Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Kidney Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Kidney Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2002

      I am a bean lover. The combination of ingredients looked very interesting so I had to try this. Very good and different which is what I like. Nice sweet-tart taste and oniony. I think my favorite ingredient is the sweet pickles. This made a really nice lunch for me to take to work. Thanks Merlot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      This makes a very good salad or as a side dish when you want something a little different. Very good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2002

      A great combination of flavors and textures.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      Merlot, I “thought” this was just too easy to be THIS good, but it is!! From you, “This is a complimentary dish served by a local upscale restaurant.” I Understand why now, the flavors together are just wonderful, we loved it, thanks for another Fantastic recipe Merlot! Rather a sweet and not-sweet taste, just a great-tasting salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      OMG! I made these for my husband and when I tasted them I was hooked, and I don't even like red beans. These are a delightful side dish to any dinner. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Yummy kidney bean salad! I used a red onion, celery seed, and olive oil with red wine vinegar with garlic since that is what I had on hand. With the sweet pickle relish I didnt add the pinch of sugar and used a bit less mayonnaise. This was so good and such an easy side dish to make! Next time I think I will add a bit of dill pickle relish but will keep everything else the same. Made and reviewed for Kitten's Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Yes, this is good, isn't it! This may become a favorite. Made a third of the recipe using 1 can of beans, no oil, for the two of us. Merlot, thanks for posting . . . . Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Strange that this would be in an "upscale" restaurant, but it was good picnic food. Everyone seemed to like it and leftovers were good. Makes a huge batch, so this is great for potlucks & cookouts. The sweet relish is what makes this recipe - don't leave it out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      This was so easy to make and was really yummy. Every time I took a bite it reminded me of something. I finally figured out that its very much like a good potato salad. I'll be making this healthy and yummy recipe again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Made this yesterday for lunch ~ easy recipe to cut into thirds ~ used one can of beans. Had all ingredients on hand except for celery (which I'll use next time) and left out the oil as it didn't seem to need oil for flavor or moisture. Very good. Ate some right away (just try not to do that) and suspect that today's lunch will be even better than yesterday's! Good for side dish or use to top greens for a wonderful salad (no need for any other dressing!). Thanks so much for posting this easy, tasty, healthy, and inexpensive recipe Merlot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      So good! Just like my mom used to make. I added 3 hard boiled eggs, and 1 tbsp Dijon mustard. This is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2003

      This is a great side salad !! Anyone who likes beans will LOVE this !!! Thank you for posting , Merlot . Very easily made and tastes terrific !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      This brings back many memories. We used to go to restaurants that served this. in southern burbs of
      Chicago, both known for ribs. Homestead and the other House of Hughs. But, Ithought for the onions they used the scallions or green onions. This was over 40 yrs. ago. I made some BBQ Ribs and served this on the side. It was perfect. Thank You for the memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2010

      I love beans and try to eat some everyday. I liked this salad so much I introduced it at work and now we serve it to 1000 people about once per month.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Original Jul 27, 2005: Definitely WAY more than four servings as printed (I think we got about eight), but absolutely wonderful. I think next time I'll cut down on the mayonnaise a bit, as everything was swimming in it, but I'll definitely be making it again. Update: I made this again, but left out the oil and sugar entirely, and increased the celery and onion a bit (probably about 1 1/4 cups of each). I also used regular pickle relish rather than the sweet this time around. Perfectly creamy and tasty using olive oil mayonnaise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2004

      Merlot...I also made this tonight for tomorrows dinner...what a wonderful bean salad, with a great combo of flavors, I just wish I could give it more than 5 stars!!...DH just loves bean salads, he says this is a big time winner (and I surely agree!)...never would have though of adding mayo to a bean salad, but it works!...this is simply wonderful, I can hardly wait to gobble it up with tomorrows dinner...keep up the great work Merlot, I just love all of your your recipes!...thanks for posting... KC :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      What a great way to eat beans! Perfect for a summer salad, and I'm sure I'll be making this often. At first I made half a recipe, then after I tasted it I went ahead and made the rest. Thanks Merlot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      I forgot about today's potluck at work until after I went to bed last night. So I drug myself up and whipped this together in mere minutes. It was so easy to fix! Everyone at the office enjoyed it. It has a great combination of flavors and textures. This one goes into my permanent file! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      A delicious salad, I love kidney beans and always searching for one i will like, my search is now over.My DH even liked this one. Thanks for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      I just made this salad AGAIN......I looked for years for it. My Mother always made it and I loved it, but wasn't sure what was in it. Growing up in Ind., it was well known and appeared on lots of restaurant menues. I did find an old "Hoosier's Cookbook" at a garage sale that had it in it, but then I misplaced the book. So glad you posted it. My daughter asked me to make it today....so just finished putting it in the fridge. My husband doesn't like mayo.....so don't make it as often as I would like, but now I can share it with DD. Sorry I didn't review it long ago. Donna Just adding a note after reading the comment about "too many beans" in the recipe. When I made this today I only had a 30oz.can of beans and was afraid it would be too soupy, but it turned out just perfect with the right amount of sauce. Hope this helps anyone else who doesn't have 3 cans on hand. I should add....I don't add the oil. I really don't know why it is needed. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Kidney Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (496 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 822.3
     
    Calories from Fat 315
    38%
    Total Fat 35.1 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 570.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.4 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 26.4 g
    105%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 30.7 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites