11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed this recipe exactly except I used 3 pounds of beef stew meat instead of the ribs. After after step 13, I cooked the meat in a crock pot for five hours on low instead of using the oven. The meat turned out tender and flavorful. The sauce is barbeque flavored, a bit on the sweet side, and has a slight tanginess to it. I toasted some bread with cheese slices in our toaster oven and topped it with the warm beef to make a delicious sandwich. The family raved.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas December 09, 2003

This was amazing! My son said, 'O.M.G. Wow!!' and asked how much we would pay for the meal in a restaurant. Definitely a new household favourite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dinkycooks May 07, 2012

I followed this recipe too, except I changed the ingredients a little. Instead of barbecue sauce I used two 12 ounce bottles of chili sauce and eliminated the brown sugar in the sauce portion of the recipe. Still used the brown sugar in the rub though. Excellent recipe....!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheryBerry December 05, 2011

Both DH and I thought that this had a Wow! factor! It really is powerful. With that said it grows on you and the more you taste it the more you like it. I made as posted with the exception on using boneless beef ribs and cooking in the cock pot. I did cook them in the oven for the last hour to thicken up the sauce. I served it with a side of rice. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas August 11, 2010

Great does not say enough! I am not a rib fan and I LOVE this recipe. The real test is when DH gets home tonight! This is definately going in my cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny O. December 06, 2008

i made this as posted except I didnt have time for marinating- came out wonderful-sweet and spicy-the ribs fell off the bone-I served these with rice-thanks kittencal for this great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover October 11, 2008

This was the best ribs (i used beef) recipe ever thanks for the post would have given more stars if I could!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikbeezy June 14, 2008

I used pork ribs. We loved the flavor the rub gave the ribs. The ribs were fall off the bone tender. We did not care for the sauce. We found it to be greasey. Used our own sauce when serving. Maybe due to using pork? Will make again using beef ribs and still cooking them in the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH July 24, 2005
Really Great Beef Short Ribs