Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Curry Paste Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Curry Paste

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2011

      Never have made red curry paste, i read all the reviews and went to the local farmers market for fresh lemongrass, tumeric and chilies, they were out of coriander root so I bought cilantro. I used the base recipe w/these additions: i put the chilies and water in the microwave, which absorbed the water so I added 5 TBLS more and covered to steam the chilies for 25 minutes...I roasted a red pepper (peeled, cored, seeded and chopped) & added the zest and juice of one lime when I put into my miniblender. I toasted all spices prior to adding to miniblender. Results: delicious! delicious! delicious! thank you for a great curry paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I was out of red curry paste and did not want to run to the store and thought I would try this recipe. This turned out perfect and it is so easy to make. It was perfect. It may be a little hotter than store bought, but so easy to adjust in each recipe. I should say that I did not use the lime rind, coriander root or cumin as I did not have any in the house. This is a really money saver too. Where I live those little jars are almost $4 each. I will no longer be buying it and will be using your suggestion to freeze any leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      Delicious and easy. Added roasted red pepper to blend, it helped with more moisture and colour and a tsp of fragrant coconut oil. Fabulous :) Thanks tigerduck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      This was excellent. I made it for a thai supper I hosted for a cooking group I belong to. The recipe was prepared as directed. The taste was perfect. My only complaint (somewhat silly) is that I found the blender to be the wrong tool for making the paste -- no matter what I did I couldn't get the blender to, well -- BLEND. In any event after a string of expletives and almost being attacked by my spatula I dumped the contents of said blender into my food processor and the paste came together in about 5 seconds. I was a bit skeptical of the shrimp paste which had a very strong odor, but the final product was unbelievable. Thanks tigerduck for posting this recipe. Even my wife who is a real curry hater said it was good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This was fabulous, although I had to sub a couple of ingredients - I am too lazy to go out in the cold and get them myself! I skipped the coriander root, using a bit more cumin and ground coriander, subbed two kaffir lime leaves for the rind, and fish sauce for the shrimp paste. Still, this is delish and an excellent substitute for store-bought. Tastes more like real Thai food than something out of a jar would.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      This is very good. I did use the coriander roots, and it turned out bright red. Had everything else except the kaffir lime rind. I added some kaffir lime leaves to the curry instead. Thank you very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Thanks for this recipe! It's so worth it to make your own curry paste! It tastes soooo much fresher than the store-bought! This recipe does come together in 10 minutes, if that. The flavors all work really well together and it was nice and spicy, without being blowing my head off hot! I didn't have Kaffir Lime Rind, so just used regular lime. I made this for a thai curry I made last night, and I have enough for 3 more curries or so. Well, thank you again, this is wonderful and I'll make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      I can't speak highly enough in favor of this delicious curry paste. It's fantastic! I omitted the hot chilies (we hurt easily *lol*), and, using what I had on hand, substituted ginger paste for fresh, chili powder for chilies, and omitted the shrimp paste entirely. I wasn't sure if I should still review it, but I couldn't help myself... it was outstanding as made and I will definitely try it next time with the shrimp paste and some mild chilies. I had a heck of a time getting the ingredients to blend in the blender, (there wasn't enough weight to keep it down on the blades), so I added some olive oil to make up for the moisture the missing ingredients would have provided. My fault, not the recipe's. Eventually, my perseverance won out...with the help of a spatula and a bit of patience. Thank you, tigerduck, for revealing your secret!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      This is as authentic as they come to the red curry paste made in southern Thailand/Northern Malaysia!! It is SOOOO good! We lived in Northern Malaysia for 4 years and love the HOT of it's curries. For those of you who don't like it so hot, just put in less chilies. I prefer mine hot, but DH likes it a little less so when I make the curry dishes, I just add a little more coconut milk to the recipes I make and he adds alot more jasmine rice which helps with the heat from the curries. WONDERFUL red curry paste!! Used this recipe in the Thai Red Pumpkin Curry, Thai Red Pumpkin Curry and it was fabulous!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Madhur Jaffrey's recipe also has 150 grams of shallot in it. Typo?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Curry Paste

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 31.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    15%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.8 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    galangal

    lime rind

    coriander root

    shrimp paste

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes