Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Average Rating:

    354 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 354

    Sort by:

    • on September 22, 2013

      Best lentil loaf I've tried. I also added BBQ sauce rather than tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2013

    • on August 21, 2013

      This really is the best veggie loaf EVER. I use two eggs, pasta sauce, it's amazing!! It's also great in sandwiches?I make two loafs and keep the second in the fridge for lunches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      This is a pretty good recipe and very easy to make. Served with baked sweet potatoes or a salad, it is a very filling meal. You do have to get the idea out of your mind that it is "meatloaf" like mom used to make. I needed to make a few modifications, however, due to household dietary restrictions. My version was completely vegan as I cut out the egg and cheese. I also had to omit the oats because the oats that I have in the pantry aren't reliably gluten free. Here is what I did instead: I soaked 2 tablespoons of chia seed to replace the egg. Soaked chia seed get gummy like the consistency of egg whites after soaking in water. Also, I added ground flax seed and cooked quinoa in place of the oats. I added extra seasoning because of the omitted cheese. In addition, I omitted the seasoning salt--I never use it as it is an unhealthy spice choice. I found that the recipe worked well when I made it ahead and allowed it to set in the fridge for a few hours as a make-ahead dish. It held together better, and the flavors blended better this way. I also added mushrooms and colored peppers as suggested by other reviewers. Instead of ketchup or the BBQ sauce that was recommended, I chose to top the loaf with a fresh tomato from the garden. Simply sliced the tomatoes and placed on the top before baking. It really looked pretty. I suppose that I reworked this recipe a lot, but I had to because of the various food intolerances in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2013

      Absolutely wonderful. Such a great alternative to a traditional meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      I've made this both as loaf and as veggie burgers. For someone who must avoid soy and mushrooms, I only have two choices in pre-made veggie burgers, which are tasty, but expensive. I made 7 veggie burgers with this recipe which would cost roughly $8 to buy. These stay together quite well as long as you oil the cooking surface and let them get crispy on both sides. Tasty and great texture! I add oregano and chia seeds. Works well with both orange and green lentils. Thank you for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      Modified this slightly:<br/>Added 1/2 C diced mushrooms (fresh)<br/>Used 2 Egg whites instead of whole egg<br/>Used low-fat cheese<br/>Tomato sauce, spaghetti sauce has bad things in it.<br/><br/>These mod's should lower the cholestoral and fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      This was great! I could not believe it and it was easy to make. My husband loves it.<br/>Jean Walker

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      I was starting to give up hope after trying quite a few recipes on this site, from homemade seitan, to several others. Then I came upon your recipe and, its a keeper for sure! The spices you suggest along with the lentils and oats, and tomato sauce held together perfectly. The flavor, in my opinion, is outstanding. I didn't use the cheese, only because I wanted to cut calories, but, even so, I'll tell you I love this "meatless meatloaf", and I'll be making this many many times in the future. Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      I didn't use cheese and I forgot to add an egg but it came out really good! I used celery, onions and tomatoes and I will definitely try this recipe again with other vegetables. Also I'm not a vegetarian but I enjoyed eating this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      Like most people I was looking for something slightly different - but impressive - to entertain a mixture of vegetarian and non-vegetarian guests. This ticked all the boxes.<br/><br/>I decided to do a dummy run, not being well versed in the way of the lentil, then read a load of the really useful reviews here before deciding the final ingredients.<br/><br/>Firstly the standard recipe is great and kept me in lunch for a week without getting boring. On my second attempt I spiced up the tomato sauce, grated in some carrots and smashed up a few cashew nuts for a bit of crunch (checked for allergies first) - SUCCESS!!<br/><br/>Going to keep playing with this recipe as I think there is more to come in the form of "meat"balls and burgers.<br/><br/>Also going to add that extra egg next time

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      Five stars...easy. I own a restaurant in a remote area of Baja, Mexico, that features "north of the border" meals with a Latin touch.<br/> In an effort to accomadate my vegetarian customers, I wanted to find a vegetarian burger, that used ingredients indigenous to our region. I had found several recipes and tried some, without success. <br/> Then one day while continuing my search, I came across this recipe for a "really good vegetarian meatloaf". While reading the information, I found that this recipe could also be used for a veggie burger. Intrigued, I made a small batch, and pressed them out for burgers. My wife ate the first one right out of the pan. The second one she put on a bun with all the trimmings. I found the recipe I was looking for...and it is now a favorite on our menu. And...it is "really good". <br/> It has been several weeks since I first wrote this review...several more weeks of serving this recipe to my customers. Each week, I get more compliments on this recipe. A friend told me the other day, it was the best he has ever had, and sadly he admitted, it is even better than his own recipe at home. A real winner...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      I read a lot of reviews and then looked at the photos of the recipe. I then miraculously managed to make this recipe exactly as I wanted it and looking like Jenny Sanders' photo. I used raw lentils and boiled them for 45 minutes until they were soft enough, I chopped my oats in a small chopper so that they were smaller pieces as they were not instant oats and I was worried about them cooking properly. Finally I added grated carrot, celery and lots of parsley and a bit of ketchup. The result was absolutely delicious but my kids wouldn't touch it so I felt I couldn't give the recipe 5 stars no matter how much I wanted to. This is a great recipe to play around with and adapt to your tastes and maybe when the kids are older I'll be able to convince them that this is awesome. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      Neither my bf or I are vegetarians, but we both enjoyed this recipe! I just topped it with some mushroom gravy and voila!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Quick, simple to make AND TASTY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      I made this last night and wow, amazing. I added 10 oz of canned tomato with green chili instead, fantastic. Still a wee dry so I will try an extra egg or another liquid ingredient such as bbq sauce. I wonder how well it will freeze and how long it would last. I gave it a 4 star rating because of the dryness to it so I would suggest reading other posts and get a 5 star meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

    • on January 29, 2013

      Delicious! As per other reviewers' recommendations, I added an extra egg and used Parmesan as the cheese. I also omitted the onion out of laziness. As I mixed in oats and stared into the bowl I was sure I was just wasting ingredients for something that would surely go uneaten. I was shocked when it came out of the oven! Moist, delicious, and healthy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      I made this for dinner this evening, as I am trying to do a meatless day AT LEAST once a week for my boyfriend and I. I REALLY enjoyed it... and I generally don't even like meatloaf all that much. My boyfriend said he liked it way more than meaty meatloaf... and he's a meatloaf FAN. Thank you so much for this recipe, I will be making it again for sure! (I did make a couple of small adjustments - a 1/2 tsp of minced garlic in addition to the garlic powder, and omitted the parsley and added clubhouse's Roasted Red Pepper and Garlic seasoning instead. The meatloaf was slightly dry, but I made a mushroom and sundried tomato sauce that complimented it nicely.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Great basic recipe. My family are all meat eaters, but Ive decided to add a few vegetarian meals a week to our diet. This recipe will go on the menu rotation for sure as everyone enjoyed it . Next time I may add some grated veges and an added egg as I found it slightly dry and it did fall apart a little. Definitely a keep though. Thanks for posting .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    25%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 812.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 17.7 g
    70%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites