Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Really Great Meatloaf! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Great Meatloaf!

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2010

      I messed up and used a whole pound of pork instead of a half pound and it still turned out great! I didn't have a loaf pan, so I used an 8 X 8 pan and it turned it just fine using the given cook time. For half of the meatloaf, I added a few slices of American cheese in the middle, just to see how it'd turn out (because my Mama always puts cheese in hers) and it was good! This meatloaf is even better on days 2 and 3 for meatloaf sandwiches! Mmmm mmmmm! All we did was reheat it, slice it up thinly, melt a slice of cheese on it, and place it in between two really fresh slices of white bread, adding a bit more ketchup. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I usually put sausage in my meatloaf instead of ground pork, but ground pork is what I had on hand, so I found this recipe. I used oatmeal (personal preference) instead of bread crumbs, but everything else was the same as called for in the recipe. Excellent! Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Just thought the stuffing was awful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I have been looking for a great meatloaf recipe for years and have finally found it! I halved the ground beef and used sausage meat as I didn't have any ground pork. The whole family loved it and it is now a regular on our menu.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I fix Sunday dinner for my 2 married daughters & their husbands most every week & I usually try a new meatloaf recipe on them about once a month looking for that perfect one. Well, I won't be looking any further, everyone raved & thank goodness I doubled the recipe because they all wanted to take some home. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Made this tonight, with the mushroom stuffing (delish!) and it was a hit! I made 2 smaller loaves, since there's only 2 of us. I baked for 30-35 min then removed excess fat, and added the ketchup and baked addition 15 min. My husband said it was the best meatloaf he's ever eaten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I made this last night for our dinner and we were split on this. The meatloaf was enjoyed by all but the optional stuffing had us split . DH loved mushrooms but didn't care for the stuffing, while the girls were practically digging it out of the loaf. DH still said he's giving it a 5 star for the loaf, so next time I'm cutting the stuffing in half and only adding to half the loaf. Thank you for sharing with us your meatloaf recipe. We enjoyed trying someting new.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      liked it better than Pioneer woman... I did 1.5 pounds ground pork and 1 pound ground beef and it was great. I did add Parmesan like the Pioneer woman's recipe though! Also, I think the servers are more like 12 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2012

      My husband loves meatloaf and I kept trying new recipes to find one he liked as much as his Mom's. This was it in fact he LOVED it MORE than his Mom's. Finally! I made this for the 2nd time for him and another couple who also love meatloaf. (I don't eat beef so I'm no judge here). They also loved it and insisted on the recipe right then and there & said they wouldn't leave without it! I tweaked it a bit. I did 1.75 lbs of a 10% fat ground beef and .75lbs of mild italian ground pork and I added a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes. I greased the loaf pan and packed it then turned it out onto a jelly roll pan lined with parchment paper and baked it that way. I didn't do any stuffing and I only added 1 to 2 tsp brown sugar to the topping which was half chili sauce and half ketchup. You made my day after 20yrs of searching! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Very very good...I am making this for our family get together this Saturday...I have made a recipe of yours I did`nt like. I too want to know if you have written cook book....you should

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Less the pork, I am going to give it a try tomorrow. But Step 3, "Using clean hands" really cracked me up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Oh, my gosh! I'm so happy I found a great meatloaf recipe! It reminded me of my childhood but actually better. I begged my family to try this meatloaf, which I prepared along with mashed potatoes, green beans, & rolls. Although they graciously ate, they're still not meatloaf fans. I think it is very delicious! The next evening, I toasted a potatoe roll w/ butter, warmed a slice a meatloaf in my iron frying pan, topped with shredded cheddar cheese, placed in oven on broil to melt cheese & placed on bun thinnly spread w/ chili sauce. It was so wonderful! I will be making this meatloaf in the future, even if I have to eat it by myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Good meatloaf recipe even though my husband is not a big meatloaf lover. I made the recipe without the additional ingredients and it was very good served along with mashed potatoes. We made meatloaf sandwiches the day after and they were very tasty as well. This recipe was chosen for the Let's P A R T Y tag game 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Our family loves this meatloaf, i use very lean beef and pork, and follow the "meat" part closely. We have never had the stuffing, it seams that it would absorb too much grease to be be tasty, but who knows, i'm in too much of a hurry to try :P Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Perfect & Moist! I Just used the basic recipe without the stuffing or Glaze. I used a Can of Cream Of Mushroom Soup over top the Meatloaf for the last 10 minutes of baking. (I had it done this way before for me and loved it) Top Rate Recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Wonderful! I added about half of a green bell pepper and was light on the brown sugar for the topping. The whole family loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      I've been searching for a really great meatloaf recipe for a long time, and this is it! I made it using the optional stuffing, but didn't feel it really added much to the final product. I'm not sure if I'll use the stuffing mixture next time. Thank you, Kitten, for another winner! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      DH decided we had not had meatloaf for far too long, and brought home a 2 1/2 pound package of meatloag mix - with veal. I had everything else except the basil (on my list !), so subbed 1 tsp of rosemary, found on another recipe. Worked out fine. There are 2 of us, and this is a BIG loaf, so will be having a multitude of left-over meals - so happy that it is delicious ! 11/09 Update -- prepared the meatloaf without the stuffing -- with grocery beef/pork/veal pack. Really tasty and moist -- not afraid to reheat for another meal. Thanks, Kit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      kittencal i usually love all your recipes but this one was a little bit bland. i made individual loaves and put a little bit of cheese in the middle. the texture was good, but i think tomato paste instead of the ketchup would be better, and it definitely needs more spices and herbs. i'll try it again though, thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Great Meatloaf!

    Serving Size: 1 (398 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 763.7
     
    Calories from Fat 371
    48%
    Total Fat 41.2 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 208.8 mg
    69%
    Sodium 1448.6 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 13.0 g
    52%
    Protein 45.9 g
    91%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites