17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this lovely red cabbage slaw with the mild, light dressing. I was surprised at how small an amount of dressing worked to flavor the slaw, and was pleased that it turned out to be just perfect. The simplicity of this slaw makes it a good side dish with almost everything, but I found that I really missed some undefineable "something" to make this slaw stand out...erhaps some chopped mint or a handful of chopped apples or dried cranberries. We ate every bite and thank you for a healthy side dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema July 11, 2006

This was so easy and I had most of the ingredients on hand. I had a white onion not green onions, so I thinly sliced a small amount. I didn't have splenda but substituted a packet of truvia. I love the dressing. I followed another reviewer's advice and added some dried cranberries. I feel so good about eating something that tastes soooo delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chickitita September 02, 2012

I thought this was simple and delicious. My husband didn't like it as much as I did, he said it was too bitter, but I thought the sugar and balsamic gave it a nice balanced sweetness. I served it with pizza and it hit the spot.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
querian June 19, 2012

I prefer using vegetable oil to olive oil. I find the flavor is much lighter. I also use this dressing on the packaged broccoli slaw mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kritchey700_10425958 May 31, 2012

I made this with sugar, red wine vinegar and dried minced onion and it was really, really good! Had rosemary roasted potatoes, lemon roasted chicken and sourdough bread with it and the slaw just enhanced all of those flavors. Hubby put it on a chicken sandwich and I thought it'd go really well on a po' boy. My kids liked it - even the picky 7yo asked for it the next night. This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Duckie May 13, 2012

This was great with cabbage and carrots right from the garden. I added fresh green peas and had it with grilled pork and biscuits with homemade strawberry Jam. AMAZING!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodievt July 16, 2011

Great recipe! Had a bunch of cabbage I wanted to use up, did a quick search and happened to have all of the ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing, it's definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshinestarr November 12, 2010

This is a solidly good, super easy red coleslaw recipe. I wilted the cabbage a bit first by tossing it with salt and then rinsing thoroughly with cold water before constructing the slaw. This negated the need for any additional salt in the final product. I served it with grilled fish in a cillantro sauce and it was very fish taco-esque.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jenchicken July 09, 2010

This was excellent! Very quick and easy to make. The only substitute I made was to use a thinly sliced red onion as I did not have any green onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Birdoguy October 28, 2009

Very tasty! Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin' Kiki September 07, 2009
Red Cabbage Coleslaw