366 Reviews

This is the best vegetarian meatloaf recipe I've made. Very tasty! It didn't fall apart easily like others I've made. I did add an additional egg as I was concerned about the loaf holding together, and it was perfect. I used a spicy ketchup on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vancheska October 28, 2014

I LOVE this recipe. I double the recipe each time. <br/>1. For doubling the recipe, I add a total 4 cups of diced veggies: carrots, zucchini, onions, and sometimes mushrooms. I sauté the veggies first, then I add them to the mix. <br/>2. To make it eggless, I add flaxmeal: 3T of flax meal soaked in 7.5-8T water and let sit for a minimum of 5 minutes. <br/>3. I add 2c mixture of cheeses: smoked gruyere, cheddar, and colby... or whatever cheeses I have available. <br/>4. I also add a combo of ketchup and tomato sauce... after its baked I pour BBQ sauce over the loaf or on my slice. <br/>5. I had to double the bake time to 1.5 to 2 hrs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snowbird79 October 20, 2014

I've never eaten meatloaf. I don't have a real tendency towards red meat and never have. However, my daughter is a vegetarian and I'm semi vege and hubby likes meatloaf. So, we tried it. My 2.5 year old didn't care for the texture, but she's been real picky on food lately and prefers broccoli over most foods at the moment. I made pretty much to the directions except I did add an extra egg as suggested by other reviewers. It came out well. Hubby says it's a little creamier than a typical meatloaf, but he wasn't sure if that was because of the sauce we used or the cheese. He wound up having seconds. I wasn't sure if I'd like it because I'm not into the meaty flavor, but I did. It's a new addition to our household. I did mean to add sun dried tomatoes but forgot them until after the mix was already in the oven. I could see this as being a kind of stuffing as well. It had the right texture. Hubby suggests it might go well in a taco.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raewyn H. September 15, 2014

My husband made this last night. Like, um... where is the meat? I'm like Rob Swanson, I can't eat something if it doesn't have even the slightest traces of meat in it. (My husband knows this too.)
One slice of this sucker is 375 calories. That's a little over half a Big Mac. The amount of carbs could easily clog your arteries and give you a heart attack before you even finished a slice. The sodium is insane, also. I can see why you might eat this though, 22 grams of protein is kind of a big deal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
total-foodie September 14, 2014

Fantastic vegetarian meatloaf. Very versatile. I made it as written and even DH loved it. It's great reheated on a sandwich and is freezable which is great when there are only two people in the household. Very tasty. Will certainly make it again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ozziebarb August 12, 2014

I was so skeptical but decided to try it anyway because of the high reviews. I understand why it got such high marks. I slightly modified the original recipe. 1) I used 2 eggs 2) I used 2 onions (Vidalia and red) that I precooked in a buttered pan and then added them to the mix. 3) I put ketchup on top.<br/>Try it! It will surprise you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fificusteau August 04, 2014

I liked this, but I am going to add more onion, some bell pepper and garlic next time for more flavor. It made very good sandwiches over the next couple of days though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nil F. July 22, 2014

This recipe lives up to it's title! I followed the recipe with only a few substitutions. I cooked my lentils in a veggie broth with 2 cloves of smashed garlic. I only had Old Fashioned Oats, so in they went. I also didn't have any tomatoes (the horror!), nor tomato based sauces, so I used Razzpotle, a raspberry chipotle sauce from Fischer & Wieser, both in the meatloaf and as a glaze on top. The yield was enough for both a loaf and a few individual servings baked in a cupcake pan. I was surprised at how well it turned out and plan to make another batch later this week. It seems like the recipe would work great with any number of variations/substitutions. I highly recommend giving this recipe a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stewberry Snortcake May 27, 2014

We had this as a meatless protein for Easter for the non-meat eaters and they loved it. The non-meat eaters thought it was a bit dry. I mostly followed the recipe (used a Tuscan spice blend instead of individual spices). I highly recommend letting the mixture rest in the refrigerator for a couple of hours before baking. This really let the flavors blend. We will definitely have again with an increased amount of tomato/spice sauce. A definite hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swishla April 21, 2014

I followed the recommendation of other reviewers and added 1/2 cup each of chopped celery and chopped carrots, used BBQ sauce in place of tomato sauce, added 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper and mashed the lentils with a hand mixer. I omitted the egg and used old fashioned oats instead of quick because that's what I had. I baked it for 45 minutes, covering the top with BBQ sauce during the last 10 minutes. It was FANTASTIC!!! Even my meat eating hubby loved it enough to request it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sNic23 April 15, 2014
Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)