Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Average Rating:

    361 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 361

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2010

      This was really good, but you have to put extra sauce over the top when it's served! I like it for the next couple of days too! Will for sure make again! THANKS! Update: So easy to make vegan too. Sub flax for the egg-- DELISH!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      I really wanted to like this, as meatless meals are appealing for many reasons. The taste was great. It was the texture I couldn't get past. The mealiness of the lentils was evident. The center was disturbingly mushy. For me, anyway, it was a real turn-off. It crusted nicely on the outside, but the inside could only be described as a cross between mealy and mushy. The taste was savory and comforting, however.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2014

      Ate for lunch...very filling

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2014

      As a big time carnivore I love meat. This is one of the first vegetarian dishes where I did not miss the meat. I made a few changes to the recipe as many others suggested. First, I added 4 medium crimini mushrooms that I diced and added to the mix. I also added a vegetable bullion cube to the lentils as they were cooking. Finally, I added a topping of Panko breadcrumbs. I would suggest, as someone below did, to soak the lentils prior to cooking them if you want a bit less texture. I used the remainder of the tomato sauce with some ketchup, Worcester sauce, and soy sauce as a gravy. I would definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      Never cook lentils in salted water. It makes the outside hard as a rock. What a waste of food!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      This is the best vegetarian meatloaf recipe I've made. Very tasty! It didn't fall apart easily like others I've made. I did add an additional egg as I was concerned about the loaf holding together, and it was perfect. I used a spicy ketchup on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2014

      I LOVE this recipe. I double the recipe each time. <br/>1. For doubling the recipe, I add a total 4 cups of diced veggies: carrots, zucchini, onions, and sometimes mushrooms. I sauté the veggies first, then I add them to the mix. <br/>2. To make it eggless, I add flaxmeal: 3T of flax meal soaked in 7.5-8T water and let sit for a minimum of 5 minutes. <br/>3. I add 2c mixture of cheeses: smoked gruyere, cheddar, and colby... or whatever cheeses I have available. <br/>4. I also add a combo of ketchup and tomato sauce... after its baked I pour BBQ sauce over the loaf or on my slice. <br/>5. I had to double the bake time to 1.5 to 2 hrs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2014

      I've never eaten meatloaf. I don't have a real tendency towards red meat and never have. However, my daughter is a vegetarian and I'm semi vege and hubby likes meatloaf. So, we tried it. My 2.5 year old didn't care for the texture, but she's been real picky on food lately and prefers broccoli over most foods at the moment. I made pretty much to the directions except I did add an extra egg as suggested by other reviewers. It came out well. Hubby says it's a little creamier than a typical meatloaf, but he wasn't sure if that was because of the sauce we used or the cheese. He wound up having seconds. I wasn't sure if I'd like it because I'm not into the meaty flavor, but I did. It's a new addition to our household. I did mean to add sun dried tomatoes but forgot them until after the mix was already in the oven. I could see this as being a kind of stuffing as well. It had the right texture. Hubby suggests it might go well in a taco.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2014

      My husband made this last night. Like, um... where is the meat? I'm like Rob Swanson, I can't eat something if it doesn't have even the slightest traces of meat in it. (My husband knows this too.)
      One slice of this sucker is 375 calories. That's a little over half a Big Mac. The amount of carbs could easily clog your arteries and give you a heart attack before you even finished a slice. The sodium is insane, also. I can see why you might eat this though, 22 grams of protein is kind of a big deal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2014

      Fantastic vegetarian meatloaf. Very versatile. I made it as written and even DH loved it. It's great reheated on a sandwich and is freezable which is great when there are only two people in the household. Very tasty. Will certainly make it again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2014

      I was so skeptical but decided to try it anyway because of the high reviews. I understand why it got such high marks. I slightly modified the original recipe. 1) I used 2 eggs 2) I used 2 onions (Vidalia and red) that I precooked in a buttered pan and then added them to the mix. 3) I put ketchup on top.<br/>Try it! It will surprise you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2014

      I liked this, but I am going to add more onion, some bell pepper and garlic next time for more flavor. It made very good sandwiches over the next couple of days though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2014

      This recipe lives up to it's title! I followed the recipe with only a few substitutions. I cooked my lentils in a veggie broth with 2 cloves of smashed garlic. I only had Old Fashioned Oats, so in they went. I also didn't have any tomatoes (the horror!), nor tomato based sauces, so I used Razzpotle, a raspberry chipotle sauce from Fischer & Wieser, both in the meatloaf and as a glaze on top. The yield was enough for both a loaf and a few individual servings baked in a cupcake pan. I was surprised at how well it turned out and plan to make another batch later this week. It seems like the recipe would work great with any number of variations/substitutions. I highly recommend giving this recipe a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      We had this as a meatless protein for Easter for the non-meat eaters and they loved it. The non-meat eaters thought it was a bit dry. I mostly followed the recipe (used a Tuscan spice blend instead of individual spices). I highly recommend letting the mixture rest in the refrigerator for a couple of hours before baking. This really let the flavors blend. We will definitely have again with an increased amount of tomato/spice sauce. A definite hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      I followed the recommendation of other reviewers and added 1/2 cup each of chopped celery and chopped carrots, used BBQ sauce in place of tomato sauce, added 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper and mashed the lentils with a hand mixer. I omitted the egg and used old fashioned oats instead of quick because that's what I had. I baked it for 45 minutes, covering the top with BBQ sauce during the last 10 minutes. It was FANTASTIC!!! Even my meat eating hubby loved it enough to request it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      Ok so I once tried making veggie burgers from scratch, EPIC FAIL! needless to say when I told my hunny I was trying a meatless-loaf he was VERY nervous....... I made the changes others suggested I added shredded carrots, celery,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      All I gotta say is

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2014

      First time on this site, was looking for some delicious ideas for my 'meatless March challenge' needed something enjoyable and this was DELICIOUS!!! However, I did tweak it up a bit adding diced bell peppers, minced garlic and meatloaf seasoning to have it resemble the meatloaf mom makes. The sauce topping I made was of tomato paste, tomato sauce, ketchup, sugar, brown sugar, honey, and Worcestershire sauce, it's a bit on the sweeter side but sooo yummy !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2014

      I have made this exactly as written, and it is wonderful.<br/><br/>It is also very adaptable, which I love. I make this fairly often and now I like to add a diced red bell pepper into the mix, add a Tbsp or 2 of BBQ sauce in with the tomato sauce, and top with a traditional meatloaf ketchup-y topping (1/4 cup ketchup, 2 Tbsp brown sugar, 1 tsp ground mustard) for the last 10 minutes of baking.<br/><br/>In my latest version, I cut out the cheese and subbed in an equal volume of mashed butternut squash I happened to have on hand. No BBQ sauce, but a Tbsp of honey in with the tomato sauce just for fun. And I baked in muffin tins for ~30 minutes. Still amazing!<br/><br/>So like I said, great recipe, and very adaptable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      In my opinion, it was delicious. I made it vegan with flax seed for the egg and Daiya cheese for the cheese. My picky children didn't care for it though so it may not be for all taste buds. I'll try again when they are a little older. I would recommend it for others to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Good Vegetarian Meatloaf (Really!)

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 263.9
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    34%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 69.0 mg
    23%
    Sodium 810.4 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 14.7 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes