14 Reviews

I did make a few changes because of the ingredients on hand. I used regular white vinegar, and added a peeled-diced gala apple. I didn't think I wanted a beef broth base so I just used a very small amount of water. The family liked it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Castle May 14, 2014

This recipe was just what I was looking for . I wanted something super easy and took a chance that the flavor would be there even with such a simple recipe. I was very impressed! I added a very small amount of sauteed bacon and onion right before I served the dish but it was already delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
urbancomfortlife April 02, 2015

Perfect! Exactly what I was looking for. like the kind they serve at a Polish restaurant I love. And I always have the ingredients on hand. Thanks so much for the keeper! I make this often now and we like it with just 1 Tbs butter, 1/2 tsp mustard powder, garlic powder and cinnamon. Love this, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz April 25, 2013

10/2011

Molly suggested this. It was exactly what I wanted! Super yum!!
Went excellent w/my sauerbraten & potatoe dumplings!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberngriffinco October 09, 2011

This is a nice recipe!! I added a little extra vinegar and a little caraway seeds and cloves to mine, just because I like it that way! Next time, I think I'll omit the butter or at least cut it in half~~~and see how that affects the taste~~it would sure save a lot of calories~~~Having this today with a small pork roast and potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgpat November 01, 2010

This was wonderful sweet & sour cabbage! I made this to go with a German schnitzel based meal, it was a wonderful side dish and could not be easier to make. 5 stars for taste and ease of preparation. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT6 on behalf ogf the Looney Spoon Phoodies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned May 29, 2010

I don't usually like cooked cabbage, but this was decidedly different from what I expected, & it's sweet/sour was very nice! I did change one thing, though ~ switched the beef stock for a homemade vegetable kind & was able to share it with my vegetarian son & DIL! To my surprise, I expect to be making this one again! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed while on tour in Germany with the ZWT6]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 23, 2010

Wonderful! Even the kids loved it. I used veg. broth 'cause we keep kosher and served this with german potato dumplings with butter on them...I can't imagine the beef broth would be any better 'cause this was great...I can't wait to pass this one on to my mom. What a wonderful, inexpensive Shabbat meal...thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse January 31, 2009

So easy and great for gatherings because of the amount it makes. This is a wonderful recipe for barbeque's as there is no mayo. It would be nice as a side for just about any meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JCC June 07, 2008
Red Cabbage Sweet & Sour