22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

No stars, just a comment. I tried this with 1/8 cup liquid smoke, and it was overkill to the point of inedibility. I will make this again with 1/8 tsp. of the smoky liquid. I think it should be more like 1/8 tsp. or perhaps 1/8 Tsp. Ouch, on the liquid smoke! That is some hefty stuff!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP May 30, 2012

Very quick and easy recipe! I threw all the ingredients in my crock pot,using a red onion (no yellow ones on hand). My husband had 2 helpings...we both liked this meal and will add to our 'favorites'. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snuggie September 13, 2003

The two most important items in this great recipe is to use Camellia Brand dry red beans soaked over night, cooked in a crock pot and for the smoked flavor, SMOKED PAPRICA instead of Liquid Smoke. Also add bay leaf and for the touch of heat a small amount of Crystal Hot Sauce which is more flavorful and less peppery than Tobasco Sauce. Thats my humble cajun opinion

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlie234 February 21, 2013

A new favorite at our house ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adhuba August 10, 2010

I am a Popeye's fanatic, so I was excited to find this recipe. However, I was majorly disappointed with the results. The beans were completely dried out, and the bland flavor was nothing like Popeye's red beans and rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
824842 April 30, 2009

We've never had the restaurant version, but we love this recipe anyhow! We enjoy a variation of butterball smoked turkey sausage for a less greasy finish. All other ingredients we did the same. The kids love this dish too. Thanks mandabears for this new family favorite!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Two Hearts December 21, 2008

A great crockpot recipe. I used pinto beans and only one tablespoon of liquid smoke. I've never had Popeye's, but this was good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue July 03, 2006

Not to be too critical but if you don't use red beans it isn't really red beans and rice. It sounds like it would be good but I would use red beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
webdcyner January 13, 2013

Even though there's one just a couple minutes from my house, I actually have never tried Popeye's. However, I love red beans and rice, so I knew I had to give this one a shot. So good! Not a bit spicy, thanks to adding the hot sauce after cooking. Hubby and I loved ours with the hot sauce, but it was easily left out of the kids' servings. I just used turkey smoked sausage and pinto beans. I also used brown rice instead of white. I'm sure the white would probably soak up the juices and hold the flavor better, but the brown makes me feel better about it, healthwise. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) July 14, 2012

Excellent recipe! I used a mixture of canned beans I had on hand. Threw in an 14 oz. can of tomato sauce with meatloaf spices and a can of original rotel tomatoes and subbed the sausage with some boneless thick pork chops left over from another night. I added the chunked pork chop meat 2 hours before it was done. I guess with the changes I made it is not a clone of Popeyes red beans and rice but it was none the less very tasty! Thanks so much :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne May 29, 2012
Red Beans and Rice Like Popeye's