380 Reviews

This was really good! Here's what I did after reading a lot of the reviews:
I added 2 ribs of celery, diced; 1/2 Cup tomato paste (ketchup is too sweet for me); 2 eggs; 2 Tbsp Demitri's Bloody Mary mix and 3 cloves garlic. The mix looked like meat! I then cooked it in my cast iron pan in the oven for 45 minutes, but it needed longer so more like 55 minutes. Very yummy recipe, thank you so much! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane B. October 08, 2011

This was really good! My carnivore husband was very surprised to enjoy it so much. I used 1 1/2 lentils, because I wasn't sure I would have enough for the 5 of us, and I am glad I used more. There was barely any left! I kept the oats the same, and upped the sauce and seasoning. My lentils cooked for almost 45 mins, and they did not cook quite enough, a little too al dente. Next time I will make sure they are really well done for texture's sake (it was a little chewy). And I will add a little olive oil, because it was rather dry. But it was very nice to find a good loaf recipe that isn't dripping in fat, and its so much CHEAPER!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missivy85 April 03, 2011

A really good base for a lentil loaf. Here are the changes I made: Used Ener-G egg replacer instead of egg and Daiya cheese instead of cow milk cheese (Vegan power activate!) Used a half onion and substituted the other half for a diced jalapeno, seeds included. Used tomato paste instead of sauce. Used the parsley and the basil, but replaced the black pepper with cayenne, and added red pepper flakes and some garlic salt. For the top, I used a mix of barbeque sauce, ketchup, and spicy brown mustard. Very good, Will definitely make again. Maybe next time using some Mama Nacho's Ultimate Vegan Queso. Or... I know! Some ghost pepper salsa used on top.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hellfudge March 31, 2011

Having given up meat many years ago, one of the things I've missed the most is meat loaf. In my original meat loaf recipe I used cheese and oats, a package of Lipton's dried onion soup mix and ketchup so I replaced the onion that was called for with the soup mix and the tomato sauce with the ketchup. Not only did it look like meat loaf, but it tasted like the real thing. Next time I'm going to stay at the low end of the cooking time as it was a bit dry, but still delicious. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TendrMoon October 02, 2004

Used two eggs, panko bread crumbs (instead of oats), parmesan cheese and chopped kalamata olives along with tomato sauce, etc. Very delish. Satisfies that umami taste that we vegetarians long for. Looking forward to a sandwich tomorrow!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddblue33 December 12, 2015

We made this recipe as written, and it's fantastic. In fact, I'm going to go call my grandmother to tell her that I made what tasted very much like her meat meatloaf in a vegetarian variety.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nuri G. March 23, 2015

This was great! I loved it! I did only use a third of an onion and 2 cloves of garlic instead of powder. Also I added a little bit of green bell, fresh jalapeño, and some Worcestershire sc. I will make again and probably add more bell and jalapeño. Soooo good!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Leasa June 18, 2013

There is a reason this recipe gets so many great reviews...it's fantastic! A keeper! Even DH admitted he enjoyed it. I used red lentils and they cooked so perfectly that they barely needed mashing with a potato masher. I read other reviewers' comments first so I felt comfortable throwing in about 3 oz of shiitake mushrooms that needed using up (this worked really well) when I added the onions, added the extra egg for moisture (perfect), mixed a favorite BBQ sauce that needed using with 4.5 oz of tomato sauce, then used the rest of the originally 8 oz tomato sauce can over the top of the meatloaf 20 minutes into cooking. The result was a really delicious meatloaf with excellent consistency. Served with a salad. I will be making this many times to come. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny November 07, 2012

Wow! I absolutely HAD to try this recipe since it has lentils in it, which I like a lot (even though I was getting bored with lentil soup). This recipe has plenty of protein. I recently went vegetarian - at age 50. This is a terrific recipe... I added more veggies to mine and used old fashioned oats since that's what I had on hand, worked just fine. I will be making this again, and again! Looks like it will freeze well too. So glad I found it and this site!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggieat50 April 16, 2012

This was unbelievably yummy!! My husband ate it and if he likes it, it must be good. Will maybe add a packet of onion soup next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JessicaRHorne October 05, 2011
Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)