379 Reviews

I cooked it for the first time tonight. I modified the recipe a little: instead of the tomato sauce, I made a sauce with ketchup, organic soy sauce, organic molasses, and vegetable broth (to keep it moist). I used tinned lentils, 2 eggs instead of 1, 3 big cloves of garlic, fresh basil, and added a couple of veggie wieners, all of which I blended in the food processor. In the last 10 minutes of baking, I also drizzled some more sauce made with ketchup and honey on top. It was delicious by itself, but an alternative would be to cut down on the sodium in the sauce that goes in the meatloaf, but make a mushroom gravy to serve on the side. The meatloaf cooked evenly in a 9x5 inch loaf pan and is about 1.5 in. high. You could easily double the ingredients and make a full-size loaf (but it is very rich as it is which makes the smaller portions appealing). We had it with a Romaine heart salad and were very happy with it. Thank you for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skinny Glutton July 17, 2011

Good basic recipe. Used tomatoe paste and a little liquid smoke, Used 1/4 c parmesan and reduced the cheddar and substituted fresh herbs for the dried as well as garlic for the garlic salt.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boo&bear July 04, 2011

I am taking a nutrition class and it recommended making lentil meatloaf. I have never had lentils before and am a big time meat eater. I typed vegetarian meatloaf into a search engine and this is what popped up. It is DELICIOUS!!! I am so excited to have found it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shoelover21 March 28, 2011

I was skeptical, even after reading all the good reviews. But, this meatloaf is really tasty. I followed the recipe exactly except that I put some bbq sauce on top before I baked it. Yummy. I will make this recipe again and again. Can't wait to try it on a sandwich.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RoxanneH February 19, 2011

My whole family (which consists of a sixteen month old and husband) really enjoyed this recipe. My husband even said that he liked it better than our "regular" meat meatloaf.
Very tasty, but I'll need to adjust the seasonings next time as I think it was lacking a bit in the flavor department.
I cooked it for 45 minutes with some diced onions and marinara on top which really helped with the overall taste.
Overall, a great vegetarian recipe that will be added to our regular rotation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Isaboe3 February 08, 2011

This recipe is so, so delicious. Even my super carnivorous, veggie hating boyfriend loved it and asked for seconds. Thank you so much for this excellent recipe!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erinc484@aol.com January 26, 2011

We all love this recipe. But, I do make a few changes. I use ketchup instead of spaghetti sauce, add 1 envelope of dry onion soup mix, and omit the seasoning salt and chopped onion. Wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mega January 26, 2011

This was pretty tasty. Not sure that it tasted like meatloaf, but it was a dish I would make again. I think it would be great , as another reviewer suggested, as a filling for stuffed cabbage. I did add a handful of bread crumbs- the only change I made.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askinnycook January 25, 2011

As with all recipes, I did make some amendments according to personal taste. I used cooked brown rice instead of the oats and added about 5 finely chopped cremini mushrooms. I also added garlic to the cooking lentils (green) and blended in food processor with a little extra water. I also used 2 eggs and a little extra tomato sauce (homemade of course!). Cooked in mini loaves and was super delish! Served with mashed potatoes and a drizzle of extra tomato sauce on top. My hubby (who was skeptical when I told him what I was making) has already had 2 servings :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sincaa November 14, 2010

@ Pale Rose--what altitude are you at? That can affect your recipe. Are you using quick-cooking oats? That's another factor that's really important with this. The last solve I know of is to use rice (parboil it) instead of oats to absorb some of that excess moisture you are having trouble with. Cooking for longer results in the same problem we had with our mom's meatloaves as kids: it'll dry out. This is a REALLY great recipe and you deserve to have it come out the way that many of the other readers are experiencing it. I'm not sure what the final 'solve' will be for you, but I can honestly say that as an ex-chef, this is an example of "food magic" that I've always striven to achieve. Give it another try and let us know what worked for you-it'll help us all out. I'm sure you are not the only one who has experienced this, and it's gotta be frustrating to see all these high marks and not get the same result.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sbicy September 15, 2010
Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)