8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple and tasty, I skipped the sugar and though I added the steak seasoning it didn't come through much . I added extra black pepper as I like a little bite to my potatoes. Made for Best of 2010 Tag

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet February 12, 2011

These were quite good and easy. I, too, omitted the sugar, but the addition of steak seasoning (combined with the garlic) is a very good choice. And, they DO stand along. No gravy needed

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Palmetto Cook March 22, 2010

A great mashed potato recipe. My biggest complaint is I didn't know how large the potatoes should be or their weight so I used approx. 2 lbs. and I also didn't stir in the raw garlic, I cooked it all with the potatoes. They were smooth and creamy fixed with the electric mixer. Made for Football Pool 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa October 18, 2013

Excellent flavor! I actually used light sour cream for the butter, and milk (approximate measurement) for the cream. My husband loved it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.cleaveland August 21, 2010

I loved these! I halved the recipe, but otherwise made it exactly as posted. Mine needed a little salt and pepper, but otherwise they were totally excellent! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom March 19, 2010

These were excellent. I did reduce the amount of butter and used FF half & half to cut down on the fat content because DD and I are watching our calories. Loved the addition of steak seasoning to the potatoes ~ something I never thought of doing. Thanks for posting this recipe! Made for 1~2~3 Hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 08, 2010

Yum! We really enjoyed the flavors. I just mashed them and skipped step #6. We like our potatoes on the thick and chunky side. I made them the way they were meant to be made. No gravy or cheese added. I did throw in the sugar and it adds a nice touch to the overall dish. What a wonderful side to have on hand. Thanks for posting a keeper. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas March 07, 2010

The addition of the steak spice and garlic make this outstanding way to do mashed potatoes. I did not use the sugar simply because I didn't find the idea of sugar in my spuds to be appealing. This would be great with chicken, beef, pork or lamb or an exceptional topping for shepherds pie. This one is a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 03, 2010
Red Garlic Mashed Potatoes