Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Hot & Blue Potato Salad - the Original Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Hot & Blue Potato Salad - the Original

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2012

      I made this potato salad for my fiance's family reunion. He used to work at Red Hot and Blue and was absolutely in love with their potato salad. When he tasted it, he was floored. Thank you for helping me make him so happy. It was also a huge hit at the reunion as well. I've eaten at Red Hot and Blue and this recipe is spot on. So simple and so delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      This is a great recipe! Here is a trick to get the "perfect" hard boiled egg to put in this recipe. Place your eggs in a pot with enough COLD tap water to cover completely by one inch. Bring to a rolling boil over high heat. Once the water is brought to a rolling boil, PROMPTLY reduce heat to a lower medium boil and cook for an additional 10 minutes only. Remove from the heat and IMMEDIATELY place eggs in a bowl of ice water until they are completely cooled (I also peel the eggs in the ice water for easy clean up) This prevents that greenish ring from forming around the yolk and makes the yolks very very bright yellow. Also you must use Hellman's Real Mayonaise, if you don't think it makes a difference, try it....Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      YUM!!! This recipe, which I followed exactly, results in a delicious salad that is just like the restaurant serves. It's VERY easy to make. You don't even need to peel the potatoes! I always boiled my potatoes but steaming the potatoes made a big improvement in the taste and texture. If you need to cut back on salt, I think you could cut the salt in half and still have a great salad, and people can add salt at the table if they need to. Make plenty. It'll go fast. Goes great with BBQ and corn on the cob : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      So excited to have found this! Our local R,H &B closed a couple of years ago, and I was addicted to their potatoe salad, and this fulfills my cravings! Plus, it is so simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!! I found it awhile back on-line from someone who had the restaurant manual so had to cut it back. It's been awhile so had to look it up again. Was thrilled to find it on this (my favorite!) website. This is the best potato salad EVER and will never make anything else. The celery seed is the key ingredient so don't leave it out. In fact, I usually add extra. Thanks so much for posting so I can find it again. A definate keeper and always my go-to recipe! This is a crowd-pleaser that won't let you down! By the way, I've always boiled the potato so I can't wait to see how steaming them works out. Great tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      I had a tax client who was a cook at Red Hot and Blue and this was the recipe she gave me so I know its right....only she gave me the " some of this, some of that" version. Nice to have the specifics. One thing she did tell me....always use Hellman's Original mayo - it makes all the difference. That and plenty of salt. Best potato salad ever! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      This is what Potato Salad is meant to taste like! If you boil they will not be mushy if you take them out a little earlier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      This is by far the best potato salad ever. I usually hate potato salad and every time my husband makes this I want to eat the whole bowl. It is even better served hot when it is first made!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      When I read the ingredient list, I didn't see how it would turn out like Red Hot and Blue's, but I was wrong! It tastes just like what I remember having when I visited Fairfax, Virginia a few months ago. Nothing fancy, but absolutely delish! So glad I found the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I love, love, love it! It tastes just like the potato salad at the restaurant. We decided to chill it before we ate it because thats how our restaurant serves it. We let it chill for about 2 hours before we had our dinner. I am very pleased!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      This was AWESOME!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2013

      I made this tonight and used Yukon Gold potatoes because it's what I had on hand. Came out excellent! I used 5 eggs instead of 4 and cut back on the salt by 1/4 tsp and next time I will cut back even more. This tastes just like Red Hot and Blue's Potatoe Salad, that's all I care about! Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

      I'm not familiar with Red Hot & Blue, but this is really good potato salad! I actually boiled the potatoes with some salt. Just keep an eye on them and don't cook them too long so they get mushy. I used Hellmann's mayo as well. Rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2014

      BEST. POTATO SALAD. EVER. ~ I used to make Red Hot and Blue potato salad every weekend for RHB, the best southern BBQ restaurant. It won many awards and their potato salad breaks all the rules. I would tell my customers,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Hot & Blue Potato Salad - the Original

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.7
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    39%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 68.3 mg
    22%
    Sodium 565.2 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites