Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Cabbage With Apples and Spices - Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Cabbage With Apples and Spices - Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2010

      It was good. Next time would increase the amount of spices and add a bay leaf. Needed some sugar. Will definitely make it again. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This was good. Different. I think my problem was that the seasonings (ginger,cinnamon, nutmeg...)are so different from the way I've been making my red cabbage for years. Mine was done before four hours on Low in my slow cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      had to cook this for 6 hours, the last hour on high. Next time I'll add some honey or brown sugar to sweeten it up a bit more, or even another apple. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      I made this yesterday to go with a duck that I was roasting. I started this cabbage dish in the crock at about 2pm. It was very easy to assemble, and quick. I added a little more honey and added a little bit more of the spices. I like a lot of flavor. This cooked very well on high for four hours and was ready to eat. It made the whole house smell so good!! I thought this was very tasty, with a sweet and sour flavor twist to it. The color was beautiful, also having eye appeal. I was the only one in the house that liked it, so I packaged up a bunch of it and sent it up the street to some senior friends. They said it smelled wonderful and was very good to eat!!! I believe 'mouthwatering' was used once or twice. All in all, a very good, beautiful dish!! I plan on making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Really good really EZ ...I made in in the crock pot, but did not bother with the sauteing the onions part....Just threw everything in and opened it 5 hours later....This is the perfect side dish for anyone who likes red cabbage...Cabbage still had a nice crunch to it...I cant seem to find any jarred red cabbage that my kids like (and they like red cabbage)...this fits the bill perfectly...Will be a regular dish at my house to go along with spetzel and schnitzel...Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      Fabulous - much like my own recipe for crockpot red cabbage and very fragrant - smells like Christmas!! We both liked the addition of the honey and the balsamic vinegar - just a nice amount too! Edited to add - the first review did not post - I am making this again this weekend and will post photos! Thanks Rita! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      Wow!! When I opened the door at the end of the day - the aroma was marvelous....and so was the taste! Mine took more than 5 hours to cook (DD checked it at 5 and we cooked it for 7) but I have an old crock pot. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I had to substitute the American version of apple cider, so I debated between apple juice mixed with some cider vinegar and just using our alcoholic version of apple cider. I eventually went with a nice sweet organic alcoholic version. It was really lovely! I did it in the crock pot, and it was perfect after cooking for five hours. We really enjoyed it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Very good...went great with our Scandanavian meal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      I used White onion and added a few whole cloves also dod it stovetop. It smells wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Very good . . . I love crockpot and always looking for something new and different. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      This is an excellent recipe which tastes very much like the way my mother used to make red cabbage. I found with my particular slow cooker, though, that I had to cook it on high in order for it to be ready on time for dinner. Otherwise, I made it as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      Yummy. This was such a nice variation on the typical red cabbage recipe. Like Barb and Caroline, I made mine on the stove and the dish was ready to eat in just 45 minutes. My I added an extra tablespoon of Splenda at the end because i love sweet cabbage. The balsamic makes a nice departure from cider vinegar and works well with the spices included. I served mine with Mititei (Small Ground Beef Sausages) Mititei (Small Ground Beef Sausages) and some boiled potatoes for a comforting quick meal. Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2005

      I haven't got a crockpot but this is just the sort of recipe to tempt me to rush out and buy one! Although we have red cabbage with apple and onion regularly, this recipe gave us a new take on an old favourite. I loved using honey instead of sugar, and the spices are balanced just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2004

      This Recipe is delicious, outstanding, so good & easy to make. I cooked it on top of the stove,Cut the recipe in half, used a whole small granny Smith apple. The spices are just right. Served the cabbage with chicken,artichoke sausages Yummy. Thank you Rita for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Cabbage With Apples and Spices - Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 141.5
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    37%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 72.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 21.8 g
    87%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites