Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Cabbage Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Cabbage Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2006

      We enjoyed this lovely red cabbage slaw with the mild, light dressing. I was surprised at how small an amount of dressing worked to flavor the slaw, and was pleased that it turned out to be just perfect. The simplicity of this slaw makes it a good side dish with almost everything, but I found that I really missed some undefineable "something" to make this slaw stand out...erhaps some chopped mint or a handful of chopped apples or dried cranberries. We ate every bite and thank you for a healthy side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      This was so easy and I had most of the ingredients on hand. I had a white onion not green onions, so I thinly sliced a small amount. I didn't have splenda but substituted a packet of truvia. I love the dressing. I followed another reviewer's advice and added some dried cranberries. I feel so good about eating something that tastes soooo delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      I thought this was simple and delicious. My husband didn't like it as much as I did, he said it was too bitter, but I thought the sugar and balsamic gave it a nice balanced sweetness. I served it with pizza and it hit the spot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      I prefer using vegetable oil to olive oil. I find the flavor is much lighter. I also use this dressing on the packaged broccoli slaw mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      I made this with sugar, red wine vinegar and dried minced onion and it was really, really good! Had rosemary roasted potatoes, lemon roasted chicken and sourdough bread with it and the slaw just enhanced all of those flavors. Hubby put it on a chicken sandwich and I thought it'd go really well on a po' boy. My kids liked it - even the picky 7yo asked for it the next night. This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This was great with cabbage and carrots right from the garden. I added fresh green peas and had it with grilled pork and biscuits with homemade strawberry Jam. AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2010

      Great recipe! Had a bunch of cabbage I wanted to use up, did a quick search and happened to have all of the ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing, it's definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      This is a solidly good, super easy red coleslaw recipe. I wilted the cabbage a bit first by tossing it with salt and then rinsing thoroughly with cold water before constructing the slaw. This negated the need for any additional salt in the final product. I served it with grilled fish in a cillantro sauce and it was very fish taco-esque.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This was excellent! Very quick and easy to make. The only substitute I made was to use a thinly sliced red onion as I did not have any green onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Very tasty! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Good stuff!! I added a little more balsamic after tasting it (personal preference). Other than that, followed directions and will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This sweet-and-sour red cabbage slaw is no-fat (except healthy-tasting olive oil), sugar-free (with Splenda(R)), ***and*** most of all provides tastebud titillation!!! I gave this recipe five stars **as is**, but you can boost it to six by adding 6 to 12 cumquats finely chopped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      This was a hit tonight with fish and fries. My partner is a slaw lover, and pronounced this the best part of dinner! Thanks for posting this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2006

      Very nice taste, easy to make. I love balsamic vinegar and am delighted to have found a new recipe using this. To my surprise Hubby liked this salad too! (he is not really into "veggies", he claims he's "not a rabbit"). So- you can be assured I'll make this salad again! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      I used premixed coleslaw and didn't change anything else. Very nice flavors and keeps well in the refrigerator for several days. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      This is a beautiful salad and vey easy to make. I used splenda for the sugar, but think I will try the sugar and heating method next time to compare finished products. I think the splenda made it a little sharper than I would have liked, but it was still fantastic. Equally good thrown in a tossed salad the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Love the dressing on this cole slaw, delicious and colourful! Love balsamic vinegar and the splenda, we will definately be making this one again. Thanks for sharing a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Cabbage Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (76 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.1
     
    Calories from Fat 16
    31%
    Total Fat 1.8 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 27.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes