Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Red Beans and Rice Like Popeye's Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Red Beans and Rice Like Popeye's

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 30, 2012

      No stars, just a comment. I tried this with 1/8 cup liquid smoke, and it was overkill to the point of inedibility. I will make this again with 1/8 tsp. of the smoky liquid. I think it should be more like 1/8 tsp. or perhaps 1/8 Tsp. Ouch, on the liquid smoke! That is some hefty stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      Very quick and easy recipe! I threw all the ingredients in my crock pot,using a red onion (no yellow ones on hand). My husband had 2 helpings...we both liked this meal and will add to our 'favorites'. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      The two most important items in this great recipe is to use Camellia Brand dry red beans soaked over night, cooked in a crock pot and for the smoked flavor, SMOKED PAPRICA instead of Liquid Smoke. Also add bay leaf and for the touch of heat a small amount of Crystal Hot Sauce which is more flavorful and less peppery than Tobasco Sauce. Thats my humble cajun opinion

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      A new favorite at our house ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I am a Popeye's fanatic, so I was excited to find this recipe. However, I was majorly disappointed with the results. The beans were completely dried out, and the bland flavor was nothing like Popeye's red beans and rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      We've never had the restaurant version, but we love this recipe anyhow! We enjoy a variation of butterball smoked turkey sausage for a less greasy finish. All other ingredients we did the same. The kids love this dish too. Thanks mandabears for this new family favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      A great crockpot recipe. I used pinto beans and only one tablespoon of liquid smoke. I've never had Popeye's, but this was good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Not to be too critical but if you don't use red beans it isn't really red beans and rice. It sounds like it would be good but I would use red beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      Even though there's one just a couple minutes from my house, I actually have never tried Popeye's. However, I love red beans and rice, so I knew I had to give this one a shot. So good! Not a bit spicy, thanks to adding the hot sauce after cooking. Hubby and I loved ours with the hot sauce, but it was easily left out of the kids' servings. I just used turkey smoked sausage and pinto beans. I also used brown rice instead of white. I'm sure the white would probably soak up the juices and hold the flavor better, but the brown makes me feel better about it, healthwise. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I used a mixture of canned beans I had on hand. Threw in an 14 oz. can of tomato sauce with meatloaf spices and a can of original rotel tomatoes and subbed the sausage with some boneless thick pork chops left over from another night. I added the chunked pork chop meat 2 hours before it was done. I guess with the changes I made it is not a clone of Popeyes red beans and rice but it was none the less very tasty! Thanks so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      We loved it. It was close to Popeye's, but not exact. I had no prob. w/ drying out. If it looks low on moisture just add water. It tasted even better after sitting overnight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Tastes good, but doesn't taste anything like Popeye's. If you really want to simulate Popeye's, the canned version (Blue Runner Cajun Cream Style Red Beans) is available in many grocery stores and at World Market, and tastes very close, creamy just like Popeye's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Excellent! We LOVE this! Better than Popeyes. We make ours on the stovetop and have never had any issues with drying out. Make a batch & freeze, thaw, heat & serve over fresh rice. I wouldn't serve the whole recipe to 4 people (1100 calories!!) I would serve 1/4 of the recipe to 4 people. We mix each serving (1/4 of the serving size this recipe indicates) with 1 serving of rice. This whole recipe, combined with 16 servings (usually 2 boxes) of rice would serve 16, or 8 very heartily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      This tasted quite nice made as directed, but was amazingly dry, particularly compared to Popeye's. Toward the end I added about 1/8 cup of water which really didn't do anything. Perhaps leaving some of the bean liquid in would have helped. I'm not sure what I did wrong, if anything. I think I'd like to experiment with it somehow because we really liked the flavors. Thank you for posting, mandabears!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      My grandson LOVES Popeye's red beans and rice. He and I both agree, if you didn't know it was homemade, you would swear you bought it at Popeye's. Very creamy and nicely spiced. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Its on the money. I love popeyes red beans and rice and I dont think you can get much closer to it that this recipe. It may be possible but this is right up there with the original. Excellent Job with this recipe and thank you very much for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

    • on August 29, 2007

      popeye's red beans come in a can premade by bluerunner just doctor up with sausage and enjoy!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Ma'am, all I can say is you have one lucky husband. You can flat out cook. Blessings to you and your kids and grandkids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      these were great but i do not think that they tasted like popeyes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Red Beans and Rice Like Popeye's

    Serving Size: 1 (423 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1051.5
     
    Calories from Fat 310
    29%
    Total Fat 34.4 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 69.3 mg
    23%
    Sodium 2031.8 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 132.9 g
    44%
    Dietary Fiber 25.1 g
    100%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 55.7 g
    111%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes