Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Beet Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Beet Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2009

      Delicious! Very chocolaty. No beet taste at all. Really moist and tasty. I used canned beets and added a few shakes of cinnamon, a teaspoon of Jameson whiskey (whiskey is great with chocolate! Try substituting it for water in your favorite boxed brownie mix... heavenly!), 1 teaspoon of chocolate extract, 2 Tbsp of Dutch Process cocoa (increased sugar by 4 Tbsp) and a pinch of cardamom. Cake tester came out clean after 25 min, but center was still gooey. Ensuring cake springs back when touched is a better test of doneness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      If I could give this more stars I would! This is the best chocolate cake I've ever made. I used canned beets and added cocoa powder in addition to the melted chocolate. I was looking for a cake that would hold together when cut so I could make a kitty cake for my son's 4th birthday(I posted some photos). This cake held together using several shapes of pans and was still unbelievably moist and delicious!! I'll use this as my regular recipe every year. Thank you VERY much!! It was a hit with all the kids and parents too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      Delicious! I had fresh beets in my weekly produce delivery box and wanted to try something new with them. This recipe was it. I roasted the beets in the oven (drizzled with a little honey) and then pureed them in the blender. I also melted chocolate chips (about 1/2 c melted) because I didn't have any unsweetened chocolate. It turned out great - and the kids loved it! They had no idea that beets were the secret ingredient in their "chocolate" cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      WOW!! So good. I think I used a pan that was too small. I also subbed most of the oil for applesauce and it increased the bake time >20minutes. I also replaced 1/3 cup flour with cocoa powder. Had I just added the cocoa powder my cook time might have stayed the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This cake is so delicious! I substituted half of the oil with applesauce and cut the sugar to one cup (I like my cake on the less sweet side). This turned out so moist and fluffy and no one could tell that there were beets in it. It didn't taste off or funky, rather it added a depth of taste to it and was probably one of the best chocolate cakes we had eaten! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      I really enjoyed this cake. I used 1/2 cup applesauce with 1/2 cup oil and would keep it that way since it turned out sooo moist. Grest texture also. It doesn't taste like a regular chocolate cake, but I don't find it tastes like beet. A great way to sneek in some extra veggie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      This was pretty good. I love beets and made it to convince a friend (who hates them) that they're not that bad. DH and DD both liked the cake even with my "lightened up" changes. If you know there are beets in the cake, you can definitely taste them. If you don't know, it just tastes like a nice, light chocolate cake "with something else..." but DH and DD never guessed BEETS!

      I boiled the beets, then peeled, then pureed.

      I got it down to 3 WW Point Plus Values/serving with the following changes:
      -replace all oil with unsweetened applesauce
      -replace eggs with 3/4 c Egg Beaters
      -24 servings, not 16
      -up to 3/4 c powdered sugar (which would be A LOT!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I added an extra half-ounce of unsweetened chocolate. Texture is tender, very typical of an oil-based cake. Not very sweet, which is nice. Great aroma, and it does get better the next day. I will say that it tested done at 35 minutes with a toothpick, although the center did wobble a little when I shook it. Still, the pick came out dry and I took it out. And sure enough, it fell a little. No matter; still yummy. I do want to make it as a 2-layer cake with a mocha frosting, probably the one from the Cafe Beaujolais Cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I took this to a church dinner and no one could tell what the mystery ingredient. It is delicious and moist and easy to make, what more could you want. Definitely will be making this again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      What a wonderful recipe, so incredibly moist. I put some chocolate chips in the batter and when it was done I put chocolate icing on. What a wonderful way to sneak some extra veggies into unsuspecting kids. Thank's for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

    • on September 16, 2008

      Moist, but still with a beet flavor (which I don't mind, but didn't expect). I substituted no-sugar applesauce for the oil, and added pecans and some shredded chocolate for a little more texture. I don't think I'd make it again. The zucchini chocolate cakes are tastier to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      when i first read the ingredients for this cake i was skeptical, i never used beets for anything except salads, and since i love trying new recipes i decided to make the cake, it was very very delicious with an exotic taste coming from the beets, and it was so moist. i really loved the cake and planning to do it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      Mine looks just like the photo. Anyone would like this and it has a wonderful texture. I used half oil, half aplasauce to cut down calories a bit, and 1 cup sugar and half a cup Splenda. I'll be making this again for sure. The food processor didn't get the beets to the texture I wanted, so I used the immersion blender on them after the food processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      I think we had a similar experience to Codychop - this is a very good very moist cake - with "something" you just can't put a finger on. I could of course, I roasted the beets, and peeled the beets, and pureed the beets, and tried VERY hard not to get beet juice on anything white! :) So I was kind of "primed", but I served this to my extended family and most people liked it. My picky picky 5 yo DD loved it, even after being told it had beets in it halfway through, she continued gobbling. :) My DS loved it (he's only one, though. He loves everything!) My DH, who hates chocolate cake says he didn't like it, but it is by far the best chocolate cake he's ever tried. :) We discussed maybe using semisweet chocolate or cinnamon to help downplay the "odd" flavor. I think I would make this again, playing with the seasonings if I recieve beets in my co-op share again. Thanks for an unusual experience! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Really delicious. I used fresh roasted beets (pureed) and 1/2 cocoa powder instead of the melted squares. It turned out very moist and tasty. It definitely had a goofy flavor though. Not bad though...you just can't really hide the fact there's 'something' extra in this cake....like a pound of beets or something :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      Amazing! If I had not put them in there myself I would not have known there were beets in this cake. It should also be noted that I don't like beets but I sure did like this cake. I did add 2 ounces more chocolate because after tasting the batter, I found it to be sweet but without much of a flavour. I poured into muffin tins and made as cupcakes. They were moist and chocolatey. Yum. From now on this is the only chocolate cake recipe that I'll be serving and I won't be telling about the beets cause no one will believe me anyway:-)My only concern is the amount of oil in this recipe will see if I can tweak it to make it more heart healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Nice moist cake. Very different to use beets in here. You do NOT taste the beets, it just does something wonderful to the chocolate and gives it a BOOST of yum! GREAT recipe Rita! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      Absolutely great cake. Cannot believe the red beet I have always disliked could be used in a cake! I can't stop eating it once I have a piece...neither can the family :) can't wait to buy beet again! thank u so much for posting this recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2005

      I was just as intrigued by this recipe when I came across it in the Canadian Forum as I had been when I first came across what is surely a younger sibling or perhaps a cousin recipe: Trick and Treat Muffins Trick and Treat Muffins. Having made the muffins, I was fully confident of excellent results with Rita’s chocolate cake recipe and the results were an absolute delight! A deliciously moist and flavoursome cake which everyone has LOVED! Everyone has wanted a second slice. I’m really looking forward to sharing this with others. No-one but NO-ONE has guessed at that secret – beetroot - ingredient, and everyone is totally astonished when told that it is a major ingredient. Be prepared to send a piece of this cake home with your friends when they try this and have some copies of the recipe on hand: they’ll want both!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Beet Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (70 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 279.3
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    53%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 34.8 mg
    11%
    Sodium 213.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 19.7 g
    78%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites