59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This sauce was very easy to make. I could smell the aroma from the peppers after they were in the oven for 1 minute and 45 sec. I will make an extra cup to put over the tamales before serving next time. You really need to make Karen's tamale recipe it is great!!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J January 28, 2002

This was great with the tamales, but I am thinking that it would also make a great base for chili.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl May 06, 2002

Amazing! This is an excellent tamale sauce! Some family members were skeptical, since there wasn't very many ingredients in it ("No tomatoes? I bet that's not very good." -My Mom), but I believed in the recipe (ha!).

I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! I used dried guajillo chilis I found at the store and they were perfect. I cut off the stem, then sliced them open on one side so that I could get the seeds out. This worked well and was very fast. I would recommend straining the sauce before thickening it- there are lots of little pieces of chili skins that don't get blended completely.

Will definitely make this sauce again! Thanks!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Milocat July 17, 2010

From someone with a Mexican Mother from Mexico this is very authentic. There are only a few minor differences. My Mother doesn’t use flour to thicken the sauce and usually uses the chicken stock from whatever meat she is cooking to add more flavor. If boiling the chilies instead of soaking NEVER uses the same water it makes the sauce bitter, always use fresh water. I sometime add a pinch of oregano as well. Thank you for sharing the authentic way of making this sauce that usually is the base of a lot of other Mexican dishes.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamadelogan November 04, 2008

This is got to be the best Red Chili Sauce I've ever tried! This was Excellent with your Traditional Tamales. Thanks again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri-BDB March 27, 2003

This does make a great enchilada sauce. We have used a similar recipe in our family for generations. The only difference is that we don't thicken it with flour. DNowhat

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dnowhat July 15, 2002

I think this would be great on chicken enchiladas!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christine Bettiga March 30, 2002

This is essentially the canned red enchilada sauce from the big chain grocer, in exactly the same way that a pork belly braised in a dark, rich, homemade chicken stock compares to a slice of canned boiled ham. I used the new mexico chiles with the soaking liquid, and it was fantastic for my enchiladas. Another time I used a mix of california and new mexico chiles, with only a little of the soaking liquid, the rest a light chicken stock. This was great in my tamales, which were hailed by all, both the Mexican and lighter complected relatives and friends, as amongst the best they had ever had. I'm sticking with this recipe. Even my three kids were eating the tamales, so this one is a winner. 5 stars for its authenticity and unpretentious simplicity.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lasrocas January 02, 2013

Made with New Mexico chilies. Used with the tamale recipe listed in the description. Very good. Wouldn't change a thing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truckerboo November 03, 2009

I agree this is so very close to my Mexican grandmothers & my mother's recipe.It's almost like a mole sauce.the only small difference being we add a pinch of ground cinnamon to our sauce. And I would like to say authentic red sauce for tamales NEVER has ANY type of tomato product in it.You made it easy to read and understand, great job!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola2760 November 19, 2012
Red Chili Sauce (To Be Used With Traditional Tamales)