and I froze the other half thinking it would make a great lunch time soup. But we ended up eating it one rainy day. I just finished making another 1/2 batch for lunches. The first time I made it I used chicken stock and added some cooked diced chicken and omitted the cayenne. It was awesome. This last time was with chicken stock but no chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      Didn`t look so pretty but it sure did taste great! I used home grown tri color Swiss chard. I added the sliced stems along with the onions to sauteed then followed the recipes, making 1/2 and easily served 4. Didn`t need any cream. Thanks for the healthy eats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Made almost exactly as written but only had chicken broth and chopped up a fresh jalepeno pepper with the onion in the beginning. Really great stuff. I would have to say I probably got 8 to 9 servings out of this though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      Great - let alone quick. I was in same boat, yet another bunch of swiss chard in my produce bin this week - which is great, but wanted to put it to quick use right away. This really fit the bill and tastes great. Thanks Ellie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Delicious!! I prepared some dried garbanzos for this recipe using Cooked Dried Beans - Cooks Illustrated which is a must-try recipe for beans! I also used kale in place of the swiss chard, added 1/2 can of light coconut milk, and adjusted the cayenne for less heat. The result was an amazingly good, healthy, and satisfying meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Excellent dish. Very nutritious and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      OMG ... how can something SOOO good for you be SOOO delicious? I'm another one who found herself with a bunch of chard and no idea what to do with it. I made this exactly as directed, except I left out the cayenne, slightly reduced the curry (I used Keen's Mild Curry Powder) and added a squeeze of lime to each bowl just before serving. The lime juice really brightened the flavour. It was wonderful over brown rice. Mmmmmm ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      I had a large bunch of swiss chard in my weekly vegetable box and didn't know how to cook it. I found this recipe and made the stew. It was fantastic. I make homemade soup/stew weekly during the winter and this is one recipe I'm going to add to my list. I had to add about a tsp of salt since my vegetable broth wasn't seasoned enough. I would highly recommend this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      I made this dish for 40 people, and I had to make up the spices since we ran out of curry powder, but it worked wonderfully. Tasted fabulous, and easy to prepare on a large scale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      A hearty and wholesome dish which I know we will appreciate even more in winter. I made a milder flavoured version as we don't like cayenne pepper or curry, which I therefore omitted. Instead, I added a teaspoon each of dried thyme, cinnamon and cumin. I also added 4 cloves of minced garlic with the onions and I used my chicken stock version of my Vegetable Stock Vegetable Stock in place of vegetable broth, as that is what I currently have a supply of in the freezer. ellie_, I hope you don't mind that I changed this recipe so much. I absolutely loved the idea of those vegetables in a stew but had to change the herbs and spices to suit our taste preferences. Loved this dish and I'll make it again - in winter! Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Lentil and Swiss Chard Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (479 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 617.7
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    16%
    Total Fat 11.0 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 558.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 99.3 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 19.9 g
    79%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes