128 Reviews

There was nothing left when it was my turn for these sweet potatoes...luckily, I was the chef and already had a taste before the meal but WOW were these delicious! Yes, they were sweet...hence the title 'candied' but for a special treat, they are well worth it. Also, easy to make-ahead-of-time for thanksgiving. So, easy and delicious, from me, always gets a 5-star rating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AttempttoChef December 01, 2008

Even though I'm not a sweet potato fan, I made these for Thanksgiving -- wanted to try something a little different. My son thought these were really good..and others thought they were maybe a little TOO sweet...thus my rating. I was skeptical about how sticky they'd be after making the sauce, so I did add a bit of liquid -- but I found that perhaps that was not really necessary. I wonder for such a sweet veggie..if we should just let it go as it is??

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiisaN November 28, 2008

I have always made my sweet potatoes with a pecan crust. One of our guest is alergic so I tried this recipe. I have a family of 6 and usually 2 of us eat the SP. This year everyone ate them and there were no leftovers. What a hit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chugar63 November 28, 2008

These were soooo yummy! Everyone loved the sauce and commented many times through out the evening how good these were. I used a pressure cooker to cook the yams and substituted a light butter for the butter. I can't wait to make these again, just for the heck of it. Very, very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha November 28, 2008

DS23 was home for thanksgiving and made these for our dinner; he added marshmallows and sliced almonds for tradition's sake. This is a great way to prepare sweet potatoes and they come out tender, sweet, and attractive.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn November 27, 2008

Yummy! I think I may have overcooked the potatos slightly, but they were still delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvsSushi November 27, 2008

Really good! I had never had sweet potatoes in my life before these. They were very easy and tasted great. We had them last weekend for Thanksgiving and we were really impressed with the flavour. Thanks .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada October 18, 2008

EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT. I tried your recipe yesterday, for our Thanksgiving Dinner. Wow....everybody said where did you come up with this one. Thanks so much for the posting of such a great and exceptionally easy recipe....and oh yes, I did tell them where I got if from.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Country Cook October 14, 2008

Excellent - Didn't add the extra brown sugar and it came out delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Smig52 October 06, 2008

I made these for Thanksgiving...these are the best and easiest sweet potatoes I've made...really prefer the chunks(have always mashed them)...finally found a sweet potato recipe my DH will eat...thanks MizzNezz for another great recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busymommybee January 11, 2008
Really Really Good Candied Sweet Potatoes