Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Average Rating:

    361 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 361

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2013

      Neither my bf or I are vegetarians, but we both enjoyed this recipe! I just topped it with some mushroom gravy and voila!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Quick, simple to make AND TASTY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      I made this last night and wow, amazing. I added 10 oz of canned tomato with green chili instead, fantastic. Still a wee dry so I will try an extra egg or another liquid ingredient such as bbq sauce. I wonder how well it will freeze and how long it would last. I gave it a 4 star rating because of the dryness to it so I would suggest reading other posts and get a 5 star meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

    • on January 29, 2013

      Delicious! As per other reviewers' recommendations, I added an extra egg and used Parmesan as the cheese. I also omitted the onion out of laziness. As I mixed in oats and stared into the bowl I was sure I was just wasting ingredients for something that would surely go uneaten. I was shocked when it came out of the oven! Moist, delicious, and healthy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      I made this for dinner this evening, as I am trying to do a meatless day AT LEAST once a week for my boyfriend and I. I REALLY enjoyed it... and I generally don't even like meatloaf all that much. My boyfriend said he liked it way more than meaty meatloaf... and he's a meatloaf FAN. Thank you so much for this recipe, I will be making it again for sure! (I did make a couple of small adjustments - a 1/2 tsp of minced garlic in addition to the garlic powder, and omitted the parsley and added clubhouse's Roasted Red Pepper and Garlic seasoning instead. The meatloaf was slightly dry, but I made a mushroom and sundried tomato sauce that complimented it nicely.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Great basic recipe. My family are all meat eaters, but Ive decided to add a few vegetarian meals a week to our diet. This recipe will go on the menu rotation for sure as everyone enjoyed it . Next time I may add some grated veges and an added egg as I found it slightly dry and it did fall apart a little. Definitely a keep though. Thanks for posting .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      My meatarian bf gives it a 3.5. I give it a 4 based upon potential. It was a bit mushy so maybe I would make it in smaller containers next time to give it a crust. Also maybe turn up the heat to 375 for 1 hour. The look and taste were fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      this was a nice change of pace for a vegetarian. we used red lentils, my favorite, and served it with marinara sauce on top. I did find the loaf a bit soggy - perhaps i needed to cook it more? I think this would also be great as a veggie burger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      So yummy!!! THANK YOU for sharing it!!! I added celery and sautee'd mushrooms as someone suggested. Also increased it to two eggs and added BBQ sauce to the tomato sauce. And topped with BBQ sauce for the last 10 minutes of cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      I'm not a great cook and was shocked how will this came out! I didn't need to mash the lentils as they were soft enough, but just drained them a little. I followed some other peoples suggestions and changed some small things myself.

      I only used 1 egg. I used panko breadcrumbs instead of oats because that's what I had on hand. I used 1 envelope of onion soup mix, 1 tbsp of bbq sauce in the mix but not on top, and a little Woucestershire sauce. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      I made this tonight and it really did smell so yummy. I didnt care for the final result, this is one of my first vegetarian attempts so maybe thats why. My one year old loves it as does my 4 year old, the texture is hard to get used to. I dont think it is horrible but not sure if i would make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      While living in a hotel suite, I made this for my family cuz I only had my 4 quart crockpot & I had leftover beans when I made chili. It was a huge hit!!! I used salsa instead of tomatoes & spices as I had none of what was called for. I used Italian bread crumbs instead of oatmeal... it didn't bind as well but it still worked. Terrific recipe that I'll be making again & again!!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      Disappointed! The onions did not cook even after 45 minutes at 350. The loaf didn't stick together and the whole thing was flavorless. Had to salt it and make patties fried in oil for it to taste like food, and even then it needed a lot of sauce to be palatable. Would not recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      My husband and I really liked this meatloaf and are looking forward to leftovers tomorrow. I did add a little bit of bbq sauce to the mix, and I topped the meatloaf with bbq sauce and ketchup 10 minutes before it was done. Next time, I might add a little bell pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      I have to say this tasted pretty good. I added some Worcestershire and Tobasco sauce and some bread crumbs. I used only one egg and was surprised that the loaf held together without falling apart. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      As a meat eater, this doesn't compare to real meat loaf, at all, (really!) But it's not bad.

      Like others I added BBQ sauce on top, but I found this mandatory to add some much needed resemblance to real meat loaf. The flavor and texture just didn't do it for me.

      Ignoring the fact that it was supposed taste like meat loaf, it tasted ok, and there was a nice degree of crispy exterior. I would prob make it again every once and awhile, just don't expect meat loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2012

      I love this basic recipe because my 2 young boys will eat it, and it is so versatile as many others have noted. You can tweak the ingredients to be whatever style you are in the mood for (mexican, add taco seasonings, italian, pasta sauce, etc). As for changes to the basic recipe, I like to take about 1/3 of the cooked lentils and puree them with about 1/2 - 1 cup of vegetable broth in the food processor. I find that this adds some needed moisture because this loaf can come out dry. I also add a 2nd egg like others have noted. I like to add a package of instant oatmeal instead of whole oats because my kids are texture picky. I use some seasoned bread crumbs as well. I have made this several times in the past and put nothing but dots of ketchup on top but just made it last night and in addition to the ketchup, I used the glaze that was offered by another reviewer which is 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar, and 1/3 cup of ketchup. Mix this up beforehand and put it on the top of the loaf during the last 5-10 minutes of cooking. It thickens up and it really gives a nice tangy taste. We used the extra as a condiment. I also left out the cheese this time by mistake actually but found that it was fine without it. Overall, an excellent basic recipe. Thank you for sharing it! A time saving tip is to buy precooked lentils from Trader Joe's - you just have to open the package and start mixing. I did this for the first time yesterday and found them to be great both taste wise and texture wise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      This was great! The whole family loved it! No changes needed but you can add a topping (BBQ or something) if you are feeling adventurous. Thanks SaraFish.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      Add me onto the 5 star list! I made it with 1 can of Amy's Lentil Soup (like a couple other reviewers suggested), about 1 cup of grated and saut?ed veggies- onion, garlic, carrots, mushrooms, zucchini (like how many reviewers suggested), shredded cheese, 1 egg, 1 scant cup old fashioned oats, and all bbq sauce with extra on top. It took about 45 minutes, and it was perfect! I really didn't notice the cheese when eating it, so I think I'll leave that out to save on calories next time. My husband really loved this, too! Using the soup made it so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.9
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    34%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 810.4 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes