379 Reviews

I really loved this! I accidentally forgot lentils at the store and I decided to substitute a Tasty Bite Madras Lentils pack (which cooks in only 1 minute!) and just drained the extra juice with a mesh strainer. Will probably make it this way from now on...so fast and delicious! My boyfriend (an avid meat-eater/meatloaf lover) thought it was really good! Will definitely be making this again! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hilary W. December 09, 2015

This is a brilliant recipe that you can get in the oven in minutes. Like other reviewers I used tinned lentils to save time. I also topped with a tomato/vinegar and brown sugar glaze. Its delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daraeve November 19, 2015

thank you! i doubled the recipe. increased the moisture content with extra tomato basil sauce and a bit of pesto (as i added a small amount of gluten free bread crumbs to make up for the lack of seasoning i had on hand). moist ingredients including lentils blended in the vitamix. also included a can of corn. i think i prefer the flavor the next day, cold, with ketchup...here's to hoping my vegetarian boyfriend appreciates it! thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
capulet8384 October 28, 2015

i added on more egg like reviewers specified. This actually tasted what I remember real meatloaf tasting like. My husband I loved it. We topped it with "Delicious Vegetarian Gravy" by Yobittles. It was perfect served with peas and mashed potatoes with extra veg gravy. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsey A. October 25, 2015

I've tried so many vegetarian "meat"loafs and this is by far my favorite. The texture is the closest to the real thing and my steak-loving husband actually prefers this over the real thing too. I always top with tomato soup for the last 10-15 minutes of cooking, it adds that additional sweetness that is so reminiscent of my childhood meatloaf. I prefer red lentils over green since they cook to a more mushy consistency and I don't have to mash them at all. If you like more lent in your lentil loaf, the green did add more texture but it also seemed a little dryer. I added a little more tomato sauce for that one. I don't add any cheese (to save on calories) and it still came out great. I add worcestershire, italian seasoning, mushrooms and roasted garlic (that I roast beforehand and always on hand in my fridge). A side of mashed potatoes and greens... a perfect comfort food any veg or meatlover will adore. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msavicjunk October 18, 2015

This recipe was a huge hit with my newly vegetarian family! It was easy to make and has a great flavor. The texture is very similar to meatloaf--it wasn't at all dry. I used red onion (because we like the flavor better than yellow) and I added in a second "egg" (actually a flax egg substitute), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. We topped it with a thin spread of a mix of ketchup and A1 sauce (a family thing) and it really ended up tasting similar to "real meatloaf." This recipe is one we will definitely use over and over again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny V. October 15, 2015

I've used this base recipe with several variations, i.e., adding different veggies and mushrooms, vegan, different grains, etc. It's been great every time. Loved by vegetarians, vegans, and carnivores alike. The leftovers make a great meatloaf sandwich, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmaxride February 24, 2015

This really is a very good recipe. I didn't have any BBQ sauce, I stirred in a couple of teaspoons of Harissa paste to add a bit of a kick. As suggested I added some finely chopped carrots and celery, plus some quartered mushrooms. <br/>I used a tin of green lentils, so skipped the first few stages.<br/>It took a bit longer, more like 50 minutes.<br/>A great recipe, I wonder what other flavours could be introduced? Maybe sun dried tomatoes? <br/>Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlie S. January 11, 2015

Found a new family favorite! And for any health nuts like myself, I made a few adjustments and the loaf still came out moist and delicious! 1) I only had split lentils at the time and I think it works even better because the cooking time on the lentils is halved and there's no need to mash them! 2) I used a little less than 1/4cup 0% plain greek yogurt instead of the egg. Adds more protein, moisture, and none of that bad cholesterol. 3) I only used 1/2 cup of cheese since the Greek yogurt adds it's own particular flavor! (Double win) 4) Finally, I used a quick oat multigrain oatmeal that also has rye and barley in it, I really think it added some dimension and (earthiness)? that you otherwise loose the eliminating meat. Best part, no one could have guessed it was such a low fat meal! Thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasia S. January 06, 2015

Loved this, such a versatile recipe. I added 1 egg to make it more moist, did half BBQ sauce and half tomato sauce, and added some celery just for texture. I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lriggin1 December 28, 2014
Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)