60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The recipe was perfect. I just threw everything in the blender without doing the stove step. Taste just as great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Billie L. November 23, 2013

Oh man. This was great! I did make some modifications, so here goes. First of all, I was torn as to whether or not to use the water that the chiles soaked in. I decided to go for it and it came out yum. I wasn't super strict on taking all the seeds out b/c we like heat. I used California chiles, which aren't really spicy... I kinda forgot about them in the oven but as soon as I smelled them I ran and took them out...no clue how long that took. Maybe 2 minutes? Once I blended them with the spices as written, I felt like it was missing something. I added another clove of garlic and tomato bouillon. Then I did the rest as written. OMG...I can't highlight enough how delish this is. I will make again and again and use as enchilada and chilaquile sauce too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman December 31, 2012

Fantastic. Easy to follow and make. I used Californa Entero peppers, came out like a spicy dream! Didn't change one thing, didn't need to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSteph81 December 23, 2012

AMAZING. So worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Backwoods Foodie April 21, 2012

This, along with making tamales was a maiden voyage for me. I made the sauce exactly as recommended. It is great, however, had I read the reviews first, I would have included oregano as well. I have some left. Should I refrigerate, or can I freeze it. After the work, I do not wish to lose a drop! Yummo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Marva February 24, 2012

I made this recipe for Christmas tamales and it was wonderful and sooooooo easy. I was always so scared to make red sauce from scratch. WOW... it is delicious!! I made 4 batches ... the first ones I made with New Mexico chilies and the last one with California chilies. The New Mexico was a little too warm for my family so I toned it down with the California chilies and then blended them all together. My tamales were a hit. My son said they were the best he'd ever tasted. I won't be afraid to make them anymore!!! Thank you! Happy New Year everyone!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammastew December 30, 2011

Ahhhh! the endless selection of chiles that one person can use! :) i love it! will make again! thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes December 27, 2011

I added a bit of brown sugar, cinnamon and a touch more cumin.....Also I used freshly made chicken broth instead of water to the blender for even more taste - now it taste like the great tamale sauce one finds at Roosevelt's Tamale Parlor in San Francisco (Mission District - 24th & Florida st.).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bastonal December 12, 2011

Perfect for tamales!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 27, 2011
Red Chili Sauce (To Be Used With Traditional Tamales)