12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful recipe. My boyfriend who is Puerto Rican said that this tastes better than his rice and beans. I will definately be making this again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle K. September 04, 2008

Super good and super easy! We tend to like things a little bit more spicy, so next time I'll add an additional envelope "goya sazon, con achiote" seasoning and add a 1/2 teaspoon of "Adobo con sazon" (that spice tastes good in anything). We pan fried chicken thighs (bone in) in vegetable oil to go with. Inexpensive, Easy, AWESOME. This meal is now a staple in our house!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ZJanks September 25, 2004

Very good, and authentic according to someone who should know. The potatoes were a nice addition. Thanks to the reviewer who provided substitutions for the goya sazon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donut Chef October 18, 2006

Didn't have the goya ingredients because I was at home and had everything else and was HUNGRY! I ended up using chicken broth instead of water for the rice (same amount). For the beans, instead of the goya spices, I added probably between 1/2 and 3/4 cup of chicken broth, 1/4 tsp of cayenne, 1/2 tsp of ground cumin, and 1/2 tsp salt. I reduced it to an amount that seemed to go over well with the rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misspudding May 24, 2006

Delicious! We really enjoyed the rice and beans and I will definately be making it again, perhaps adding chicken or shrimp to make it a full meal as my pork roast was pretty ignored because my family was enjoying this recipe so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*axxo* March 22, 2004

Very good. I would leave out the salt next time though! And double the recipe as well - the two of us at the whole batch for dinner. For some reason I forgot the potato when I wrote down the recipe, and it did seem a little sparse so I added about 1/2 cup of chickpeas - worked great. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma December 07, 2010

Very good and easy to make. I used canned potatoes instead of cutting a potato and canola oil instead of vegetable. We all enjoyed this as a side dish with steaks. Made for Spring PAC 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 19, 2010

This was delicious, and took no time to make. I served it with some sliced avocado on the side. Next time I will add some potato. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharkette June 27, 2006

I got so excited to see a good recipe for Red Beans and rice without meat, so I went out to get all the ingredients and it turns out that unfortunately there is meat in the Goya seasonings, so this dish isn't vegetarian, but it certainly sounded good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Howiesar June 18, 2005
Red Beans and Rice