Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Cabbage Sweet & Sour Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Cabbage Sweet & Sour

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2014

      I did make a few changes because of the ingredients on hand. I used regular white vinegar, and added a peeled-diced gala apple. I didn't think I wanted a beef broth base so I just used a very small amount of water. The family liked it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      Perfect! Exactly what I was looking for. like the kind they serve at a Polish restaurant I love. And I always have the ingredients on hand. Thanks so much for the keeper! I make this often now and we like it with just 1 Tbs butter, 1/2 tsp mustard powder, garlic powder and cinnamon. Love this, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2012

    • on October 09, 2011

      10/2011

      Molly suggested this. It was exactly what I wanted! Super yum!!
      Went excellent w/my sauerbraten & potatoe dumplings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      This is a nice recipe!! I added a little extra vinegar and a little caraway seeds and cloves to mine, just because I like it that way! Next time, I think I'll omit the butter or at least cut it in half~~~and see how that affects the taste~~it would sure save a lot of calories~~~Having this today with a small pork roast and potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      This was wonderful sweet & sour cabbage! I made this to go with a German schnitzel based meal, it was a wonderful side dish and could not be easier to make. 5 stars for taste and ease of preparation. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT6 on behalf ogf the Looney Spoon Phoodies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      I don't usually like cooked cabbage, but this was decidedly different from what I expected, & it's sweet/sour was very nice! I did change one thing, though ~ switched the beef stock for a homemade vegetable kind & was able to share it with my vegetarian son & DIL! To my surprise, I expect to be making this one again! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed while on tour in Germany with the ZWT6]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Wonderful! Even the kids loved it. I used veg. broth 'cause we keep kosher and served this with german potato dumplings with butter on them...I can't imagine the beef broth would be any better 'cause this was great...I can't wait to pass this one on to my mom. What a wonderful, inexpensive Shabbat meal...thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      So easy and great for gatherings because of the amount it makes. This is a wonderful recipe for barbeque's as there is no mayo. It would be nice as a side for just about any meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      I love sweet and sour red cabbage and enjoyed this recipe. Very easy to make and smells so good while cooking. I would have liked a little more sour flavor for my taste and would add 3/4 of a cup of vinegar next time. Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      Very easy and tasty side dish! I've always loved sweet and sour red cabbage, and this is just the way I like it, without any additional bells and whistles, just cabbage. Yum! Thanks Debber! Made for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      So simple, yet so delicious. This really is a colorful addition to a meal. I simmered mine for 45 minutes. I think that I will have to start using this recipe for holiday dinners. Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2007

      My Dad always made this growing up - sometimes would add onions or small bits of fried bacon to change it up, but usually just like this. I just happened to pick up the same Frugal Gourmet book you posted from and ran across the recipe and thought to see if it was posted when I ran into yours. YUMMY! I recommend anyone who likes red cabbage at ALL try this - it is terrific!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Cabbage Sweet & Sour

    Serving Size: 1 (222 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.7
     
    Calories from Fat 73
    35%
    Total Fat 8.1 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 347.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes