Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Chili Sauce (To Be Used With Traditional Tamales) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Chili Sauce (To Be Used With Traditional Tamales)

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-59 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on February 15, 2007

      This was a very easy recipe. The flavor was great but I must have done something wrong because it was too bitter. Any help on how to not make it so bitter would be great. I will definetly make this again. My husband loved it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      I needed a red sauce to add to my Tamales and this was wounderful! My DH and I made homemade tamales over the weekend and used this recipe. I made a double batch and good thing I did, we still ended up running out if it.We added hot chili peppers and some "mexican" seasoning. To be honest the sauce really dident tast like much untill it was cooked in the tamales then a whole new flavor showed up. Easy to make.Will make again for sure.I recomend a double batch (we made about 4 dozen with the sauce).If we had more sauce we would of made more this way.Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Great sauce!! Made this for Traditional Tamales (Pork) and it was perfect! My DH likes some spice, so I used mostly New Mexico chilies, but added a couple of chipotles to add some heat. I also used a few extra chilies, an extra 3/4 c. water and a touch extra seasonings in order to have a little sauce leftover for topping the tamales. Perfect!! Thank you, Karen, it was very easy to make and turned out incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I made this recipe for the Tamale Class. This was the first time to use Dried Chiles. Live and Learn. I thought I had messed it up. However my chili sauce tured out really well. Thank You for teaching me something new. I will use this over and over. Hugs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Very nice with your tamale recipe. Next time I think I will add a chipolte or two. The peppers I used resulted in a milder sauce than expected. Other than that I was very pleased. Thank you for sharing your recipe & hosting the class!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      Outstanding recipe! I added a little cinnamon, ground cloves, and a couple of bay leaves before I put it in the blender. After blending I used a medium strainer to remove the larger pieces of chile skins. This makes a great sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This sauce was excellent! I used a mixture of dried Ancho, Pasilla, and Guajillo chilies. I followed the directions and wouldn't change a thing! I used this sauce in Traditional Tamales (Pork). I tasted a little of the sauce before adding it to my shredded pork, and it tasted so similar to the hot sauce our local Taquera serves with their chips. I've been wondering how they make it for several years now. I'm going to use this recipe as a base to try and copy their recipe. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      Used this recipe for Traditional Tamales (Pork) Traditional Tamales (Pork). Best tasting tamales ever!! Thanks for sharing, I will be using this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      Awesome!!! Will use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      Excellent. We used New Mexico chilies because it was all we could find.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      this gose great with her Traditional Tamales, Traditional Tamales (Pork). its a very tasty breakfast lunch or dinner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2005

      What a great chili sauce! So easy, and impressive. I did end up straining it; I probably just needed to soak it longer and blend it more. This is going in the Keep Me file...Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      Hardest part is deseeding the chili's, which isn't hard at all. Thanks for the recipe great with tamales.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2004

      Very simple to make and quite tasty! Recipe works just as stated. I did use a little lard in mine instead of shortening. I made this to use with your traditional tamale recipe which was wonderful as well. I realized just as I had stirred the pork into the sauce for tamales that I forgot to snap a pic (oops!) but I will get one for you next time- which should be soon as I am looking forward to this again already! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2004

      Perfect red chili mole for your tamale recipe.Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2004

      Just like your tamale recipe, this was great. It was very easy to make. I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2004

      Great sauce! I was nervous about this being a little too spicy for my children's taste, but it turned out fantastic. I used dried New Mexico Chilies. Great tamales and sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2004

      Wonderful!! I made more since it seemed to be the thing to do--wanted extra sauce and used guajillo peppers and this was excellent!!! and incredibly easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      I made your Tamales using this sauce and it was outstanding. I will be trying this sauce with other recipes as well. Liz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Chili Sauce (To Be Used With Traditional Tamales)

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 39.5
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    59%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 585.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes