Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Chili Sauce (To Be Used With Traditional Tamales) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Chili Sauce (To Be Used With Traditional Tamales)

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2012

      Oh man. This was great! I did make some modifications, so here goes. First of all, I was torn as to whether or not to use the water that the chiles soaked in. I decided to go for it and it came out yum. I wasn't super strict on taking all the seeds out b/c we like heat. I used California chiles, which aren't really spicy... I kinda forgot about them in the oven but as soon as I smelled them I ran and took them out...no clue how long that took. Maybe 2 minutes? Once I blended them with the spices as written, I felt like it was missing something. I added another clove of garlic and tomato bouillon. Then I did the rest as written. OMG...I can't highlight enough how delish this is. I will make again and again and use as enchilada and chilaquile sauce too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Fantastic. Easy to follow and make. I used Californa Entero peppers, came out like a spicy dream! Didn't change one thing, didn't need to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2012

      AMAZING. So worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      This, along with making tamales was a maiden voyage for me. I made the sauce exactly as recommended. It is great, however, had I read the reviews first, I would have included oregano as well. I have some left. Should I refrigerate, or can I freeze it. After the work, I do not wish to lose a drop! Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      I made this recipe for Christmas tamales and it was wonderful and sooooooo easy. I was always so scared to make red sauce from scratch. WOW... it is delicious!! I made 4 batches ... the first ones I made with New Mexico chilies and the last one with California chilies. The New Mexico was a little too warm for my family so I toned it down with the California chilies and then blended them all together. My tamales were a hit. My son said they were the best he'd ever tasted. I won't be afraid to make them anymore!!! Thank you! Happy New Year everyone!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Ahhhh! the endless selection of chiles that one person can use! :) i love it! will make again! thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      I added a bit of brown sugar, cinnamon and a touch more cumin.....Also I used freshly made chicken broth instead of water to the blender for even more taste - now it taste like the great tamale sauce one finds at Roosevelt's Tamale Parlor in San Francisco (Mission District - 24th & Florida st.).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2011

      Perfect for tamales!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

    • on September 17, 2010

      My husband and I used this sauce on shredded pork for tamales, I knew the second I smelled this sauce it was going to be good! We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      Thank You Karen! I've been trying many tamale recipes and just haven't found the right taste. This red sauce is awesome, I can't wait to use it for enchiladas too. It's delicious and so are the resulting tamales. I'm trying to emulate a local restaurant here in town and they serve a side of red sauce with their tamales. This red sauce is a great equivalent, only it tastes fresher and better. I'm thrilled! It was easy to make and so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I have no idea what I did wrong?! I followed the recipe to a T and it was too spicy, and then my tamales came out horrible, noone ate them, maybe it was because of the soaking water, because everyone else seems to have gotten good results...:/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Great sauce. So good and so easy. I only used about 6 or 7 Pasilla chilies and that was enough. Thank You!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Perfect recipe. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Spicy GOOD! I used 3 ounces of ancho chili pods. I dry roasted stove top for about 3-5 minutes. Then added 3 cups hot water. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Good and easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I am lucky to live in Arizona, where our chiles are freshly dried. The packet smelled so fragrant when I opened it. I used dried pasilla (ancho) chiles and I thought the sauce could use a little sweetening, so I added about a 1/2 cup of pureed raisins (I wanted a full flavor, but didn't want to use sugar) and the sauce came out so good, my Latino critics said it tasted like it came from one of our best Mexican restaurants, Cafe Poca Cosa! Wow, I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      I've never used another recipe and never will. I make it with, Traditional Tamales (pork). I have used all California Chilies and a mix of California and Hot New Mexico Chilies and I prefer the combination. I also strain to remove the pieces of pepper skin that just don't blend well. Just the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I used 10 New Mexico hot chilies and 5 California chilies and this sauce turned out perfect, a little heat but not overwhelming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      Very easy to make. I used it with Traditional Tamales #15286. I know it makes a big difference as to which peppers you use.Sometimes you have to go with what's available and then add spices. Here in Tx. we can get the hot peppers so adding more isn't needed. This is a keeper and thanks for a good solid recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Chili Sauce (To Be Used With Traditional Tamales)

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 39.5
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    59%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 585.5 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites